User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with london calling on the Pub Forum

Shelverdine Goathouse, SE25

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
7-8 High Street
South Norwood
Postal town: SE25
SE25 6EP
Phone: 02086530678

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Shelverdine Goathouse

They seem to be maintaining the good ale selection here, unlike one or two other Antic pubs I've visited that seem to be slipping down a bit in that respect. This one had on a couple of Volden ales of course - Session Ale and Summer Ale (£1.80 a half), plus Manchester Summer Extra Pale and one other (couldn't read my notes!), as well as a couple of draught ciders. The kitchen's now up and running (opens at 18.00 during the week), but I was in too early to see a menu.

As usual with an Antic pub this one has plenty of quirky features. The exposed brickwork is there in abundance, ugly ducting on the ceiling, and although the furniture's mismatched it does look a bit better quality than is usually the case with Antic. The pub looks to be occupying the space of three former shops, with the three drinking areas it now comprises all being at slightly different levels. The bar's in the middle area so one needs to watch ones feet if carrying drinks between them. There's some shelving between a couple of the areas bearing books and other stuff, a framed display of household implements on one wall in the left hand room as well another display of china cups and the like. The room on the right in which I sat had a display of collars and purses on one wall. It's all very Antic.

One really good plus point was the concertina windows that were fully open on a hot July day - shame about the busy main road outside. It's definitely the best pub for beer in South Norwood, although it has to be said that there's little serious competition. I would be delighted to visit this one again.

On 23rd July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2573 recommendations about 2491 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Shelverdine Goathouse

Not been into the former William Stanley for nearly five years, but the standard Wetherspoon interior has been stripped right out and replaced by the sort semi-shabby eclectic mix of furniture and decor you would expect from Antic. I found five of six handpumps on, with a couple of Volden beers selection of other - mostly local - real ales, e.g. Battersea Brownstone (£4.00, and in good form, but a great deal more than what the previous owners would have charged). I also managed to mis-time my visit to coincide with the lead up to a Palace home game so had to put up with a polycarbonate 'glass', but the atmosphere was noisy yet good natured.

On 5th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5968 recommendations about 5968 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Shelverdine Goathouse

UPDATE March 2012 as The William Stanley.
There are two ranks of four handpumps here,the ones visible as you enter the pub normally contain the interesting guest beers.The second bank of pumps is hidden off to the left and that is sensibly where the Abbott,Ruddles Bitter and ciders lurk.On match days this is the "away friendly" pub so your best option if visiting the mighty Palace.Despite the plastic mugs ,beer quality here is usually good these days.
ORIGINAL REVIEW Feb 2010 as The William Stanley
One of the smallest spoons with a limited ale range but two guests normally available which included on our visit Arkells Kingsdown which was well kept.There are seating areas either side of the front entrance and the decor is typical of the chain.On Palace matchdays drinks are served in plastic mugs but this is not the kind of pub where it will kick off.By 6pm the plastic policy was relaxed.One of the better of a poor selection of pubs in South Norwood.

UPDATE
My first visit under the ownership of Antic and pleasantly surprised.PSM has done an accurate review of the changed interior,to the right there is now a red velour wall hugging banquette which gives lots of seating options.The ale range is now from 6 handpumps with two Voldens (Session and Pale) being regulars together with Belleville Battersea Brownstone,Dark Star Sunburst (decent £4) and Arbor Yakima IPA 7% on offer on my visit, with one clip reversed.An interesting range,although obviously more pricey than the 'spoons days while the keg offerings seemed quite mainstream.
I was in prematch so all drinks served in plastic mugs but of a more pleasing type than you often get.The pub is now firmly Palace fans only,unlike the William Stanley which was away fan friendly.It was busy as you might expect but if you just happened to be in South Norwood looking for a decent pint of real ale,this is probably your best option.No sign of food ,however,but that may have been another prematch issue.

