User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

George & Dragon, Belper Town, Belper

117 Bridge Street
Belper
DE56 1BA
Phone: 01773880210

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about George & Dragon

This pub was very busy with locals on our early Saturday afternoon visit This is a traditional style pub with some low ceiling beams, an open fireplace, a flagstone floor near the entrance. The main features in here was the snug area on the left of the entrance and a large wall mounted Guinness sign was positioned at the far end of the bar. Further along the wall, hangs a large mirror, which covers a wall hatch, which is used for beer on stillage at beer festivals. Six ales on handpump on our visit, Rufford Abbey General Jack, Bass, GK Abbott, Hairy Brewers Blonde Bombshell, Shiny Disco Balls and Falstaff North Mill. I went for the Blonde Bombshell which was in good shape. Getting out of the pub was a bit of a puzzle if your not a regular as there is a locking key plate on the hinge side, so you try to push the door open on the wrong side. The bar staff watch you trying to work it out.

On 5th October 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2894 recommendations about 2894 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about George & Dragon

Large Georgian coaching inn with real ales from Abbeydale, Tower, Dukeries Greene King plus Bass. We selected Dukeries Elsi Pale and Tower East Mill bitter which were ok.

On 3rd June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about George & Dragon

The George and Dragon is a stone built pub and the only pub on bridge street to elude me and the wife,so i had to give it a go.
Once inside the main room is dogged legged in shape with the bar facing,the font area has a tiled floor and comfy bench seating,the rear area is carpeted and has pew seating and normal tables and chairs,there is a raised area to the rear which had darts boards,but could be used as a stage.
There were a couple of TVs showing music videos.
There is also a smaller room to the rear left which is behind the bar.
There were six real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Falstaff Whistler which went down well,the other beers were Exmoor Gold,Bass,Abbeydale Dark Mass,GK Abbot and East Mill bitter,a special brew for the fesival.
I quite took to this pub.

Pub visited 11/7/2015

On 11th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about George & Dragon

I only had time for a quick visit before catching my train from the nearby station. I counted 10 hand pumps, but stand to be corrected. One had a real cider and the others had beers from the likes of Titanic, Moles and Shottle, among others, plus Greene King Abbot. Shottle Farm brewery describes this pub as their brewery tap, but I only saw one of their beers. This is a large multi-roomed pub that has been opened out to some extent, though there is a nice looking snug behind the bar. I hope to return for a longer visit and perhaps a more detailed review.

The above from 6th March 2014. A more recent visit gave a revised hand pump count of nine: seven ales and two ciders, with two more ciders in polypins. This was the first stop on a crawl of Amber Valley, but the pub was fairly lively (Sunday lunchtime). We went in the snug behind the bar, which is a pleasant spot. Definitely one to head for if you can break your journey here - trains are hourly on weekdays and Saturdays: Sundays two hourly.

On 16th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2431 recommendations about 2295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about George & Dragon

Traditional inn, with a welcoming real fire and lively banter from the other customers. Several real ales on, including Dive Bomber (pale and refreshing at 4.6%, but more of a summer beer I would have thought) from the local Fun Fair Brewing Company.

On 28th February 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]