User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Grape and Grain, Crystal Palace, SE19

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
2 Anerley Hill
SE19
SE19 2AA

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Grape and Grain

The Grape and Grain is a decent looking pub that is situated on the corner of a very busy road junction.
Once inside there is a long oblong shaped room which runs the width of the pub,the bar faces on entry,the seating is normal tables and chairs and bench seating.
There was a good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Gipsy Hill Beatnik which was a nice drink,the other beers noted was one more from Gipsy Hill brewery,Hogs Back TEA,Box Steam Piston Broke,Compass Baltic Night and Slaters Western.
The pub was very busy on my late Saturday afternoon visit.
I thought this was a decent pub to end my crawl of this area of South London.

Pub visited 16/4/2016

On 30th May 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Grape and Grain

Surly service last week and camra discount discontinued. £4.10 for a 4.3%abv beer? This is Upper Norwood, not the West End!!
Looks like the improvement departed with the recently exited incumbents.
Pity...

On 19th September 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Grape and Grain

Situated on a chaotically busy junction opposite Crystal Palace Park, this is a long and fairly narrow knocked through space which still manages to feel like four areas. One end has some decent wood panelling, a feature fireplace with a mirror over and comfortable seating, the opposite end has a raised area that is used when needed as a stage and the middle two spaces, divided by pillars, are in front of the bar counter. There is a polished boarded floor, a mix of seating including some leather chairs and sofas.
The beer is the star here though, no less than twelve handpumps, eleven of which were in operation yesterday afternoon. Lambeth Walk Dark Porter, RCH Pitchfork, Moorhouse Pendle Witches Brew, Adnams Broadside, Clarence and Fredericks Golden ale and Special Bitter, London Fields Brewery Chocolate Porter, Hogs Back TEA, Alton fff Moondance, Rudgate Fenrirs Bite plus Old Rosie cider. A good range of styles there with something for everyone. 50p off a pint for CAMRA cardholders too. Food is served, looks decent value with all pub grub type mains at £9.95, sarnies etc around £4. Bar snacks like pork pies, sausage rolls, olives and so on advertised on a chalkboard. Décor is pretty much limited to the countless beer mats of previous offerings which snake around the room covering a variety of surfaces, there is a TV, it was off despite the 6 Nations being on so unsure if any sport is shown, maybe its just not a rugby pub. Quiz night on Thursdays, live acts advertised including the Sydenham Blues Club, swing and jazz. There is outdoor seating to the frontage if you enjoy watching traffic. Disabled WC. This is a fine pub with a superb selection of beers and the welcome and service were friendly with tasters offered and an enquiry if I carried a CAMRA card. Good stuff.

On 23rd February 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Grape and Grain

Looking at this place on approaching it from the Westow House across the road I wondered if it was ever an original pub but my old SE London beer guide told me that it was once the Sportsman selling Younger's beers.
There is a front patio overlooking the main road through Crystal Palace and inside it's a large open room with the bar in front of you and a mixture of sofas, tables and chairs. The music system was playing Led Zep's Stairway to Heaven as I entered, which made it a shame that there was not one of the beers named after that track on tap.
The twelve pumps were all in use with Old Rosie Cider on one and just one mainsstream beer Adnam's Broadside. Apart from Orkney Dark Island the other beers were all from South East micros. I went for the Clarence & Frederick's Strong Mild which was in decent nick but at £3.90 a bit on the expensive side. Luckily I qualified for the 50p a pint CAMRA discount. I would return here as it's handy having two GBG listed pubs so close together (The Westow House is diagonally opposite) plus the fact that the Overground makes it reasonably accessible from North of the river,

On 7th December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Grape and Grain

good selection of real ales but the 2 I tried were a bit cold.Nice enough pub.

On 15th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Grape and Grain

Large open plan pub with up to 10 real ales and 2 ciders on tap.

On 15th February 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about The Grape and Grain

Looking forward to another Beer Festival here, next weekend, 5th - 8th Oct. They are always well organised, well attended, and great fun.
60+ ales and ciders again !!!

On 29th September 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about The Grape and Grain

I,m still loving this pub, no less than 15 ales and ciders on tap/gravity last weekend, packed to the rafters after the Athletics across the road, but still got served straight away ! More than you can say about many pubs. The Salopian Hop Twister was fantastic as was the Hadrian & Borders Grainger Ale. Top Marks again !

On 18th July 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about The Grape and Grain

Just heard from the landlord that he's having another Beer Festival, 2nd - 5th March, and he's having 60 ales and ciders on!!! Can't wait.

On 20th December 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about The Grape and Grain

Popped in again at the weekend, fantastic selection again, particularly enjoyed the Kent Brewery Pale Ale as well as the East London Foundation, this is a real gem of a pub lighting the way of real ale in South London. Incidentally the landlord informs me that they are having another four handpumps installed before Xmas taking them up to 12 handpulls and two on gravity. Heaven !!!

On 9th December 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]

Page: 1 2