On 30th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2049 recommendations about 2049 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Shelverdine Goathouse

This former Wetherspoons branch has since been acquired by the Antic pub company who reopened the venue in late September 2016. The pub's rather clunky name is composed from a former name for the local area (Shelverdine) and that of a long-since closed local pub (The Goat House). Wetherspoons left behind a sizeable premises which Antic have split into three distinct sections, with the bar in the middle of the three and seating areas to the left and right. The pub is bare boarded throughout and has lots of typical Antic-style rough exposed brickwork, floral wallpaper and unmade plaster walls. The bar is along the rear wall under a large portrait of the Queen and some ugly exposed ventilation shafts, whilst the partitioning wall to the left is so striped back that you can see the various metal lintels and girders that support the wall and frame the windows and arches within it. Seating was limited to just a couple of tables, with the ample standing room tested to the max on my opening night visit, whilst the decor includes a large chandelier, some tacky old clocks, fancy lamps and delft-style plates. A couple of steps lead down to the right hand room where a load of the usual mis-matched Antic seating has been arranged alongside an upright piano, shelves full of figurines, framed purses and shirt collars, retro portraits and a variety of mirrors. Meanwhile, on the left hand side there is a nice tile effect wall, a rather pointless short stretch of servery, some comfy looking padded bench booths along the end wall and a few more regular tables through the rest of the space. This side of the partitioning wall is even uglier than the other, with plastic pipes visible amongst the broken plaster and crumbling brickwork. The access to the kitchen was blocked on this visit, with plans to open it late in October, but the wall above the kitchen door was decorated with various saucepans, soda dispensers, tankards, figurines and the like whilst a nearby shelving unit held teacups, mustard pots, Toby jugs and other glass and ceramic pieces. Music played in the background, but this was lost under the din of a packed first night, including lots of young children and a fair few dogs. One drawback was the toilets, which were a long hike downstairs, although this trek was brightened up somewhat by a corridor lined with various goat-themed posters.
The ale was flying out on such a busy night and there was a good range to pick from, comprising Volden Session Ale and Pale, Arbor Limelight, Signature Brew Red Wedge, Thornbridge Jaipur and Gipsy Hill Southpaw. I tried the Southpaw and Red Wedge, both in fine shape and served by a friendly team who didn't appear to be struggling with the heaving crowds at the bar.
It's not the easiest to judge a pub on its opening night, but I thought this looked like one of Antic's better pubs. Putting aside the irritating half-finished interior design, I thought there were a number of comfortable spots to enjoy some well kept beer. Most importantly, the pub's opening represents a real shot in the arm for an area that has suffered badly from pub closures and neglect. Once the food and regular events get underway, this will be a great asset for the local community and I expect to see it flourish over time.

Original Review:
15th April 2010 (as The William Stanley)
This is indeed a very small Wetherspoons pub close to Norwood Junction train station.
A short bar houses eight hand pumps - four serving standard 'Spoons offerings, whilst the remainder had four ales from the current festival. I tried a pint of Fremlins, which seemed to be in good shape.
The seating to the rear of the pub is in a bit of a gloomy recess, but the front of the pub is very light and the attractive frontage allows large windows to swing open into the High Street, giving you ample opportunity for people watching.
The pub was showing live FA Cup football with the sound on, but not intrusively so, whilst a section to the rear of the bar housed a popular dartboard.

On 16th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2402 recommendations about 2402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The William Stanley (JD Wetherspoon)

Reported to be closing later in the month having been sold to Antic.

Visit October 2013

This is a small and frankly unimpressive Spoons. Of the eight pumps four were taken by GK Abbot and Ruddles and one by Otter Orchard leaving just three festival ales. I went for the Thwaites Elysian Avatar Jasmine IPA (£2.15)which was in reasonable nick.

On 7th March 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The William Stanley (JD Wetherspoon)

A small and very unimpressive Wetherspoon's. The pub seems to be run down and there were very few guest beers on tap. Best to stay on the train and get off at the next stop.

On 6th February 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2040 recommendations about 2021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The William Stanley (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a typical Spoons with the usual array of ales, standard draught products and clientele.

The barman was polite and on the ball, but I found this to be very run-of-the-mill.

On 11th November 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3568 recommendations about 3547 pubs]