User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 20th September 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Gallaghers, Birkenhead

Pub added by Oggwyn Great
20 Chester Street
Birkenhead
CH41 5DQ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Gallaghers

still a very fine pub with a very good beer range. Long, thin, dark pub now with an emphasis on food (pizza and grill advertised). Nice, very pleasant and probably the first place to make a beeline for in Birkenhead.

On 22nd June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Gallaghers

This is still the cracking pub described by previous reviewers. The main bar area as well as the area behind and above the servery is covered by military memorabilia of all kinds, from all periods of our history. The display really is exceptional. Past the bar counter on the right, through a wooden archway, is an area that used be a barber’s salon, but has now been brought into pub use. Some reminders of its hitherto use are still there, such as the display of cutthroat razors on the wall and a couple of posts decorated in old barber pole colours. There’s a function room upstairs; I saw live music advertised; and there’s a largish suntrapnof a garden at the back.

The ale selection was top notch as well, with a couple of Rat Brewery beers (Rat Tonic and Dirty Rat); Ossett brewery Yorkshire Blonde; Salopian Darwin’s origin; and Brimstage Brewery Trapper’s Hat all on. They were doing food during our weekday lunchtime visit with burgers and pizze available (full pizza £7 and £3 a slice).

My group really enjoyed our extended visit here. Luckily our pizze took longer to arrive than expected thus forcing us to miss our intended ferry across the Mersey, necessitating the consumption of another pint. I think the technical term for a pub of this quality is “belter”.

On 8th July 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Gallaghers Pub and Barbers Shop

Now just called Gallaghers as the barbers to the rear has gone and replaced with a small drinking area with a few tables.

20/2/16
Probably the best pub in Birkenhead. As mentioned it has an interesting collection of maritime memorabilia relating to Armed Forces and Merchant Navy. A long, thin pub with the barbers to the rear and an outside drinking bit at the back. There is an upstairs part but I've never been in it. Real ales available.

On 5th April 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3388 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Gallaghers Pub and Barbers Shop

It took one stop from St James St to Hamilton Sq. The easiest way to find the pub is to cross the car park opposite the station and you will see the rear of the pub. We visited on a Tuesday and the barber shop section of the pub was shut. There where four handpumps in operation on our visit, I went for the Salopian Lemon Dream and their permanent Brimstage Trapper's Hat.

On 9th June 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Gallaghers Pub and Barbers Shop

Just a couple of minutes walk from Birkenhead Hamilton Square station (and therefore just a couple of minutes and a couple of quid from any of Liverpool’s central train stations) is this interesting combination of pub and barbers shop. The place doesn’t look all that much from the outside (in fact, you would be much better served turning round 180 degrees for the fine view of Liverpool’s skyline across the Mersey), but inside is a fine traditional pub with dark wood floor and half panelled walls. Entry is to a lower level seating area under the front window which leads to a larger mid section with a few more tables and chairs and high stools along a drinking ledge opposite the servery which is on the right hand wall underneath a high skylight. The room is packed with military artefacts with loads of pictures, photos, cigarette cards, coats of arms, belts and model ships as well as a most impressive collection of military hats on high shelves around the room and drums behind the bar. A large picture with accompanying text tells us about the Birkenhead Drill whereby the soldiers on the HMS Birkenhead stood fast as the ship sank allowing the women and children to escape in the lifeboats and thereby giving rise to the “women and children first” protocol.
Beyond the bar is a second room, screened behind a nice wood panelled partitioning wall, which houses a proper barbers shop, with rates noted on a board outside. A few customers were taking advantage of the service during my stay, pint still in hand. Beyond is a corridor which leads out to a surprisingly large garden.
The pub was named Merseyside CAMRA Pub of the Year in 2011, beating all of those fine pubs on the other side of the river. The beers available on my visit were Phoenix Wobbly Bob, Liverpool Organic Best Bitter (£2.75), Off Beat Kooky Gold, Salopian Hop Twister and Brimsgate Trapper’s Hat, with a permanent real cider as well which was Rosie’s Wicked Wasp. My pint of the Liverpool Organic Best Bitter was absolutely spot-on and certain proof that their awards were for the beer rather than any quirky charm. Lots of CAMRA magazines from around the country could be found on a table near the bar, underneath a well stocked book swap.
This is a fine pub with excellent beer, friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere and it is well worth making the short trip over the river for, perhaps on one of those bad-hair days.

On 6th March 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2489 recommendations about 2489 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Gallaghers Pub and Barbers Shop

The front part of this new establishment is an old-fashioned side street local, with traditional wooden furniture and walls full of pictures of ships and other (mostly) nautical memorabilia. Nothing unusual about the small patio beer garden at the back either. However, what really is different is the proper barber's 'shop' located between the two. Six handpumps dispensing some splendid beers from Ossett and other Northern breweries, with my pint of Brimstage Trapper's Hat (£2.40) being outstanding. Also offers a farmhouse cider. I thought that the atmosphere was excellent and you could easily see how it had quickly become the local Camra branch's pub of the year. Overall, well worth making a detour to visit. (NB - Review dates from September 2011.)

On 28th November 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]