User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Most seen bands with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

Sheffield Tap, Sheffield Central, Sheffield

Pub added by Yan Pilkington
Platform 1b, Sheffield Station
Sheffield
S1 2BP
Phone: 01142737558

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3 4

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Sheffield Tap

Unlike my first visit a couple of years ago when I was lucky to find a perch in one of the small wood-panelled rooms at the back, the bar wasn't completely rammed on this occasion. This was partly explained by the sunny weather meaning that the outdoor tables on the patio in front of the older station buildings was being well used, and the larger side room housing the Tapped micro-brewery was also open for general use this time. On the beer front, there was (as you would expect) an excellent selection from a total of 11 handpumps, including the Cocksure Session IPA (£1.85, half) as one of the guests in addition to a few of its own brews.

On 22nd July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Tris C left this review about Sheffield Tap

King’s Cross has Platform 9¾ where you can be transported to a place of magical enchantment. Sheffield's Platform 1b is where you enter an enchanting world of grand Victoriana in what was once the 1st class lounge, transformed into a top-quality station bar in 2009; the tiling is especially attractive and along with the interior, is well documented below.
I opted on recommendation, for the Great Heck Voodoo Mild at £1.75 the half, which is on the steep side by Sheffield’s standards and was a little cold, but this is preferable to being too warm; it was in great shape and a perfect introduction to the pubbery that was to follow.
A must-visit if you arrive by train, as you can’t really miss it.

On 14th July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Steve of N21 left this review about Sheffield Tap

My first visit to this fine station bar as it was the meeting point for the recent Pubs Galore visit to Sheffield. A very good multi-roomed heritage interior as well described below, the ale pumps had beers from Thornbridge, Arbour, Great Heck, Roosters, Hensley Brewing and Neptune Brewery alongside a couple from the in house brewery.
A few of the crawl members were not too enamoured with the quality of their ale choices but my Great Heck Voodoo Mild was very good for me and I really enjoyed my first time visit to this fine station bar.

On 14th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Sheffield Tap

A huge pub with a number of areas, two main rooms plus side rooms both sporting wood panelling. This is the former first class station lounge and dining room which opened in 1904, now rescued and turned into this place which already features on CAMRA's National Inventory. Very high ornate ceilings with large rooflights, superb elaborate tilework and areas of mosaic floor of a style we found in a number of pubs during our visit to Sheffield. Large fireplaces at each end, windows look out onto the station platforms but there was no direct access. The map on the station concourse is rather misleading suggesting that the pub is accessible via the travel centre, it isn't, you need to leave the station and walk to the right.
The bar is situated in the first of the larger rooms and has an elaborately carved dark wood bar back. Two banks of handpumps in here, eleven in total, beers from the on-site Tapped Brewery, Thornbridge, Bad Seed, Chantry, Alechemy and Bristol Beer Factory plus a Thistly Cross Elderflower cider. Prices are high compared to the Sheffield average but the quality was good. The second large room, beyond the bar, contains the brewery with the vessels on full view. There was a distinct smell of the brewing operation which may enhance the experience or the opposite, depending on personal views. Seating in here mostly at red button backed banquettes, lighting from ornate chandeliers and huge mirrors feature around the end fireplace.
A large building with very high ceilings so difficult to keep warm in the current freezing weather, the beer was a bit cold too but you can't blame them for that. A very good and promising start to our Sheffield afternoon.

On 4th March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Sheffield Tap

The Sheffield Tap is on Camra's Inventory of Historically Important Pub Interiors.

Unfortunately there is no departures board in the pub, so anyone passing the time before their train departs needs to keep a close eye on the time. The Tap can be accessed from Platform 1b except when there is a football match on in Sheffield (Wednesday or United), so you may need to allow time for exiting the pub on the city side and then re-entering the station.

On 5th January 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Sheffield Tap

Excellent place to finish my day. Usual selection of hand pumps including Jaipur which was duly dispatched. Would always end up in this place when visiting Sheffield.

On 9th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1672 recommendations about 1670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Sheffield Tap

The address of the Sheffield Tap is rather misleading as there is actually no way into it from Platform 1b due to rail regulations. I came across something similar at Hartlepool's Rat Race.
It's a classic rail bar which has been more than well described below. I had a few hours before my train so bagged a table and chair. Beers tried were Rooster's Fort Smith (£4.00), Thornbridge Jaipur (£4.00) and Half Moon Robustus Lunam (£3.90) all of which were in pretty good nick. It got busier as the local footbore crowd started coming in but my biggest gripe with this place is that it's more expensive than all other places I've been to in Sheffield. I preferred the Rutland Arms to this one.

On 22nd February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about Sheffield Tap

Final port of call on my day in Sheffield , very busy but staff were efficient and speedy , lots of ales available , i had a Gun Strong Pale and very nice it was .
Worth a visit and i will probally start here if in Sheffield again .
If you are going to a match its worth noting no football colours are allowed .

On 20th November 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 775 recommendations about 664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Sheffield Tap

A great pub for a final bevvy before getting the train. Lots of real ales and lots of rooms to enjoy them in. Sadly I didn't have long to fully appreciate this place as my train was due so next time I'll start here.

On 11th March 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Sheffield Tap

The best way to start and or finish your beer trip to Sheffield, this is a busy bar with a great range of cask and keg beers, and a massive selection of bottles. Seating either in the main bar area facing platform 1, or in a few other walk through rooms, one of which has the Tapped Brewery visable. We enjoyed Hop Studio Sonata, Half Moon Galileo and Thornbridge Baize this trip.

On 3rd August 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3 4