User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Hogs Back Taproom - not a pub? with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Duke of Sussex, SE1

Pub added by john mcgraw
23 Baylis Road
SE1
SE1 7AY

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


E TA left this review about The Duke of Sussex

As described by others, this Georgian town pub has an open plan bar and a bistro-style restaurant downstairs, plus 2 function rooms upstairs next to the lavatories.  The staff were pretty slow to react when we came in, one of them actually ignoring us for several minutes until the one with the brain noticed us.  Clientele were engaged in healthy discussion, and the female barstaff were happy chatting to foreign visitors.  There were 5 craft beers on keg, all overpriced, as were the 4 real ales on the fork-handle handpumps: Tribute, Harvey’s Sussex Best Bitter, Hog’s Back TEA and Timothy Taylor’s Landlord.  The ales were in good condition, especially the Sussex, a nod to a former eponymous Duke. I’d be very happy to come back some time, perhaps for a Slater’s Ginger Tosser, Beerhound’s Archie or a Half-and-Half. 

On 25th March 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2586 recommendations about 2560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Duke of Sussex

Refurbished in usual gastro style, but retains a good pub feel in the main bar, if perhaps slightly upmarket, with a dedicated restaurant part in the room behind the bar. Seems also to have annexed much of the pavement outside, with tables and large awnings, which is very popular in sunny weather. There is a function room upstairs. A couple of good local ales on offer and condition seemed fine (Cask Marque accredited)

On 12th June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2265 recommendations about 2213 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Duke Of Sussex

Nice place, been tidied up a bit since I last visited. Four real ales on tap, all priced at £4.00. The wooden benches have been changed to smart tables. Strange sculptures on the wall, supposed to be sewer/drain pipes I think. The real ale handles are garden fork handles (cue the two Ronnie's sketch, Four Candles). They look easier to pull. Anyway, it nice to see that the change hasn't meant that the outside of the pub has to be painted black. It would have lost a lot of character.

On 20th May 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Duke Of Sussex

A proper, old-fashioned boozer located a short walk from Waterloo station. Dating from 1924, the exterior retains the bold Truman Hanbury Buxton & Co Ltd tiling on the façade. The interior also appears to have been little altered, with the sparsely-furnished main bar at the front and a back room now housing the pool table, etc. Lots of old photographs of the area on the wall of the bar, and a very small stage in one corner. Decent-sized patio beer garden to one side. Two of three handpumps were on, offering St Austell Cornish in addition to a decent pint of the regular London Pride (£4.00). As on my previous visit four years ago, the landlord was friendly enough to a random visitor, so I would happily return again when in the area.

On 16th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Duke Of Sussex

The Duke of Sussex looks quite nice from the outside with its old Truman Hanbury and Buxton signage still in place.
Once inside the pub seemed pretty much unaltered,i had a drink in the main front bar which was oblong in shape with the bar facing,there was comfy bench seating aroung the edge of the room,the floor was carpeted,there was a seperate pool room to the rear.
There were two real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Youngs bitter which was a decent enough drink,the other beer was London Pride.
This is a nice proper pub that i was quite happy having a drink in.

Pub visited 2/8/2014

On 2nd August 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Duke Of Sussex

Don't think the interior has been changed much since it opened a bar and lounge serving 3 real ales.

On 22nd November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2705 recommendations about 2648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Duke Of Sussex

Nice appearance from the outside and some interesting old pictures inside but not much else going for it.

On 18th June 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Duke Of Sussex

Well worth a visit with a very traditional saloon bar,friendly welcome and well kept ale.Three handpumps but usually only two dispensing ,London Pride seems a regular together with a rotating guest which was Wadsworth Henry's IPA on my visit.The karaoke after 9pm seems to be held more regularly but more seating is available in the back bar if the warbling gets too much .Quite busy but rarely rammed,the timewarp feel attracts a range of custom.

On 1st March 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2086 recommendations about 2086 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Duke Of Sussex

An attractive exterior with the old Truman logo, and the pub name picked out in the framed display on the squint wall, see amongst the photos above. The interior is a bit "Life on Mars", and reminding me of many pubs I frequented in my early drinking days some 30 years ago. Two room layout with the pool table dominating the side room, a couple of blokes were playing darts. The lounge side has banquette seating with the bar opposite, Sky Sports News on a monitor over the serving area was showing the few football results on a wiped out Saturday due to the freeze up. The walls are decorated with lots of old photos of the area plus a few framed old adverts.
Pretty down to earth but friendly. They do pie and mash here, not sampled by me however.
Three pumps, one reversed, Pride and something by Wychwood, which was ok and at £2.60 good value.

On 3rd February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Duke Of Sussex

I quite enjoyed my previous visit here but now think I may have been lucky on that occasion. Last time there was a golden ale (can't remember what) which two of us had to leave half finished, the third guy had Pride which made him ill - I dunno how he drank any of it; well, the guv had admitted that he knew nowt about beer, and it showed! Good that there is a separate room with pool table and dart board (bizarrely hidden behind full length curtains), but there were no markers for the whiteboard and, without drinkable ale anyway, what's the point?
Shame, with caring management this could be very good, but it ain't.

On 31st December 2009 - rating: 3
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]

Page: 1 2