User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Brewery Tap, Chester Central, Chester

Pub added by Soup Dragon
52-54 Lower Bridge Street
Chester
CH1 1RU
Phone: 01244340999

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve C left this review about The Brewery Tap

Located up steps from the street is the Brewery Tap which is in Gamul House, a grade II listed hall. The main bar area is in a high curved ceilinged rendered room with wooden beams in the roof space. Standard furniture is found throughout and the bar is in the right rear corner. As the name suggests, this is a place for beer fans with eight cask ales being available alongside some craft keg products. This is home to the Spitting Feathers Brewery so their Special, Empire, Mustn’t Grumble and Thirst Quencher were available alongside Broadoak’s Crimson King, Wantsum’s Black Pig, Bragdy Twt Lol Glog and Salopian’s Flash Point. I went for a pint of the citrusy Thirst Quencher which was very good. Locally sourced food was advertised, but I didn’t spot a menu.
The lack of television and music makes this place a perfect spot for lovers of beer and beer related chat. Customers can even take in their four-legged friends, with treats available from the bar. I found the service to be very friendly and will be sure to revisit next time I am in Chester.

On 28th July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Al Bundy left this review about The Brewery Tap

This is a really good pub and arguably the best on Lower Bridge St. Two roomed with the right side room used for dining. 8 handpulls on the bar with a good variety of styles being available. Though its a Spitting Feathers owned place only 2 were on on my visit with the rest being guests and a cider. Its always a must do when I'm in Chester.

On 27th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3364 recommendations about 3280 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about The Brewery Tap

Up some steps to get in here as the pub is on a raised terrace, parts of which date from the 1500’s and indeed Charles I stayed in this building once, prior to the Battle of Rowton Moor. A Jacobean banqueting hall interior, it’s an oblong room with a high ceiling, large ex-fireplace and painted rough-hewn walls which made for fairly terrible acoustics. Dangling hops and hung tapestries vie for extra decorative embellishment. Note the perpsex covered door and bits of wall, presumably to protect very aged stuff. Seemed quite geared towards food and there were only a smattering of non-eaters. Eight pumps with four Spitting Feathers ales on; Thirst quencher (NBSS 3) and Odd Ball (NBSS 3.5) sampled. Also beers from Coach House (Gunpowder Mild) and Magic Rock, plus cider from Broadoak. Ate here and the food was fine but the advertised pies are not proper pies, they are puff pastry lids on a ceramic bowl of stew, sigh. It’s something a bit different and worth popping in for when you’re doing Chester. 7.5

On 1st March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Jon B left this review about The Brewery Tap

if this website was called BeerGalore it would be a 10/10 all day long. sadly it's a bit like drinking in a church and I couldn't get comfortable at all (and not just because i'm a sinner). I tried the Castle Black stout which was my beer of the day. friendly staff too but it's just not my cup of tea really, it's nice enough I guess.

On 1st December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 640 recommendations about 630 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Brewery Tap

Rammed on our Friday night visit and the acoustics made it very very loud , despite this service was quick and friendly and the beer choice still great , my Spitting Feathers Thirst Quencher was spot on .
Still like it in here but prefer to visit at quieter times .

On 6th May 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Brewery Tap

According to What Pub Charles I visited this place back in 1645. You would think he would have installed a lift and then maybe he would have been pardoned from his execution a few years later. The old stone staircase leading to it and to a lesser extent the echoing acoustics inside were the main drawbacks of this pub but overall inside it was OK and at least the toilets didn't involve stairs.
The bar in this high ceilinged room had a cider, Salopian The Bends, Spitting Feathers Thirst Quencher, Coach House Blunderbus, Copper Dragon Bob On, Great Heck Navigator, Moorhouse Black Cat Mild and Hawkshead Brodies Prime. I went for the Salopian beer (£3.60) which was excellent.
Despite the stairs I quite liked this place.

On 10th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Brewery Tap

There were eight ales on in here. I didn’t bother listing them all, but I hadn’t seen any of them before. The pint of Gadd’s No5 that I had was in great shape. Food is available in the evenings, and is somewhere between gastro and pub grub. I had some shepherd’s pie (£9.95) - the sausage& mash (with “local award-winning pork & apple sausages”) was £9.50, and “gurnard fillets, cherry tomatoes and spring onions was £9.95. There were no burgers though.

This place is a bit like having a drink in a chapel, with its massively high vaulted ceiling and cross shaped light fittings high up on the walls. In fact it's sited in Gamul House, a late 17th Century building. It's a bit of a museum piece. There are bits of what are clearly ancient bits of wood around the place, including a really old door by the toilets protected by clear plastic screening. There's also a massive old sandstone fireplace behind the servery, which is clearly a modern addition.

It's also the brewery tap for the Spitting Feathers brewery (the clue's in the name), although brewing doesn't actually take place on the premises, and when I was in only one of their ales was available. There were two or three largish groups having a great time on the Thursday evening I visited, making the main room very noisy - aided by the hard furnishings and high ceiling - even though there were no TVs on or music playing. A smaller room on the right looked a bit more peaceful. Nonetheless, this is a "must include" on any Chester crawl.

On 18th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2543 recommendations about 2461 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Brewery Tap

This place is really quite something. I noticed it the day on our walk about but was not expecting the magnificence of the place on investigation on the night.

Who would not want to drink in a former Medieval Dining Room, when only ordinary pubs are available ;-)

Enter via some stone steps and get taken away by the high vaulted ceiling, exposed beams and the bar that is literary built in a monster fireplace. With the tapestries on the wall, its not hard to think you are in a former time.

And the beers match the opulent surrounding. A choice of around 8 real ales and ciders - some from their own brewery. The staff are helpful and pointed to something they thought I would like, based on my preference.

The clientele were a bit rowdy, including some staggeringly drunk parties. But then again, it was Saturday night three weeks before XMAS.

A real gem of a place. Recommended and best we found in Chester.

On 12th December 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 590 recommendations about 585 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Brewery Tap

Always good for a visit when on a crawl of Chester, and we enjoyed a couple of their guest beers this time, Copper Dragon Fire Dancer and Happy Valley Tie the Knot.

On 9th November 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Brewery Tap

Nothings changed since my last visit , still a great place for a drink , did seem a little less busy than i remember .

On 19th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 662 pubs]

Page: 1 2