User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Cat's Back, Wandsworth, SW18

Pub added by Rex Rattus
86-88 Point Pleasant
SW18
SW18 1NN
Phone: 02086173448

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about The Cat's Back

My first return here since it became a Harvey's pub, It no longer has the quirkiness it once had but remains a pleasant pub with three beers on when I turned up,Old Ale, Kiss and IPA, there was a turned Sussex Best clip, this came on during my stay, I went for the IPA, a mistake as it was rather bland and a little tired. I still like this pub and although for me doesn't have the attraction it once did I would be happy to call by again.

On 4th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1186 recommendations about 1175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Cat's Back

The Cats Back was a Watney's pub called the Brush (presumably with a landlord called Basil) but according to the more recent (mid nineties) copy of the SW London beer guide it was originally called the Forester's Arms but by that time had become a free house bearing the current name. The outside of it has some well preserved old green tiling but not surprisingly the main windows have been replaced with new Harvey etched ones.
Inside it's a fairly basic single room with a wooden floor. An upstairs function room is advertised. The toilets are downstairs which is unlikely to be an original feature in what looks like a Victorian pub.
The bar has four hand pumps which had Harvey's Best, Old, IPA & Christmas Ale. I went for the Best which was in good nick but at four quid like most London pubs is daylight robbery. I'm unlikely to revisit this pub not because there's anything wrong with it but because I see no reason to return to Wandsworth.

On 27th December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2119 recommendations about 2114 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Cat's Back

Tiny little traditional pub with seating at the rear but it looks onto flats and offices so not ideal.Friendly young bar staff.No Sussex best on but Ipa,Olympia,and my Armada which was okay but I had wanted to try Sussex best so was disappointed.I have wondered about the pub name but the sign above the door explains it.

On 6th August 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 886 recommendations about 874 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Cat's Back

Nice little pub well worth seeking out, well described by others, the more so thanks to Harvey's beers in tip-top condition: IPA (aka Pale, Hadlow), Best; Olympia and another I forget when we called. It was very empty early evening making me wonder if it's in the right spot but judging by the number of estate agent's signs for both residential and commercial property in the new blocks all around they're hoping trade will build. Because it is a Harvey's pub I expect it will become a destination in it's own right amongst London's ale drinking classes. It also makes an excellent stop if you're doing the Thames Walk but watch out for weekday opening times.

Highly recommended.

On 18th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 448 recommendations about 440 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Cat's Back

Harveys second London pub is rather hidden away, located on the Thames Path but set back a short distance from the river bank between Bell Lane Creek and Wandsworth Park. The rectangular bar is supplemented by a small rear seating area up two steps, an upstairs dining room (not visited) and several chairs out on the pavement. Traditional furniture, and lots of historical photographs on all the walls. Sussex, Armada, Tom Paine and Olympia (£3.30) available from the four handpumps. Overall, what should be a very pleasant watering hole has to be marked down a bit (on this occasion, at least) by having a particularly clueless barman on duty - let's hope next's better...

On 1st November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5406 recommendations about 5406 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Cat's Back

I paid my first visit to this pub the other night since it was taken over by Harvey’s Brewery, as their second London pub. It’s been tarted up a bit, and I have been told that all the bric-a-bric has gone to The Armoury down the road. The walls are now covered by loads of mainly black and white photographs, some of which are Lewes themed, but a fair number are of local scenes of Wandsworth, Balham, etc. There is also a copy of the photo of the late Queen Mother pulling a pint of Young’s Special at the Queen’s Head in Limehouse. It’s the first time I’ve seen it other than in a Young’s pub, but of course it doesn’t look out of place. The furniture’s all new – or at least new to this pub – and consists of normal tables and chairs. The place had the smell of being newly decorated. I’m told there is also now a small beer garden at the rear, as well as a function room upstairs, but I didn’t visit either of them. There are no TVs, fruit machines or others of their ilk, although there were some old songs being played. Rather worryingly, at least a couple of the PuG members present were able to identify songs by Perry Como, Doris Day, and Tony Bennett.
Being a Harvey’s pub you get Harvey’s ales in here, which is not a bad thing. Available last Tuesday evening were Lewes Castle Brown; Harvey’s Best; Olympia Golden; and a light mild called Knots of May. The latter was a low ABV (3%) ale that they were doing at a special price of £2 per pint. It would have been churlish not to sample a pint at that price, and it turned out to be a surprisingly good pint for such a low ABV ale. The Olympia Golden and Best were of course also superb ales. A had a quick glance at the menu, and saw that pub grub main courses were around £10 or so. This pub has not been spoiled by the refurb, remaining an excellent pub and being something of an oasis in the surrounding desert of modern developments. I will undoubtedly be back here before too long.

