User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 19th May 2019) with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Sun, Carshalton Village, Carshalton

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
4 North Street
Carshalton
SM5 2HU
Phone: 02087734549

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Sun

A decent pub this one and well worth a visit for the choice of ales. We got in here mid afternoon on a Friday, so there wasn't many diners about, even though this is a food led pub. They had a choice of six handpumps, all of which were in use. Beer wise they had on Listers Best Bitter, By the Horns Stiff Upper Lip, By the Horns Red Rye, Wimbledon Common Pale Ale, Wimbledon SW19 and Hardy and Hansons Olde Trip. I went for the Wimbledon Pale ale, which was a good session beer. There was also an upstairs Gin room, called the "Gin Library".

On 30th November 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2737 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


moby duck left this review about The Sun

I called in on a Sunday lunchtime, the pub seemed to be leaning toward the "Gastro" side of things, all tables set for food though this maybe could be a Sunday thing. The six beers on were West Berks Maggs Mild, Listers Best, Siren Undercurrent, By The Horns Giggle Mug, H&H Olde Trip
and Belhaven Elephant Session Ale, the barman was enthusiastic about the beer but the quality of the Siren was average at best. A nice eclectic beer garden was hidden away to the rear . A bit of a mixed bag.

On 3rd June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1186 recommendations about 1175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Sun

Imposing wedge-shaped corner pub with some attractive old green tiling on the exterior. Food heavy inside and I was the only person exclusively drinking mid-Saturday afternoon. Six ales on at the polished copper-topped bar (note the impressive dark wood and etched mirror bar back); Sharps Doom Bar, GK St Edmunds, Arbor Blue Sky, Bingham's Vanilla Stout, Saltaire Sir Titus and Wimbledon Tower. The Saltaire and Wimbledon were in decent shape. Small decked rear area leading to a larger gravelled garden off left with pizza oven. It's a decent place that's worth a detour but a session boozer it is not.

On 1st July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3794 recommendations about 3782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Sun

I found this pub to be attractive both inside and out, the wedge shaped building sits on a corner plot, there is some elaborate carved stonework with the sun motif being picked out over the first floor arched window surrounds. There is also a bit of original looking stained glass remaining also with an inset sun. Inside the main area is fairly long and narrow with the bar along the front wall. The room returns slightly at the narrow corner end and more so at the deeper rear area where an opening takes you through to a dining room. this area is nicely furnished with a stone floor with the occasional rug, a high shelf containing scores of bottles, stone jugs, steins, copper vessels and the suchlike; there are framed prints of butterflies, shelves of books (there is a book exchange scheme) and a table full of board games. The main bar continues the sun theme with patterned wallpaper behind the bar and a pointy sun shaped mirror, there are large brass lampshades, framed drawings of dogs, pictures of The Beatles, french advertisements also; seating is mixed if fairly traditional generally at long wooden tables although a bay window seat was festooned with scatter cushions. The dark carved wood bar back may be an original feature, it has certainly been there some while and has a carved figurine on top of who I took to be Queen Victoria. There is also an iconic silver AA badge fixed to the centre of the bar back. Most of the tiling is new but some original looking stuff remains next to a now unused door. Food is served, there is a counter up a few steps and although I didn't bother to read a menu the burger and wedges a couple were tucking into looked good. One bugbear, a lot of the seating throughout the pub was reserved at various times, I can accept that in a formal restaurant area but I'm not keen in the bar, however there wasn't an issue with occupying a table reserved for later on. Beerwise the selection was pretty good making this place worth doubling up with The Hope on the other side of the railway, Twickenham Honey Dark, Dark Star Hophead, Dark Star Imperial Stout, Clarence and Frederick's Best Bitter and Slater's Triple Hop. I went for the Slater's expecting a light sharply hopped beer but it wasn't, fairly brown and only slightly tasting of hops....c'est la vie. I liked it here and would have no hesitation in popping in again when in the area.

