User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Brewhouse & Kitchen, EC1

Pub added by Steve C
Torrens Street
Angel
EC1
EC1V 1NQ
Phone: 02078379421

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Decent enough brewhouse in standard B&K layout, close to Angel tube

On 27th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Smaller than a lot in this chain,it's situated on the ground floor of a modern building.The interior decor is interesting with a low ceiling and lots of industrial ducting ,a U shaped bar and a mix of furniture with a long high bench running down the right wall,divided from the bar by a half height wooden partition,while there is seating with booths to the front and left.6 gleaming copper vessels to the rear right,again not the biggest plant but brewing takes place regularly.There is a hipsterish menu at hipsterish prices,but also a beer guide listing a lot of keg options and some bottles,while there are 8 handpumps offering on my trip brewed on site Arcangel,Spandau B,Myddleton,Britton,Chaplin (a decent APA) and Badas (very good collaberation with Innis & Gunn,oak aged) with one pump for Orchard Pig cider and another unused.
There are flatscreens but they are not distracting,while the muzak was well chosen and played at a sensible volume.The clientele was mainly young professionals on my Friday afterwork visit,but overall it was a lot better than expected,quite a cosy place and worth another visit.

On 30th December 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2198 recommendations about 2198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

The former BRB at the Arc has been transformed by this brewpub chain into something much more interesting. Features an elongated 'U'-shaped bar, with the brewing vessels in the far inside corner. Variety of semi-modern furniture and a mix of decor that seems to work perhaps a bit better than it should. Also has some outdoor furniture along the side-street façade. Five of the own cask beers available from the eight handpumps, including Man's Best Friend harvest ale (£3.95). At least 16 craft keg taps divided between the counter and bar-back.

On 21st October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6591 recommendations about 6591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Decent place with good real ale. Not too busy on Sunday night - would definitely return.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Quite a large open plan interior with bare boards and tiles around the bar. The brewing equipment can be seen at the rear of the bar. 7 real ales and "craft keg" served.

On 20th November 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2802 recommendations about 2744 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Eight handpumps in use on our visit, which included one cider. We went for the Spandau B, as Mrs A is a big fan, this was a session IPA with bags of flavour. The pub was moderately busy on our Friday afternoon visit with people dining and popping in for a drink. There was a row of tables and chairs outside near the entrance, which were a hotspot when the weather is good. The music was at low level and they had a good choice of soul music being played. Promotional offers included a Beer Masterclass, £20 to sample eight different beers and £85 to watch the brewing process, lunch and a few beers. My pint of Spandau B for four quid did me.

On 12th August 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Quite a large pub with a semi-modern feel but still managing to feel a bit "pubby". There is a squeezed horseshoe type bar towards the rear which extends on one side to a food servery, multi-coloured tiles form a splash area with the remainder of the floor being boarded. There is a planked suspended ceiling over the bar and lights are in dangling beer bottles. The brewery vessels are in the rear right hand corner with the partially industrial look augmented by a ceiling with exposed services in cable trays and feature decorative pipework with dials and gauges. Décor has some open shelving units containing bottles, jugs and plates, books and other items such as an old bread bin. A bit of framed stuff, an exposed brick wall was adorned with a collection of mirrors. A side area is marked as a malt store and bags of the stuff lie around.
There is the full range of seating types in here so choice for all, happily I managed to find a normal type of table despite the pub being rather busy. I had to wait a little while for service although despite being well staffed, the bar people appear to work zones and trust my luck I was after someone who managed an order that came to £108.....wow, some round that.
The majority of the beers were from the on site brewery, Sunday had Brewhouse Arc Angel, Watchmaker, Myddleton, Webb Ellis Stout, Spandau B and Chaplin (£4.30) not bad these days for a 6%er in an affluent area. Additionally there was a cider from Twisted and one pump unclipped.
Food is served obviously, Sunday roasts looked top notch and large at £11.50, other meals around the same price + or - £2.
I liked it, some places like this can be overpriced impersonal barns, this isn't based on one visit. I'd certainly go back and maybe one day for a roast dinner.

On 5th October 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1690 recommendations about 1664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

This is the first London outlet for this small chain of pubs of the same name - each with their own in-house brewery. The pub is very well positioned, just around the corner from Angel tube station and accordingly doing a very good trade on my mid-week evening visit. A porch with a number of cases full of hops, leads you into a large, predominantly bare boarded room with a U-shaped servery to the rear surrounded by some pleasant coloured floor tiles. The bar has a chunky wooden counter and metal bar top with low wattage lights suspended above in old beer bottles. The room offers a good mix of seating, with high tables and stools down the right hand side and opposite the bar, tub chairs to the front, padded booths down the left wall and a nice high bench booth near the entrance. An undressed ceiling exposes a lot of pipes, ducts and the likes but actually looks okay in the context of the pub's 'working brewery' look which sees lots of bits and bobs such as copper tanks and all manner of pipes, valves and gauges on show. There are even some pipes on a section of partitioning wall to the right with lamps built into them whilst to the left there are shelving units with beer bottles used to separate the booths. The brewery equipment can be viewed to the rear right and there is a malt store to the front right surrounded by some nice tiling. An upright piano stands near to the entrance and there was a TV screen showing muted rolling news whilst an indie music soundtrack played. Burgers are available for around a tenner, with other main courses closer to £12.
The bar offers a selection of in-house beers, with the options on this occasion being Watchmaker, Spandau B, Arc Angel, Myddleton, Briton and Hitchcock, with Chaplin no longer available. The Spandau B was a pretty good pint and the ales in general seemed to be very popular. A good range of bottled beers can be found, including a lot of Belgian options. The service was very friendly, despite it being particularly busy, with one barman going so far as to take a bicycle from one customer and find somewhere for it to be safely stored.
I was very impressed with this place and thought it was an improvement on other pubs from the same chain that I had previously visited. The beer range is obviously a good draw, but the place has a nice vibe, interesting look and the staff are very friendly. There are some good pubs around this part of town and this ranks up there with the best of them.

On 5th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2620 recommendations about 2620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Exceeded my expectations on my maiden visit,more modern bar than pub but not any worse off for that fact,there is a brew kit to the rear of the bar and the young brewster was at work during my Saturday afternoon visit.eight beers were on and the barman was keen and generous in plying my drinking partner and myself with tasters of all before purchase ,all were in top notch condition, I settled for a Coconut Stout which was as near perfection as you can get.
This place is spot on and I intend to return.

On 28th June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1436 recommendations about 1420 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Brewhouse and Kitchen

Far removed from the outlet Steve experience in 2009 - this is now a newly-opened brewpub. Large U-shaped interior with varied seating areas. Mish-mash of décor styles with reclaimed wood, copper and tiled walls. Exposed ceiling lights in old beer bottles suspended above the bar was quite a neat (and cheap) idea. Food offered but expect London prices though an effort has been made to beer-match the dishes. To the ale; eight pumps sporting a number of their house beers (through a variety of styles) plus a cider. My Winter Warmer was murky but ostensibly OK but the American IPA was much better. The barman mistook me for some sort of amateur and tried to painfully explain the difference between each one on offer but at least they’re trying which is better than can be said for similar ventures elsewhere. Overall I quite liked it and the place just about melded together. I’d be willing to drop in again and see how things progress.

On 20th December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]

Page: 1 2