User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How much? with Spinko on the Pub Forum

Old Fighting Cocks, Telford

Pub added by Oggwyn Great
48 Market Street
Oakengates
Postal town: Telford
TF2 6DU
Phone: 01952615607

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about Old Fighting Cocks

Now the Rowton brewery tap so a number of their beers plus an Everards, not sure if there’s a tie up, and a range of other guests, all in sparkling condition. For cider and perry drinkers there are 3 pulls in the back bar dedicated to apples and pears. More room at the back than I remember and the gents is a work in progress.

On 2nd September 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2107 recommendations about 1958 pubs]


Oggwyn Great left this review about Old Fighting Cocks

Hop and Stagger have now left the Fighting Cocks , after a short closure it will reopen under the management of Rowton Brewery .

On 1st April 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Old Fighting Cocks

Loved this friendly pub and just wished we had more time to sample more of the ales on offer but sadly we were running out of time for our coach to leave for Coalbrookdale. With the 3 fine bars we called in, Oakengates is a beer festival. The Hop & Stagger selection available was varied in styles and strengths, and the Bridgnorth Porter was my ale of the day. Will certainly be back during the day so that I can spend time exploring these interesting pubs as well as enjoying what they serve.

On 21st January 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Old Fighting Cocks

Judging by the older reviews, this place has had as many owners as the Littlest Hobo over the last few years. It’s still an Everards Project William pub and the current brewery running the place are Hop & Stagger. 12 (I think) pumps with three H&S brews plus a fistful of well-sourced micros and left-field breweries. The rambling interior is a treat, with wood panelling and small rooms, along with a double bar. Also look out for the stained glass windows and the horse feeding hatch by the toilets. Apparently the pub has a ‘bring your own food’ policy and will provide cutlery and plates. At this point in my notes, my phone died so I can’t recall exactly what beer I had, but it was good… (visited June)

On 23rd September 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3912 recommendations about 3900 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Old Fighting Cocks

Nice friendly traditional pub on old high street. Good choice of ales that differ from the Station down the road, probably more space here to enjoy them. Vary nice stop off

On 10th July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1260 recommendations about 1237 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Old Fighting Cocks

This pub certainly ticked a lot of boxes for me, especially their excellent selection of ales on our visit. It was great to see they had three ales from Hop and Stagger Brewery from Bridgenorth in Shropshire, so I initially went for the H & P Shropshire Pale Ale and the Golden Wander. Another gem to see was Beowulf Chase Pale. Prices in here were reasonable and fellow drinkers were friendly and chatty. Allow some time on a visit here, as it's a difficult one to leave.

On 2nd July 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2865 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Old Fighting Cocks

Another winner from Project William,ales from Hop & Stagger will be showcased here together with guests on 12 handpumps.It's also a really interesting building ,so wander around to see the back snug,various small sections and some fine wood panelling.It's quiet and calm inside and refurbed in a very good way and I can see that together with the Station Inn,how CAMRA members rotate amongst these two in the Golden Triangle.
Ale selection on my trip Everards Tiger(regular),Salopian Shropshire Gold,Beowulf Chase Pale,Mallinsons Hopburst,Hop & Stagger Golden Wander,Shropshire Pale Ale,Bridgenorth Porter and Triple Hop IPA (very good)
This is another must visit,a joy for the real ale drinker.

On 25th June 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2004 recommendations about 2004 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about Old Fighting Cocks

I finally completed the Golden Triangle seven months later with the new owners doing renovations last October. Another fine rambling pub with a bar area at the front sporting nine handpumps and extra pumps at the rear leading to small cosy rooms. This was my 2nd Mild pub after joining "Shropshire Camra Mild in May" at Albrighton station Platform Alehouse earlier. The pub's own Hop and Stagger Dark Horse Mild was in fine form. Only 64 milds to go. To complete it today I would have to exceed 30 Milds an hour. The mild set me back £2.70 as it is in the Station next door, and was the same at Platform Ale house (after 10p discount). Enough cash left for a cone of chips!

On 9th May 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 660 recommendations about 610 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about Old Fighting Cocks

After a bit of a hit and miss start under its new ownership by Hop and Stagger brewery the OFC is now back to its best , four handpulls given over to the owners own beers , one to Everards Tiger , four to guest beers and one to cider plus plans for another couple of pulls to make room for 5 guests and 2 ciders .

On 6th May 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Old Fighting Cocks

This is possibly the most plush of the three pubs making up the "Oakengates Golden Triangle" probably as it is part of the Everard's Project William along with the Wrekin Brewery. It's none the worse or better for that as it's another great pub with a good range of beers.
It has a similar layout to the other two pubs with a bar in front as you enter and another area behind the bar. Going past that there is a tiny snug on the left and another room further on with a dart board.
The bar has six hand pumps at the front with a further two on the left and two at the back. The rear two had a cider and one unused while the side two had Everard's Tiger and Wood's Parish. At the front there was Wrekin Gold & Pale, Mallinson's Ella, Hophurst Flaxen, Wye Valley Dorothy Goodbody Stout and Weetwood Eastgate. I went for the Wrekin Pale (£2.50) which was excellent both in taste and value for money. Another great pub!

On 9th February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2131 recommendations about 2126 pubs]

Page: 1 2