User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with hondo on the Pub Forum

Drum & Monkey, Glasgow Central, Glasgow

Pub added by Graham Mason
91 St Vincent Street
Glasgow
G2 5TF
Phone: 01412216636

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Danny O'Revey left this review about Drum & Monkey

Large central pub with catwalk like protruding bar. Nice but suffers a little for the central location

On 6th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Drum & Monkey

Opulent ex-bank with lots of marble columns and ornate ceilings, a central bar dispenses some well kept cask beers and the usual keg suspects. It’s a Nicholsons pub so up to the middling to high quality you’ll expect from one of theirs. Other notable feature:- two copper lager tanks on one wall (blocking a window).

On 16th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2169 recommendations about 2016 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Drum & Monkey

This place was packed when I arrived here on a Thursday evening. It's a bank conversion with an ornate interior as noted below.
There were six beers listed on a board which I didn't bother to make a full note of but one was from London in the form of By The Horns Stiff Upper Lip. I went for the St Austell Harpoon Skipper which although in good nick was a ridiculous £4.35.
I thought this was a typical Nicholson's rip off and certainly wouldn't return.
It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 18th May 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2146 recommendations about 2141 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Drum & Monkey

Large, attractive Nicholson’s pub with a prominent street corner location in what I presume is a former bank setting. You enter into a bare boarded room where you are immediately confronted by a marvellous peninsula bar with a dark wood counter decorated with an attractive relief panel front, simple pot shelf, mirrored bar back and impressive marble support pillar with a nice decorative capital. Similar pillars can be found throughout the rest of the pub, although most are round rather than the square one at the bar. These pillars support a high ceiling decorated with gold beams and ornate roses. Two raised seating areas straddle the entrance, including one which forms a rather snug little space. High tables and stools fill much of the area directly around the bar and most tables have glass tops, under which various displays of hops, malts, oats and the like have been displayed. To the left, there is an enormous fireplace which has sadly now been sealed off, whilst banquettes and chairs offer comfortable seating underneath nice panelled walls with marble slab uppers. The rear left leads you into a dining room, which I didn’t get around to exploring and there was a good soul and funk soundtrack playing quietly in the background throughout my stay.
The usual reliable Nicholson’s ale selection was available and included Inveralmond Lia Fail, Thornbridge Jaipur and The January Blues, Exmoor Gold, Roosters Citra and their own Nicholson’s Pale Ale. My pint of the Lia Fail was in good nick and very tasty and I noticed they also had a couple of ‘brewery-fresh’ tanks of Innis and Gunn beer racked up to the right-hand side of the room.
Like most Nicholson’s pubs, there are no real surprises here. You get a nicely restored interior with plenty of grandeur, a well-kept selection of ales and a smattering of corporate blandness which makes it, more often than not, worth spending a bit of time in. There are better pubs around the city for sure, but this is a good, solid fall-back option and well worth a look if on a crawl.

On 20th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2394 recommendations about 2394 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Drum & Monkey

One of our favorite pubs in the Nicholson chain pubs always worth a visit bit pricey but worth it

On 2nd February 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 122 recommendations about 122 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Paul McScotty left this review about Drum & Monkey

With is central location and closeness to Central station the Drum and Monkey has always been a popular pub. Located in a former bank the building has kept its classy look with nice wood floors, ornate pillars and panelling and a nice central type bar area - the bar has a lot of very nice seating and tables (including a dedicated food area at the back) and a good area near the bar where you can stand (and places to rest you pint )various strange / interesting objects are places on the walls / ledges that add to the ambience of the bar (not surprisingly including drums and err a monkey) The bar has a large selection of standard (and a few not so standard) beers, ciders (on tap and bottled) and spirits, most impressivly it has a truly popular and excellent supply of real alse ( that regularly change - checked their website for lists of what is on offer)from all over the UK , US etc I had a nice 1/2 pint of Orkney Dark Island for £2 - Prices are what you would expect for a centrally located pub - clientèle consist of regulars and a large influx of passing trade, tourists etc that all add to the atmosphere of the place - it also hassome really nice British (& US burger) traditioanl pub food as well - Most locals will have visited this pub alredy but maybe not many have been back since Nicholson's took it over (not that previous owners were bad) the changes have really been impressive - sometimes it can get a busy with passing trade and can be mobbed after a Scotland rugby or football match (no doubt sadly drowning our tears) but never any bother - The pub has its own website which is worth visiting. Staff are knowledgeable and friendly only issue I have is when busy it can be hard to get to the bar and be served.

On 2nd February 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 44 recommendations about 42 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Drum & Monkey

Substantial Nicholsons pub, housed in a former banking hall. 'U'-shaped bar with two raised seating areas and a dining room beyond. Some ornate decoration, such as the fine moulded ceiling. Semi-traditional furniture. Five real ales on handpump, including the ever-reliable Stewart 80/- (£3.30).

On 18th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5898 recommendations about 5898 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Drum & Monkey

Ornate Nicholson's pub with wooden flooring around a horseshoe shaped bar with tartan flooring on the raised seating areas and the more formal dining area at the rear. 5 real ales and food served. An oasis of calm amongst a plethora of wetherspoons pubs in the area on my visit. Toilets in the basement down a spiral staircase(disabled toilets on ground floor level). Live music advertised.

On 26th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2656 recommendations about 2600 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Drum & Monkey

Called in every day on our stay in Glasgow very good staff like all Nicholsons staff like there pubs in London there a must to call in and do the ale trial but only two in Glasgow

On 15th February 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Drum & Monkey

The architectural features Roger describes create an air of grandeur, while the not-too-loud soft jazz music combines with it to give the feel of a pleasant club where one can while away the evening in relative calm. Food was excellent, and the staff were very friendly whilst staying professional. There were 4 ales on - I had a pint of St Austell Trelawny which was in superb condition. Highly recommended for a crawl, a decent pub lunch or somewhere to enjoy a few beers in the evening.

On 23rd January 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2451 recommendations about 2429 pubs]

Page: 1 2