User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Palmerston, Carshalton

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
31 Mill Lane
Carshalton
SM5 2JY
Phone: 02086471222

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Palmerston

This place has been refurbished into a modern style pub, with a mainly younger crowd of burly builders sitting at the bar swilling lager on our Friday afternoon visit, who I have to say weren't very friendly. The young Irish barman, who was enthusiastic in his job, told us that he had one cask beer on, out of four pumps. This was Harveys Sussex, so we thought we'd give it a go. He had two pint glasses in his hands ready to start pouring, I wanted a pint and a half, so he presumed Mrs Ale wanted a pint, I suppose. Immediately, I saw the beer was so cloudy and hadn't been left to settle in the cellar. The barman was ok about it and agreed it was a bit hazy, so we did a sharp exit. If we hadn't have known better, he would have served it up, no problem.

On 28th November 2018 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Palmerston

Unfortunately shrouded in scaffolding with the innards being gutted on my visit a month ago , apparently for a refurb, now reopened as far as I'm aware.

On 13th June 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1357 recommendations about 1343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Palmerston

Impressively green painted exterior but little of note within, mainly old geezer blokes swapping tales of improbale 4 figure wagers in between bouts of effing and jeffing. Interior has two bars, overpainted wood and a feeling of having been far more cosy 5-10 years ago. One bit of survival was an old 1950s ‘Lord Palmerston’ wood topper above the bar. I entered to the smaller left hand side bar which only had a single pump of Doom Bar, so I ordered that, which had sea monsters floating in it. Made my way to the other bar (via the outside, there’s no internal link) to see that Harveys Sussex Best was also available – bah. Get the feeling it's on borrowed time.

On 1st July 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Lord Palmerston

This is an interesting back street boozer, a short walk from Carshalton train station, but well tucked away so that you're unlikely to stumble across it. The pub has two rooms - the compact public bar to the left is seemingly popular, but has very limited seating and some pretty bland decor, plus a dartboard and a couple of games machines. Conversely, the saloon bar to the right is very nicely furnished, including some smart banquettes, leather upholstered stools and a fine collection of branded jugs and tankards suspended from the exposed beams. A signed England rugby shirt and a 1991 Royal Ascot winning jockey jersey took pride of place in their frames on one of the walls. I spotted at least one TV screen, turned off on my visit and the radio played quietly in the background.
Ale choice was restricted to Harvey's Best (£3.00), Courage Best and Wells Bombareindeer. I had a bit of a wait to get served as the bar staff busied themselves with other tasks, and my Harvey's wasn't in the greatest condition - certainly served too cold for my liking. Posters advertised free soup for all customers Monday - Thursday after 18:00 and menus on the tables offered a range of standard pub grub.
I quite liked the saloon bar here, but I'm not sure the place has enough going for it to merit a return visit, especially given the stiff competition from places like the Sun, which is just up the road. Worth a look though.

On 7th December 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Lord Palmerston

This is still a two-room pub, retaining what appear to be numerous original features – bar counter, wood panelling etc. I'm a bit surprised it's not on the CAMRA inventory of London's heritage interiors. Anyway, the only real ales they had on were Courage Best and Bombardier. The Bombardier was not particularly good, but maybe I was just unlucky.

This is a really attractive, low-ceilinged pub. If they advertised it as a country pub in London they would not be too far from the truth. The furnishings were comfortable, and I received a warm welcome from the barmaid/landlady. I liked this pub a lot – it's the sort of off the beaten track local that appeals to me. Without a guest ale it's a very good pub (and I am giving them the benefit of the doubt regarding the iffy pint of Bombardier I had) but with one it would be an absolute gem.

On 10th September 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about Lord Palmerston

Prettily done out at the front with hanging baskets, somewhat belying the earthiness of the locals, no problem with that but the downpoint was the lack of beer - courage only, decent condition but I'm just not keen.

On 11th May 2008 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]