User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Blues Bar, Harrogate

Pub added by James Joines
4 Montpellier Parade
Harrogate
HG1 2TD

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about Blues Bar

Looks to be back on form after some dodgy periods over the last few years. Serving a changing range of four cask beers and music every night.

On 28th September 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2639 recommendations about 2404 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Blues Cafe & Bar

Cafe bar near park providing live music every evening. Large windows to the hill at the front, lots of music pronts/photos, cafe style chairs. 4 real ales.

On 9th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1353 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Blues Cafe & Bar

This is a popular live music venue overlooking the gardens in the swanky Montpellier Quarter of Harrogate. The bar has a simple single room set up, with a small servery squeezed into the rear left corner and a stage underneath the large front window, which means that performers end up silhouetted during daylight hours. I happened to arrive just as a lively twosome were about to strike up and the place was already packed, with even more fighting their way in once the performance got underway. The servery has a nice 'Blues Bar' painting on the canopy and loads of old gig poster spilling across the ceiling above. Seating is at an absolute premium, with benches down the left hand side and the odd table and chair dotted around elsewhere, but the place is geared up more for vertical drinking whilst watching a performance. The décor obviously has a music theme, with a large mural on the right hand wall next to a staircase which affords some elevated viewing space, and various artist portraits to the left, alongside a collection of drumsticks and some particularly fine retro gig posters. A wheelbarrow suspended from the ceiling was highly incongruous, but there is no doubt a good story to explain its presence. The live music obviously has a leaning towards blues, but the act I saw covered a range of genres and there was a cracking atmosphere which I reluctantly had to leave behind mid-way through in order to catch my train home.
Four handpulls were offering Ilkley Lotus IPA, Roosters Baby Faced Assassin, Saltaire American Nut Brown and York Minster Ale and my pint of the Roosters was in fine fettle, served to me by one of the friendly and well drilled bar staff who seemed to excel at serving people unable to quite make it through to the bar.
I had walked past this place a couple of times during my time in Harrogate and thought it looked a little flat when there was no act on, so I'm glad I timed my visit well by arriving just as the band went onstage. There was a friendly, good natured atmosphere, well kept beer and decent music, which suggests that many a good night could be enjoyed here.

On 18th June 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2813 recommendations about 2813 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Blues Cafe & Bar

We popped in on a Saturday afternoon, where we found some loud and overbearing -ossers standing along the small bar. They were also a bit reluctant to move, so we could see what ales were on handpump. These people seemed to be part of the regular 'in crowd', who frequent this place. There were four ales, so we went for the Roosters Yankee and Ossett Pale, both were not that great. This is a vertical drinker's pub, as there are only a couple of seats near the window. This bar is hot and stuffy and I didn't hear any Blues music piped through the speakers. I'd give it a miss next visit to Harrogate.

On 28th May 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3121 recommendations about 3121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Blues Cafe & Bar

A small live music bar that nonetheless has a decent ale range. Plenty of musical ephemera, including a large collection of drumsticks(!), plenty of black & white pics of musos past and present and a large blues musicians mural on one of the walls. For reasons unexplained, there’s a wheelbarrow stuck to the ceiling. Four ales on, forgot to note exactly what but my Saltaire Brown was in decent form. If you have an extended session in Harrogate, this one’s worth taking in.

On 1st April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4423 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Blues Cafe Bar

Called in for another quick one and the beer selection on the bar was very poor. Ilkley Joshua Jane and 3 from Greene King. Needless to say I had the Ilkley and also needless to say we only stayed for one. Not a great experience this time around, but I hope it's just a one off.

05/03/2011
Called in a quick one last week and ended up staying for the whole first set of the rather good Al Hughes. Had a a couple of pints of Rooster's Orange Blossom which was rather good as well. I like this place.

16/10/09
Tiny pub that still manages to have live bands on all the time, the stage takes up at least a third of the space in here. Has 4 handpumps serving changing guest beers, the two we tried were excellent. There's a fantastic sepia coloured mural on the wall picturing some of the Blues greats. It's a fine little pub with a friendly clientele and staff.

On 8th July 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3026 recommendations about 2941 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Glenn Hartwell left this review about The Blues Cafe Bar

Great pub! Some say small but it's just right for a great experience. Great live music, good pints and most of all a good crowd and great staff. You feel immediately at home by the friendly clientele and staff. Can't go wrong here.

On 1st September 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Blues Cafe Bar

A small, lively, music venue. It has three handpumps serving decent quality Black Sheep, Tetley Cask and Outlaw Stout plus the usual kegs available elsewhere in Harrogate. Beer doesn't really matter here as it's for music rather than a quiet drink that lots of people come here. It attracts a wide range of ages, genders and type of people. It is hot, dark and noisy in the evenings. Fairly plain décor with a wheelbarrow stuck to the ceiling.

On 31st December 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2639 recommendations about 2404 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Blues Cafe Bar

I did'nt like the look of this pub but i was advised to go here when in the previous pub i had visited.
Once inside here there was one smallish room with the bar at the back of the room and there were four real ales on the bar i had a drink of Abbeydale Alchemy which was a very nice drink there was also a beer called Daily Bread but i car'nt remember the brewery and there were two more micro beers on.
There was no music on as i was in here in the afternoon.

Pub visited 16/7/2007

On 16th July 2007 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]