On 30th June 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2480 recommendations about 2401 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Cat's Back

Hidden away between the fancy new apartment blocks and office units of the Riverside Quarter, this is an odd little local's pub that has done well to survive the gentrification process.
The interior is a bit hectic, with lots of unusual pictures and items on display, well documented in the reviews below. There are a few heavy-looking tables and chairs around the room as well as plenty of stools at the bar. Seating extends to benches outside the front door and an odd decking area to the rear.
My visit, early on a Saturday afternoon, may well have been poorly timed, as the pub was empty with the punters all sat outside, so it was hard to get a feel for the place. There were two ales on (Tintagel Gull Rock (£3.20) and Sambrook's Wandle) plus a cider and a fourth pump with a turned clip. The Gull Rock was very good and had there been a bit more atmosphere I would have stayed for another pint.
Difficult to rate based on my visit - I may well have to return when it's a bit livelier - but it seemed nice enough and well worth inclusion on any crawl of the area.

On 16th September 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2269 recommendations about 2269 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Cat's Back

The name of this pub does not refer to a part of the feline’s anatomy, but I believe instead celebrates the return of a much loved cat to the pub after a prolonged absence. The exterior of the pub is nothing special, although it is a beacon of welcome when one walks down Point Pleasant overshadowed by all the modern buildings that have been erected there. The petrol pump is an unusual, and possibly unique, outside decoration. Inside, the flooring is mainly parquet, with some rugs that have clearly seen a considerable amount of use over the years. There are half a dozen or so solid wooden tables, with normal plain wooden chairs, and settles that have also seen better days. There is plenty of bric-a-brac around the place, including what looks like a gold coloured life-size torso of a Greek God (Zeus perhaps?) on the gantry above the bar. There are masses of photographs and other artwork on the dark red painted walls; I spotted photographs of Terry Thomas and Audrey Hepburn in her iconic Holly Golightly guise in the corner where I was sitting. There were no one-armed bandits, or games machines and suchlike, although there was some latin American music being played, although not too loudly. A fireplace on the right looks like it gets used sometimes. An upstairs restaurant is advertised for evenings, but I didn’t venture there. The lunch menu is reasonable fare, and although they do sandwiches at reasonable prices, for some reason they are not mentioned on the menu.
There were two real ales on during my visit – Downton Quadhop, and Hepworth Dark Horse, with a Sambrook Wandle pump reversed, plus a draught cider whose name I failed to note. This pub has that lived in look that has been achieved by pubs like The Wenlock that gives them real character. It is definitely worth seeking out this excellent pub in an otherwise uninspiring area.

On 23rd March 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2480 recommendations about 2401 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Cat's Back

Small one room pub with a central bar, a few careworn tables and chairs but also pew type seating, wooden floors and a random mix of nic-naks including an old (50's?) fruit machine(1d), pics of Elvis, a red indian chief, more strangely a display case of Barbie or Cindy dolls; the petrol pump remains outside. There is a fireplace to the right of the bar.
I found a friendly welcome from the barmaid and the small gaggle of regulars seated around the bar. Previous comments about beer quality are noted but all was fine with my beer yesterday and filled to the top of the glass too.
Downton's Quadhop,Adnams Bitter and Sambrook's Wandle on yesterday-nice to see some locAle-even if some wag suggested my pint was pumped straight from the nearby river. Biddenden Bushell Cider also on handpump. I liked this rather boho place a lot.
Not sure about the rear decked outdoor area though with its uninspiring view of the car park of a dull 90's apartment block.

On 24th May 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1677 recommendations about 1654 pubs]