User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Autumn 2019 Shrewsbury Crawl Dates and Venues with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Hop, Wakefield Central, Wakefield

Pub added by James Joines
19 Bank Street
Wakefield
WF1 1EH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about The Hop

Pretty decent modernish place that I was told is semi-owned by a musician of a band that I've forgotten. A plentiful choice of beers from about 9 handpulls was pleasing. An outside courtyard is available for all fresco drinking.

On 14th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3356 recommendations about 3272 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Hop

This is a conversion of an old factory or warehouse. It's been more than well described below. When I turned up late on a Saturday afternoon it was quite busy and had loud music blasting out. A lot of the clientele seemed to be shouty lager swilling blokes yelling at each other because of the din from the speakers. It was more like being in a night club than in a pub on a Saturday afternoon.
I didn't note all the beers as there were people propping the bar up and I just wanted to have a pint and get out of there. I went for one of several Ossett beers, Ecselsior (£3.40) which was in good nick.
It's not for me this place but at least the beer was OK and reasonably priced which saves it from a poor score. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 30th July 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2131 recommendations about 2126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Hop

A large, I'd guess recently converted, Osset boozer which felt slightly too new and slightly too lacking in atmosphere for me despite the live music on in the bar.
There's a lot of space here both inside and out and signs to the kebab shop. Don't be confused. If you follow the signs up the stairs you really will find an open kebab shop.
Beers were: Ossett Silver King, Excelsior and Yorkshire Blonde, Ilkley Summer, Milestone Black Pearl, Acorn Barnsley Bitter, Great Heck Apocolypse Now and Rat White Rat and Number of the Rat. A very decent selection and the White Rat was well kept and slid down easily.
Certainly worth a visit particularly on a sunny day and perhaps it'll age well.

On 3rd August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Hop

Ossett Brewery offering which now has the room to the right of the bar open and the back room shut. Not sure when this occurred but probably earlier this year. Good selection of ales and a pub I like to visit early evenings before any bands appear.

On 8th December 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1451 recommendations about 1449 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Hop

Quite a small pub compared to the other Hop bars I've been in, all of which are huge. To get to the door you have to walk through a small courtyard which was full of wooden benches. Quite a few people were sat out here as it was a pleasant day. Once inside the bar is facing you, to the left there's a stage. Nine handpumps on the bar including a real cider. My pint was in excellent nick and served by a friendly barman. It's a very good pub.

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2730 recommendations about 2658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Hop

A short dash across the car park from Harry's bar will find you here quite quickly. We entered the pub via a courtyard and once inside, we found a long room with undressed brick walls, flagstone floors and a mock Tudor bar with oak counter top. There were nine handpumps along the bar. We went for the Salamander Barefaced and White Rat Brewery White Rat, without hesitation, both beers were in top condition. The pub had a good atmosphere and the bar staff were friendly and helpful.

On 17th May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2859 recommendations about 2859 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Hop

Rather hidden away in a side street and quite basic inside (as you would expect from a live music venue with a small stage in one corner). Rear lounge and upstairs room (neither open when I visited). Also joined to The Jam Inn next door, with the connection open at weekends. Some patio seating out in the entrance courtyard. As an Ossett house, the nine handpumps feature four of their own beers (including Pridewood Progress, £2.60), two from Acorn and one each from Rat Brewery, 4T's and Whitstable.

On 8th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5735 recommendations about 5735 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Hop

The courtyard entrance was being monitored by doormen,but this was a hot Saturday night and as things transpired the pub interior was not as rammed as the outside seating.A band were setting up to one side of the tap room off the courtyard,and there was no sign of the promised coverage of the World Cup.However the friendly barmaid directed us to the rear of the building where there is a charming back lounge with it's own wood burner,away from the action,but with it's own bar access and some interesting features such as carved wood among the exposed brick.The whole of this pub's interior is surprisingly large and to one side is another bar area with a VW camper van converted to a freestanding bar with a single handpump.Another section exists upstairs.Ossett own the pub and three of their ales were on together with Rat White Rat,Acorn Gorlovka Imperial Stout,Partners Triple Hop,Saltaire Raspberry Blonde (tip top),Kirkstall Dissolution IPA and Fullers London Pride.A very impressive line up.
Although popular with the younger drinker,the discreet areas work well and the live music does not impinge on the other rooms to any great extend.Yet another Wakefield winner,I would certainly pop back if that ale line up is likely to be repeated in future.

On 16th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1994 recommendations about 1994 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Hop

The Hop is a relatively new multipurpose enterprise that operates as a live music and comedy venue, dance studio and, perhaps most importantly, real ale pub. Located at the end of a cobbled side street in a large Georgian building, the smart, modern interior initially feels a little incongruous, having not yet achieved that 'lived-in' look that might give it more character. The main bar is dominated by bare brick walls and has a mix of flagstone and wooden flooring. There are some banquettes opposite the bar counter on the right hand side of the room, with regular tables and chairs throughout the rest of the space. The left hand side of the room has a stage at the far end, underneath huge portraits of Johnny Rotten, Ian Curtis and Tom Waits - inspiration perhaps for the roster of local bands that play here most Friday and Saturday nights.
Heading out though the door between the stage and bar, a large portrait of the band 'Embrace' hangs in the corridor and acts as a reminder that the venue is partly the brainchild of the band's drummer, Mike Heaton. Stairs here lead up to the main venue, which has already hosted a good number of up and coming and well established acts in its short lifespan. For those arriving on a music night, but wanting a place of refuge, there is a rear room on the ground floor, with some banquette seating, a fireplace containing an old range and generally smart decor including a large circular mirror above the fireplace. Additional seating is also available in a fair sized courtyard at the front of the building.
The venue has been backed by Ossett Brewery, so there was no surprise to find a number of their beers on the bar - Yorkshire Blonde, Silver King, Excelsior and Riverhead Easy River Pale - but these were supplemented by a healthy guest selection of Oldershaw Blonde Voluptua, Burton Bridge Sovereign Gold, Fullers London Pride and Titanic Iceberg, with those sampled being in good condition.
This place seems an unlikely source of good beer, but there is no doubt that it's one of the town's top ale houses. It's refreshing to see a live music venue take such an interest in its beer policy and I can only hope they make a great success of it and that the model is taken up by other such venues around the country.

On 12th January 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2323 recommendations about 2323 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Hop

There's not much to add to the usual masterful reviews from the esteemed trio below, sadly no young female staff just an eclectic bunch of drinkers, a friendly barman and a roadie setting up for that night's music when I dropped in before catching a train from the station almost opposite. It is quite small in the front bar so I can well imagine that it can get rammed, not just for the music, comedy and Westgate Runners but those in search of a good pint of Ossett or one of the guests from the 9 pulls, it also does a couple of decent European beers. I'm not a great fan of exposed bricks and too new flag floors but I'll forgive Ossett their conversion style as it's usually well done by them and the beer's good giving it a justified place in the Good Beer Guide 2011.

On 28th November 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2106 recommendations about 1957 pubs]

Page: 1 2