User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Reviewing milestone with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

The Red Lion, Birmingham

Pub added by Geoffrey Pick
48 Red Lion Street
Alvechurch
Postal town: Birmingham
B48 7LG

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Vintage Inns (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Red Lion

The Red Lion is a large pub that is in the middle of the nice looking village of Alvechurch.
Once inside the bar faces in a roughly L shaped room which is divided into different areas,the room is part carpeted and has comfy bench sating and normal tables and chairs.
There were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Purity Pure Gold,which went down well,the other real ales were Purity UBU and Sharps Atlantic.
Food was being served but did not take over the pub.
I thought this was a decent pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 26/5/2017

On 4th August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Red Lion

Really imposing pub for a village of this size, set back from the road with quite a lot of open space all around. Now a Vintage Inn, partially opened-out and given the expected semi-traditional makeover inside, but still retaining some character in the various seating / dining areas. Also has a few small metal tables out front and a decent-sized beer garden at the back. Five handpumps on the counter, offering Doom Bar, Sharp's Atlantic (£3.55), Landlord, Pure UBU and Old Rosie cider.

On 20th May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 8000 recommendations about 8000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Redwolves Dog left this review about Red Lion

Again, it was only a quick visit but nice comfortable surroundings. I will come back here and try the food sometime.

On 18th September 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 48 recommendations about 47 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Red Lion

A large splendid looking pub this one, with a tastefully designed upmarket interior. I especially liked the exposed timber beams and the open fire, on the left of the entrance. The right hand side of the pub had timber panels and old photos of the village adorned the walls. There were some good photos of lions and their cubs around the main bar, obviously someone had been on a safari and the photo's are in keeping with the pubs name. Lots of customers eating on our Monday night visit. Timothy Taylor, Brakspear and UBU on handpump.

On 20th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3351 recommendations about 3351 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Red Lion

This is a detached pub/eatery with patio areas, which is a part of the Vintage Inn chain. The pub is a 1930s rebuild of an earlier hotel on the same site, of the same name. The building is in cream brick, with a band of coffee (and coffee windows). It has a front gable, porch and dog-tooth cornice and the building has a dog-leg kink to it - as it follows the land boundary of the older pub. The interior is mainly given over to food, but there is a so-called bar area off to the right as you enter. Being a Vintage Inn, it is open-plan, but partitioned-up with old beams. There is a TV, showing the news and a few prints. I didn't eat, so headed to the 'bar' part. This of course is all done out like a National Trust room, with wood panel (some coffee and brown, too), tiled floor, brick fireplace, pewter tankards, comfy chairs, sofas and old pictures. The service was fine and the few in were eating. Beer; usual tap stuff with Peroni. On handpull there was Lancaster's Lemon Grass, Purity UBU and a reasonable Sunny Republic's Shark's Head. Not really my kind of environment for a drink, so I supped and left quickly. It is the kind of place you go to eat really - but a far better 'chain' than most and a place i would pop into for one.

On 18th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Hazel Herrin left this review about Red Lion

TEN OF US VISITED THE RED LION ALVECHURCH TONIGHT 10TH DEC FOOD WAS GREAT LOOKED AFTER VERY WELL BY ANNE MARIE THANK YOU ALL HAD A LOVELY EVENING. HAZEL HERRIN AND PARTY.

On 10th December 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Hazel Herrin left this review about Red Lion

ten friends visited the red lion tonight, lovely meal, a good time was had by all, cant wait to book our party in the the festive feasts.

On 18th September 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Hazel Herrin left this review about Red Lion

wonderful location, great food at reasonable prices, fab xmas day meals, best staff ever happy to please customers, lovely homely decor 10/10

On 17th September 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 1 pubs]