User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 18th February 2024) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Rutland, Chesterfield

23 Stephenson Place
Chesterfield
S40 1XL
Phone: 01246205857

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Rutland

This used to be a reliable GBG entry for Chesterfield but went off the boil a few years back and I found that I hadn't been in since 2018. Having a few minutes to spare before my train I decided to give it a try. There were five beers on the bar, with two from Dancing Duck, and one each from Welbeck Abbey, Brew York and Salt. I went for Salt Tweed and Welbeck Lost Boys - both were in very good nick. The pub was much as I remembered it, but perhaps a little cleaner and tidier, and there was a friendly welcome from the lad behind the bar. I was glad I'd called in. Certainly one to keep in mind when in town.

On 19th November 2023 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3668 recommendations about 3414 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Rutland

Looks a bit rough from the outside, but inside, its an honest beer drinkers pub.

Good selection of real ales on and the otter was in fine condition. All malt whiskeys were £4.25 for a large one - which is cheap as chips and wetherspoonesque.

Worth checking out.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2kZxkq7

On 20th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Rutland

A decent boozer. Old style with lots of wood everywhere, tables, chairs, floors, walls, beams, bar. Single roomed with a raised area to the rear. Beer garden outside. 9 handpumps on the bar with 7 real ales on (Jaipur, Saltaire Triple Chocaholic, Rat White Rat, Abbot, Saltaire Trio, Brampton's Brexit and Stronger In) plus a cider. A pleasant pub.

On 2nd June 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3487 recommendations about 3390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Rutland

The barman saw me come in and immediately did a runner, I suspect because he was taking a dreadfully important call on his mobile rather than anything else but who knows? Fortunately the cook came out and served me but sadly didn't pull the line through so the beer was dodgy. A shame because the beer range is interesting. It's a single room pub near the station with a modern floor but some old plaster and panelling walls, furnished in traditional style, there's also a nice bar counter that needs some TLC. Decor is from a number of old unrelated photos. It really doesn't cut it as a GBG pub going by this visit.

On 25th March 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3157 recommendations about 2870 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Rutland Arms

Ale house style pub with lots of bare boards and olde worlde seating, wooden panels and framed pictures. The barmaid was chatty & friendly during our visit. They were doing a reasonable lunchtime food trade and the menu looked good. The food that came out looked good as well, but we didn't eat here. 6 ales on the bar and a small, but decent selection of red wine available, so both Ms CAMRA and myself were happy enough. My pint was in good nick as well. All in all a very solid town centre pub.

On 2nd December 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3200 recommendations about 3111 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Rutland

It's only getting a five for the beers and that it is handy for the station, but if you want to leave town with a smile on your face, don't bother walking through the door. The bloke behind the bar was so disinterested in any new customers and if he smiled his face might crack. Beer on was two from Idle Brewery, Black Country Fireside, Black Sheep and Durham Magus which was ok.

On 25th June 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3341 recommendations about 3341 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Rutland

Quick revisit today found a decimation in the ale range (four gone!) with no effort to put the replacements on. Bloke behind the bar was a bit humourless and not really with it, he asked twice if I was having a half but still tried pouring a pint anyway. My (two-thirds!) Theakston Old Peculiar was fine in the end. Telly screen stuck on static Ceefax footy score today. Ended up rather underwhelmed compared to 24 hours earlier, especially given that their competition at The Market were still on top of their game. Understaffed? Point knocked off their score.

August 28th 2011
Fortunately situated in the shadow of the crooked spire and nestling on the edge of the church’s grounds, this is a destination ale pub. My visit yesterday found eight ales with a really good selection. My halves of Dancing Duck Ay Up and Buxton Russian Imperial Stout were very good indeed and reasonably-priced. (£2.65 for a half of something 8%+ is reasonable to me, anyway). There was a heavy slant towards local ales (Brampton, Spire) and I also spotted Theakston OP; given that this place is apparently owned by Enterprise Inns, it proves what can be done. The interior is relatively recent-looking one though it’s actually fairly attractive - dark wood panelling and stripped wood floor. There are lots of ‘areas’, with large RSJ’s in the ceiling, suggesting that it used to be multi-roomed. Shame it isn’t now! As with its sister pub the Royal Oak, the piped muzak was a bit off-putting - can someone leave the Lighthouse Family back in the late 1990‘s please? Otherwise, the atmosphere was friendly and food was available, standard pub grub. Daily papers also in abundance, as well as a small plasma screen showing SKY news, quietly. Pub is handy for the station too.

If my last couple of visits are anything to go by, I’d say that all ale drinkers should make a point of visiting here - well-worth getting off the train for. Score 8.

On 28th August 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4993 recommendations about 4976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Rutland

Stopped off here before and after watching Chesterfield FC's last ever game at Saltergate. The big occasion meant that this place was packed, unlike a number of other town centre pubs and a quick look at their beer list confirmed why.
The blackboard behind the bar listed Brampton Stout (£2.95) and Wasp Nest, Bateman's GHA Pale, Fuller's London Pride, Bradfield Farmers Blonde (£2.75), Fulstow's Village Life, Wells Bombardier and Thornbridge Kipling and Jaipur. I tried the Brampton Stout and Farmers Blond, both of which were very nice, if served a bit too cold for my liking.
The pub has a very large front room with wooden flooring and dark wood panelling, with plenty of tables and chairs as well as ample room for the massed hordes to stand. A smaller room to the rear has bare brick walls and quite a bit more seating and appeared to be the best place for diners to enjoy meals from the somewhat pricey menu. Live music was also being advertised throughout the pub and there were plasma screen TVs showing muted Sky Sports news coverage.
A nice enough town centre pub that stands out from the crowd thanks to its good ale selection. I'd probably pop in here again, but ideally when it's a bit easier to get to the bar.

On 9th May 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3093 recommendations about 3093 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Mower left this review about The Rutland Arms

Changed hands late in 2009 I have had some decent meals but a shame the new landlord has put up his prices by around 25%, I suppose this was done to reflect average town centre pub prices.
A meal last night was rather dissappointing with our fish and chips served dripping in cooking oil and tasted as if the oil was brought up to the correct temp with the fish and limp chips already in the pan.
The beer however is usually very good

On 11th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Rutland

Excellent pub, close to the famous crooked spire. Seven or eight beers on, including a very odd pint of something called 'Golden Bud' produced by the local Townes microbrewery, plus several more 'out the back' in readiness for the forthcoming Chestefield beer festival. Thoroughly recommended.

On 30th January 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7969 recommendations about 7969 pubs]