User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Victoria Inn, Richmond

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
78 Hill Rise
Richmond
TW10 6UB
Phone: 02089402531

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Victoria Inn

As previously noted, a very tiny and compact front room pub,None the worse for that though, it had a nice local ambiance and warmth inside as the temperature began to dip outside. The three beers on were of a pedestrian nature, Doom Bar , Young's Bitter and Thwaites Wainwright , the latter being in pretty good condition. It struck me as a nice place to stop for a pint.

On 29th December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1327 recommendations about 1313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Victoria Inn

Tiny quiet one roomed pub with 3 cask ales on Doombar and Wainwrights were 2 of them.Cosy place to have a quiet drink.

On 26th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Victoria Inn

Cosy compact and bijou 1 roomed pub. 3 real ales served. Originally a tobacconist shop.

On 2nd May 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tom Fairburn left this review about Victoria Inn

Ah, the VICTORIA INN:- the SMALLEST pub in Surrey...and probably anywhere...!! (Unless you know different!) Yes, it can seem a bit strange venturing into this 'room' straight from the street, and EVERYONE in the pub can see you entering...! Very strange (...at first, but you'll soon get the hang of it..!) The locals (and sometimes there's only 2 people in the place..!) usually make you feel at home straightaway. The bar is all of 8 feet long, and one of the smallest bars I've ever encountered. But 'Billy' behind the bar makes up for that, Billy's repartee & raconteurisms are good enough reason alone to visit this amazing drinking establishment! Billy's local, and musical knowledge will also amaze. Ask him who's that singing on the radio, or what song is that, and he is bound to inform you, every time! :o) Most afternoons its pretty empty in the 'VIC' but life does warm up some evenings & weekends! I met a chap here just the other day, with an American accent. He was from Texas (USA) and business had brought him over here (UK) and he'd moved to Richmond Hill, and he was trying out the local hostelries. Lucky blighter...he's got the 'VIC' as one of his local pubs...!! :o) TJ

On 20th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 59 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Victoria Inn

June 2011 - little to add to my previous review, but Hobgoblin in good form at £ 3.30p with Youngs Ordinary and Doom Bar also on. One of Richmond's better pubs, but it was desperately quiet last night ( Thursday ) and you do fear for this pub's future sometimes. I do hope it can keep going

May 2009 visit

Small, traditional, cosy, single bar pub near the bottom of Hill Rise, a road that climbs up towards the famous view over Petersham Meadows and then up to the Richmond Gate entrance to Richmond Park.

It's a bit like drinking in someone's sitting room. Conversation rules here - there's no distractions such as fruit machines or music.

There were 3 real ales on last week - Youngs Ordinary, London Pride and Hobgoblin. My London Pride was served in a Greene King glass with England Rugby branding and wasn't brilliant, but was acceptable. I don't think there's a lot of real ale trade.

The Victoria Inn is in the Enterprise Inns pubco stable, I think, although this is not indicated on the pub sign.

The pub has a small attractive garden and smoking area out at the back. The corridor to the garden is covered with posters of theatrical shows held over the years at the nearby Richmond Theatre.

The pub is slightly off the Richmond circuit, so it's unlikely to get the Budweiser boneheads on Friday and Saturday evenings.

It's worth considering if in the area, but, as it's only small, don't turn up mob-handed.
Report this for removal

On 24th June 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Victoria Inn

This is a positively tiny one-room pub that just must be a shop conversion, and which has the feeling of drinking in someone’s front room. I was in during early afternoon when there were just seven other punters – all local regulars it seems - in there, leaving just one table for me. It has a great 70s feel about it, with some cheap carpeting and small round beaten copper tables. The ale selection is as reported previously - Young’s Bitter, Doom Bar and Hobgoblin – but I didn’t see any sign of food or menus. The tiny outside garden is accessed through a door on the right, past the lavatories.
I found this to be a very and homely place to stop off for a quiet pint. I would be quite happy to drop in for another one sometime.

On 5th June 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Victoria Inn

A rather small single room, parlour style, with the bar on the end wall. The fireplace has a mirror over, and a high shelf runs around the room, containing various plates, jugs and so on. Wainscotting to the walls, a few old photos of the area and particularly the river. Carpeted, and upholstered banquettes around the front and one side wall. Tables are small, round and copper topped. There are also a couple of high stools at a drinking shelf. There is apparently a rear garden but I'm not sure how it is accessed, it might be up the stairs next to the bar (the pub is on a hill). There was a rather limited lunch menu advertised, simply chilli, chicken curry or veg lasagne, but stated to be home made and good value I'd say at between £4-£5. Sandwiches also available. A strange quirk was the frame containing a picture of the "Regular of the Month". The beer choice was Youngs Bitter, Doom Bar and Hobgoblin. It was pleasing to see the forthcoming "Cask Ale Week" being advertised. There is a TV over the bar in the corner, tuned to some radio channel, however this place doesn't strike me as a sports type of pub. It's friendly though and I was amused when an old couple by the door bade me farewell as I left.

On 18th March 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]