User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 3 with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Cheshire Cheese, Buxton

39 High Street
Buxton
SK17 6HA
Phone: 01298212453

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

On my previous visit in 2014 there was bar billiards here, but the table is now missing. Don't know why, as the pub is surely big enough. There are 10 hand pumps, with six having Titanic beers on, with Everards Tiger (as this is a Project William pub), plus one each from Lacons, Elland and White Horse at the time of my 2019 visit. Despite the huge beer offering, all the beers we tried were in very good condition. A pity about the bar billiards, but I'd be happy to call in again when in Buxton.

Date of visit: 17th April 2019

On 31st May 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2653 recommendations about 2500 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

Much busier on Saturday night, this is obviously a popular thriving pub, which is great to see. A handful of free tables meant we were able to enjoy a drink in comfort. It looked like a live band was due on later in the evening.

On 17th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 541 recommendations about 482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

Visited today. 10 hand pulls at the bar, one of which was off at the time of my arrival. Five Titanic beers were on (White Star, Plum Porter, Raspberry Wheat, Iceberg and Captain Smith's) plus four guests.

It's a large pub, quite dimly lit to give a cosy feel, but there is a nice circular bit protruding from the front of the building almost like a separate small snug which lets in a lot of light. This had an old fireplace and the room itself felt more traditional than the rest of the pub.

I spotted a chalk board in the other half of the pub listing the real ales.

Titanic Steerage was being pulled through and was on by the time I had finished my drink and returned my glass. I went for the Captain Smith's at £1.80 for a half / £3.60 a pint. A decent bitter in good condition.

Quiet at lunch time although they do seem to do food.

Well worth a visit, and I daresay I will be back.

On 11th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 541 recommendations about 482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

This is another Project William pub, owned by Everards but run by Titanic. It's a wide open plan room that is split into areas with the bar counter forming a corner roughly in the middle. It's an old building so there is a low ceiling with beams. Unlike other Titanic pubs this one is quite foor orientated although not excessively so.
The ten hand pumps had five Titanic beers and five guests which were Everard's Tiger, Dark Star Sunburst, Evan Evans Cwrw, Joule's Slumbering Monk and Navigation New Dawn. I went for the Titanic Plum Porter (£3.40) and Captain Smith (£3.50) both of which were excellent. Like all the other Titanic pubs this is well worth a visit.

On 3rd July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

Good Titanic Brewery pub with a fine selection of ales. I had Captain Smith @ 5.2% ABV. It was quiet on Friday night and it actually had a bar billiard table. Definite revisit.

On 29th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Cheshire Cheese

Arguably the best pub in Buxton. Sells a wide range of Titanic Brewery stuff including the rather yummy Plum Porter. Its an open plan pub and there are 10 handpumps of which 5 serve Titanic beers and the rest are guests.

On 20th May 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Cheshire Cheese

Its Re opened called in on the 7th of november mid afternoon its belongs to Titanic brewery from staffordshire very nicely decorated. Not many people in but the young guy says it does get very busy nice pleasant lad behind the bar.
Had a good pint of Titanic iceberg. There was 10 hand pulls on from the titanic brewery.

Well worth a visit

On 7th November 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Cheshire Cheese

ITS Closed but re opening Wednesday the 16th of October its been taken over by the Titanic brewery so it should do ok looks like its had a refurb on it and a lot of money spent

On 15th October 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Cheshire Cheese

Only Greene King beers available here, and there was quite a strong smell of cooking oil as we came in. The landlord is a friendly Sheffield Wednesday supporter.

On 1st December 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2653 recommendations about 2500 pubs]