User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Autumn 2019 Shrewsbury Crawl Dates and Venues with gillhalfpint on the Pub Forum

The Three Tuns, Bristol Central, Bristol

78 St. Georges Road
Bristol
BS1 5UR

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


moby duck left this review about The Three Tuns

I was a little disappointed in this pub, empty on a Friday afternoon when our small group turned up,just three beers on from the seven handpumps, these were Moor Nor Hop, Purity Longhorn IPA and Dark Soul Porter,the Moor beer was decent enough, the food we ordered took an age to arrive and when it did wasn't the best, the staff didn't seem particularly switched on and I was glad to move on.

On 9th October 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1284 recommendations about 1272 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Three Tuns

The Three Tuns is a decent looking pub that is a short walk from The Lime Kiln.
Once inside the bar faces in an L shaped room which is bare boarded,there are wood bench seats and chairs to the front and normal tables and chairs elsewhere.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Mumbles Oystermouth Stout,which was a very nice drink,the other real ales were Arbour Blue Sky Drinking,Boss Backhand,Bristol Beer Factory Fortitude and one from Gloucester.
Background music was playing and the pub was fairy busy on my late Saturday afternoon visit.
I though this was a decent pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 15/7/2017

On 27th October 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Three Tuns

Third pub on our tour round Bristol and we were looking for somewhere to settle for a while. Unfortunately, despite being a really nice pub with friendly staff, the beer wasn't up to much. From 7 drinkers, we managed to select 3 brews at the end of the barrels, all of which went back and a couple more that, although tasty, were cloudy when they should have been clear. I ordered a small pasty and after a 15 minute wait, was presented with a soggy offering that was hot on the outside and cold in the middle. Not the greatest advertisement for the food of the region. Shame, nice pub.

On 7th March 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jonathan Wilde left this review about The Three Tuns

Further to BF review this pub is not owned anymore by Arbour Ales.

On 11th August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 359 recommendations about 340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Three Tuns

ORIGINAL REVIEW Nov 2014
A street corner location and a smallish interior,this is clearly pitched as an ale house with it's wooden flooring and real fire to the far side.There is a dog leg section with chesterfield sofas and armchairs while the courtyard is useful for smokers.The large windows give a good amount of natural light to the interior.I counted 7 handpumps but only noted two from Arbor,the pub's owners, with Half Day IPA and Blue Sky Drinking (rather too BBB for me) while guests included BBF Milk Stout,Siren Driftwood,Brightside Best Bitter and Downton Chocolate Orange.There were also 4 keg beers from some well respected brewers.It's in the GBG and is worth calling in while on a crawl but I'm not sure there is enough here to warrant a whole evenings stay.

UPDATE
Another visit found a very good real ale selection with Moor Riders Revival in top form.I've upped the rating,and having settled in the covered courtyard outside where you can smoke,found this quite a charming spot with space heaters and room to sit if the small interior is crowded.Although owned by Arbor,their ales dont feature large in here and it feels more like a freehouse where you could fine a very decent pint or two.

On 25th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1994 recommendations about 1994 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Three Tuns

Traditional pub with seating opposite the bar on the far wall, there is good beer here and friendly service

On 1st April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1248 recommendations about 1225 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Three Tuns

A couple more visits lately and I continue to be impressed with the beer quality here, especially also the availability of interesting guests (not being a fan of Arbor). Can confirm that food is available. Upped score by a mark due to consistency.

