User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Sun Inn, Stafford

Pub added by hondo .
7 Lichfield Road
Stafford
ST17 4JX
Phone: 01785248361

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about Sun Inn

A very good pub as most Titanic houses seem to be. Also like some of their other pubs, 6 guest beers compliment 6 of their own beers.
The pub was all White on the Night! with the White Star and the White Rat both being excellent.

On 25th September 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 676 recommendations about 626 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Sun Inn

The Titanic pub at the southern end of the town centre. Externally it looks like a number of buildings that have at some point been knocked together to form this quite large and impressive pub. Large rambling interior over a number of rooms and levels, with the bar on the right as you enter. Modern fittings but traditional in manner. Middlingly busy on a late Thursday night. Quiet pub, just conversations and no muzak or bleeps. Friendly staff and punters. 12 pumps, all of which were on - 6 Titanic brews and guests. Everards spotted so assume this is a Project William pub (it is – 2010). I tried the Captain Smith (excellent shape) and Plum Porter (good). All-in-all, this is a really good pub and it’s worth getting off the train for. 8.5

On 14th December 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Sun

Fine pub with a good selection of Titanic ales on the front bar to have a go at and a further selection on the side of the bar. Would return here no problem.

On 2nd January 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Sun

Exceptionally good pub with a choice of 12 cask ales. Six from Titanic, Everards Tiger and five guest, we spotted Bowland Hen Harrier on the guest list and relished a few of them. The pub has plenty of seating areas, so we spent a bit of time inside and also ventured into the rear patio area as it was a splendid day.

On 31st August 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Sun

A cracking pub and my favourite in Stafford. Titanic Brewery beers are generally good and a fair selection is here. Other guests are also on offer.

On 20th August 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3302 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Sun

When I visited Stafford in the 1990s Titanic had a different pub to this much nearer the station and visible from the train. Looking through the closed pubs reveals that it was the Stafford Arms. It was a hot day then and the Titanic beers were suffering as a result coming up far too warm. Happily those days are gone as most places have cooled lines and they certainly do in here.
This pub seems to have had a chequered past including being an O'Neill's, a pub chain I have never used. As I expected Titanic and Everard's between them have done a great job on making it a decent pub as more than well described below. The bar has two sets of hand pumps with five at the front as you enter having the main Titanic range. The bank of seven further back had Everard's Tiger, Titanic Plum Porter, Rooster's Londinium, RCH Double Header, Caste Eden Traditional, Cameron's 150 and Downton Dark Delight. I tried the Titanic Iceberg (£3.00), Rooster's Londinium (£3.50) and Downton Dark Delight (£3.50). The Iceberg was in good condition but I thought was bland compared to my memory of it. The Londinium was excellent, a dark heavy coffee flavoured brew but I thought the Downton beer was past it's best.
I don't doubt that this is the best pub for ale in Stafford but the quality of the Dark Delight on the day worries me.

On 6th August 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Sun

Attractive old inn which looks to have been extended several times into various adjacent premises. Pleasantly traditional in appearance, with a variety of seating areas on two levels and a range of furniture including some booths. Comfortable atmosphere. 11 of 12 handpumps on when I visited; about half of which were owner Titanic's own beers and the remainder interesting guests e.g. Boggart Milk Stout £3.30. First class.

On 22nd February 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Sun

Excellent rambling pub on split levels with individual areas set out really well. There is a small outdoor area at the rear.

A fine traditional inn updated for 21st Century.

10 real ales mainly from the owning Titanic Brewery.

On 5th August 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Sun

If you are after quality ale when in Stafford,this is the place to head to.A really impressive conversion by the Titanic/Everards joint venture,it is worth wandering around the interior which contains several different sections.The L shaped bar is opposite the main door,while to the left past a snug is a lower area designed for dining.Opposite the long side of the bar up a few steps is an internal small drinking parlour,while at a higher level to the right of the bar is a room with a dart board and full of regulars.There is a courtyard at the rear for smokers with a few benches.The internal decoration is interesting and I enjoyed the modern take on Hogarth's classic now featuring Beer Street and Binge Alley,situated by the snug.
I have to agree with previous reviewers that the beer quality is top drawer with 5 Titanic ales (White Star at £2.80 a real bargain) complemented by a thoughful selection of guests.Food was proving very popular and is available until 8.30pm,but the atmosphere is not dominated by diners and supping the quality ale is the main objective for a wide age range of customers.A must visit.

On 31st May 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2090 recommendations about 2090 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Sun

Another great boozer from the Titanic crew. A large Victorian building which has been sympathetically modernised using lots of wood and making a very comfortable place to spend an hour or two.
As Mr Dragon below notes there is an area which seems to serve as a dining area but you can eat anywhere. The menu looked interesting with a variety of starters and mains allowing for a proper dinner rather than a pie and a pint. We didn't eat but all the food we saw served looked good and plenty of people were.
Service was friendly and prompt despite it being busy.
Beer: 5 Titanic regulars - Capt. Smiths, Iceberg, Anchor, Steerage and the incomparable White Star and 5 guests: Oakham Akhenaten, Kinver Nightjar, Mauldons Silver Adder, Tiger and Hop Back Old Masters on our visit. A good selection of very well kept ale with everything we tried in top nick.
All the Titanic pubs I've been in are excellent and this is no exception. I'll definitely return and would gladly make a large diversion for a visit.

On 29th May 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]

Page: 1 2