On 28th April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1677 recommendations about 1654 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Sun

The Sun was the last pub I visited on an all-day pub crawl so my memory of it is a little hazy. I noted that one of the five hand pumps was off so the ale options were Sharp’s Doom Bar, Plain Ales’ Inntrigue, Tring Brewery’s Jack O’Legs and RCH Brewery’s East-Street.
Texas Hold’em is played during the poker night which is held here every Monday from 20:00 and there is a quiz every Tuesday evening again from 20:00. Every Sunday from 19:00 live local acts are employed during the Acoustic by Candlelight evenings. There is an advertised garden bar that is open when the sun is shining, but I didn’t venture outside during my visit.
Food is served from 18:00 until 21:00 on Mondays, from noon until 15:00 and from 18:00 until 21:30 Tuesdays through to Fridays and from noon until 16:00 and 18:00 until 21:00 at the weekends.

I found the staff to be nice enough and would have no problem returning here if passing.

On 22nd July 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3371 recommendations about 3351 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Sun

An impressive building occupying a corner location close to Carshalton station,the pub splits into two segments,an open plan drinking area immediately on entry with a bar on the left hand side and then beyond this in various sections,a dining area that would fit the broad description of gastro.There is an opening where the modern kitchen and chefs at work can be viewed and dining seemed to be the core activity here.However there were 5 handpumps,offering ales from a pubcos list,but that is the extent of my pitiful notes.Would I come back ? Given the commitment to real ale and the friendly attitude of the bar staff, yes and I would take more careful note of whats on offer next time as well.

On 29th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1908 recommendations about 1908 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Sun

They had five real ales on during my visit – Landlord; Doom Bar; O’Hanlon’s Stormstay; North Yorkshire Brewery Honey Bunny; and Stonehenge Pigswill. Despite the discouraging name, I went for the Pigswill (£3.10 a pint) which was OK, but not overly good. I didn’t know this pub before the relatively recent refurbishment, so cannot make comparisons. But this is clearly an old pub judging by the exterior – indeed there appears to some of the original internal tiling (possibly even Victorian) in the now unused entranceway on the left. Inside, with the possible exception of the bar back, it is all stripped out and new. The floor is mainly bare-boarded with what looks like modern replacement boarding, except for a grey tiled area in front of the bar counter. Furnishings are a bit of a mixed bag – chunky solid wood tables, smaller round tables, normal chairs, stools, and padded benches with scatter cushions. Some of the walls are wood panelled up to the dado rail level and painted grey/green (as are the insides of the doors) and light yellow above that.
On the plus side there is a separate family room at the back, which was serving its purpose during my visit with young kids consigned there, accompanied by their parents, working on their colouring book skills. Also, I saw no one-armed bandits, games machines or suchlike, although there was some rubbish pop music being played, but which improved dramatically when someone put on a Beatles CD. There were a few prints and suchlike on the walls, but it seemed more minimalist than most pubs. There were a few chalkboards on the walls, advertising the Tuesday quiz night, the seasonal food plus brunch on Sundays, and the “quesadilla with cheese, red onion and coriander s/w chicken or roast veg topped with sour cream & guacamole - £6.50”. Bit different from the usual pub grub. Essentially this is a fairly comfortable bar that has deliberately moved upmarket (vis the fruit bowl on the bar counter), but in the process abandoned any traditional pub character it might have had. But it does do some decent ales, was doing a decent trade on a Saturday afternoon, and I noticed a couple of tables reserved for the evening, so there is clearly a thriving market for this sort of place. But a traditional pub it isn’t.

On 5th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2477 recommendations about 2398 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Sun

Nice, clean, modern pub near to Carshalton train station. There was a good range of ales on offer when I ventured in last week. There were a couple of beers from the Wolf brewery, Sharp's Doom Bar, Rudgate Ruby Mild and an excellent RCH Old Slug Porter, as well as a decent selection of lagers including Hoegaarden and Leffe.
There seems to be a strong emphasis on food here, and much of what was labelled the 'family area', plus the area around the fire was full of diners, but I didn't feel out of place sitting at the front of the pub with a few beers.
The staff seemed pretty friendly and I got the impression that they are working hard to attract and keep new customers. There was also a very friendly and well behaved pub dog doing its best to charm everyone.
I really enjoyed my time in here and will head back again soon, maybe to try the food.

On 5th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2269 recommendations about 2269 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


elizabeth mcgraw left this review about The Sun

At the moment it is undergoing a major refurbishment and should open late September 09

On 10th July 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 252 recommendations about 249 pubs]