May 2013
Popped in again last week as the usual exit-point from a Bristol crawl. Has added (or maybe I’ve just round to noticing?) some craft keg so I gratefully embraced a Kernel beer (a whopping 9.7%) which was nice and reasonably priced (£3 a half) given the abv and general ponciness associated with the style. We took advantage of the board games stationed to the rear, sadly Buckaroo was f**karoo’d but the chess set had all pieces present and correct. Shame the pub was quite quiet but given that the nearby Horse & Groom was already shutting up shop 10 minutes earlier I guess this part of town simply doesn’t get the footfall on a Sunday evening? Rated 7

November 2012
Finally got round to doing this one sober after always finishing up here half-cut previously. Half a dozen ales on (mostly from Arbor who own the place, a brewery I don’t really rate personally) though there are two or three eclectic guests plus some proper ciders. The condition of my half was excellent for a quiet weekday afternoon. The interior is a smallish L-shaped room which has been done nicely and there’s a selection of traditional seating or sofas. Used to be a ropey old dump by all accounts, so fair play to the owners getting this turned round. I imagine it would appeal to punters outside of the ale-drinking fellowship. Worth visiting. Rated 7

On 31st December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3912 recommendations about 3900 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Three Tuns

This is a pleasingly simple, single room pub previously operated by Arbor Ales and still showcasing many of their beers. You enter into a bare boarded room with the bar in the rear left corner, directly opposite the front door. Bench and standard seating runs along the front wall, beneath the two front windows, with standard tables and chairs filling the central part of the room. The room is decorated quite conservatively, although the right hand wall boasts some startling bamboo style wallpaper. There was a lit fireplace on this side with a large plain mirror above and some colourful floral displays. A TV was mounted on the front wall, but remained turned off throughout our visit and I also spotted a collection of board games stacked up in one corner. The room extends back a little in the rear right corner and here you will find some exposed stonework walls, button backed sofas and a collection of breweriana. A large mirror hangs from the rear wall and hops line the wall above. Elsewhere, there are a number of beer related quotes painted around the room, some perhaps lifted from the books piled up in the window sills, whilst I also spotted what appeared to be some sort of shrine to Nicholas Cage - the reason for which was completely lost on me.
There are a number of CAMRA and SIBA awards framed on the wall next to the bar, including the local CAMRA Pub of the Year 2012 award, acting as testament to their excellent ales. The hand pumps on this visit were dispensing Brisol Beer Factory Milk Stout, Arbor Half Dry IPA, Brightside Best Bitter and Blue Sky Drinking, Siren Driftwood and Downton Chocolate Orange Delight, with several more Arbor brews available on the keg taps. I tried the Choc Orange Delight, which wasn't as flavoursome as I remember it from a few years ago, but a pretty good drop nonetheless. I don't think the pub does hot food, but I did notice a selection of sandwiches and rolls on the bar.
This is a nice and welcoming place with a strong commitment to serving good beer and it provides a nice environment in which it can be enjoyed. I could imagine settling down in here for a good session and thought it was a good addition to our crawl around the city's top ale houses.

On 7th December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2323 recommendations about 2323 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Three Tuns

First time to visit The Three Tuns and after the new craft bars of King Street it was a welcome return to a more traditional pub. The outside look is certainly one of a traditional boozer but inside the one L shaped bar space has a much more modern design feel to it with a fairly open plan space with bare wood floor, some large pine tables along with some comfy sofas and has been well reported by previous reviewers. I didn’t make it to the covered outside area but did utilise the toilets that have an interesting collection of Comic covers on the walls as you enter the Gents.
For most the Key Selling Point to visit here will be the beers available and also as others have reported this is one of the two Arbor owned pubs in Town and a couple of their beers are usually available. But its regular appearance in GBG’s is more down to the additional variety of beers available from other breweries. And for my visit, shame to say I ducked the Arbor offerings for a couple of very well kept halves of Bristol Beer Factory Milk Stout and Downton Chocolate Orange.
Like others, outside the available beers there’s probably not enough about this pub compared to others in town to demand an all evening stay, but agree certainly one to be included in any crawl of Bristol establishments.

On 2nd December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1622 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Three Tuns

I tried two decent beers in here, which were in good shape, Arbor Brewery, Blue Sky Drinking and Brightside Brewery Best Bitter. There were seven handpumps in use and a selection of sandwiches in a basket on the bar counter. Definitely worth a visit for the beer quality alone.

On 18th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2859 recommendations about 2859 pubs]

Page: 1 2