User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

The Northcote, SW11

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
2 Northcote Road
SW11
SW11 1NT
Phone: 02072235378

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


hondo . left this review about The Northcote

Young’s pub with a nice exterior and an open plan interior.

On 10th October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2670 recommendations about 2613 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Northcote

It's not a bad place, lots of seating available. But is expensive, a pint of Twickenham Grandstand ale at 3.8 strength costs £4.50. The bar clip says it's a good session ale and perhaps it is, but not at these prices. Update. Just came in for a pint of Blindside, 4.3%. It costs £5.00. Never again. My rating will change.

On 10th December 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Northcote

Corner pub with a reasonable mix of modern and traditional in terms of decor, as you would expect from a Geronimo Inn, but the furniture is rather crammed in which makes getting to the bar quite tricky when busy. Also has the Club Room bar upstairs (closed off for a private function when I visited). Narrow patio area along one side. Four real ales on handpump: Doom Bar, Cronx G:20 Pale Ale, The Mayor of Garratt from By the Horns (£4.10) and Inkspot EIPA.

On 3rd May 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5940 recommendations about 5940 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Northcote

A loud noisy and very busy, barn of a pub. wasn't overly impressed with the beers on offer,Trueman Runner being the best option.This pub didn't do it for me and not likely to try again.

On 1st March 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Northcote

Very busy and noisy pub.Good selection of beer 3 on handpump.My pint of Sambrookes Red rye was very good.I will call again.

On 19th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 923 recommendations about 910 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Northcote

I’ve had a pint in the Northcote on the last couple of Friday afternoons when this pub has been popular with the after work crowd. On both occasions I was promptly served a short measure that set me back just under £4. There is a standard and premium draught selection and the three hand pumps were drawing Youngs’ Ordinary, Sharps’ Doom Bar and Croydon based Cronx Brewery’s Kotchin. There is a gastro menu that is available from midday until 15:00 and 18:00 until 22:00.
The bar is located on the right hand wall and there is limited standing room around it. The furniture is packed in to the left and front of the pub which allows little room for manoeuvring. There are a couple of plasma screens and the one to the right of the bar was showing muted Wimbledon tennis.
The toilets are located upstairs where there is a ‘Club Room’ with its own bar that is available for hire.

I find this pub to be very uncomfortable and a bit up itself, much like some of the clientele who seem to struggle with basic courtesy. Being in a prominent position on the corner of Northcote Road it is a good meeting point, but I wouldn’t stay for more than a pint.

On 2nd July 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3556 recommendations about 3535 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Northcote

The Northcote is one of those pubs that try so hard to be hip that it almost becomes off-putting. The single room, street corner pub is just a few minutes walk from Clapham Junction station. The servery runs along most of the back wall with a wooden floored area directly opposite which has been filled with several high tables and stools. In the middle of the room some low partitioning walls and shelves filled with various unrelated objects help to break up the large space. There is a carpeted area beyond which has mainly got a lot of standard tables and chairs. One of the corner windows has some etched glass remaining in it and there are cafe style folding doors at the front which give access to a small number of pavement tables. The front wall also has a large fireplace, above which hangs a picture of the Duke of Wellington getting a custard pie in his face which probably makes sense to someone. Music was playing loudly throughout my midweek evening visit and the place was full of young trendy types, so I sat in the dark corner near the end of the bar where a few old board games were stacked up on the window sill.
Four ales were available at the bar in the shape of Sharp’s Doom Bar, Sambrook’s Junction and Adnam’s Ghost Ship (£3.65) and Broadside. The Ghost Ship is usually a favourite of mine but it was certainly off form here, although still drinkable. Food seems to be readily available, although I don’t remember seeing anyone eating. Daily specials were listed on a board behind the bar.
This place turned out to be marginally better than I expected when I first walked in and with a little more care taken over their beer, I think it would be worthy of more regular investigation. It’s still annoyingly trendy but there is just about enough going on here to distract from that and make it a viable alternative should you fancy a change from some of the areas better pubs.

On 7th August 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2402 recommendations about 2402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Northcote

This pub has had an upmarket makeover since it’s been taken over by Geronimo Inns. The larger part of the single room has an unusual rope/string carpet on the floor, with the area nearest to the bar counter being bare-boarded. It has the usual mix of furnishings – high tables/stools; sofas/armchairs with a low table; and unusually some old school (literally) chairs, plus normal tables including some ancient looking solid wooden affairs. There are jars of pickled eggs and onions on the bar counter, and on top of a screen cum partition in the middle of the room I spotted some more large jars, presumably as a decoration, containing dried chillies and some other dried fruit that I didn’t recognise. There were only a couple of things in the way of decor worth mentioning – some old, and perhaps iconic, LP sleeves mounted on the wall on the left, and a parody of a portrait (looked a bit like Goya’s Duke of Wellington, although I wouldn’t swear to it and the staff didn’t know), with a custard pie in his face. Most odd – make up your own mind, as I’ve uploaded a picture of it. There was the inevitable TV screen high up on one of the walls, but switched off, and some laid back music being played, but not too loudly.
There were four ales on – Sharp’s Doom Bar and Cornish Coaster, Hogsback Summer Ale; and Adnam’s Broadside. The Cornish Coaster was pretty good, albeit at £3.30 a pint, and the barman didn’t make any effort to serve a full pint, leaving a good half- inch plus of froth on the top. I was given the choice of a straight glass or jug though. The food menu was a single sheet of paper , and contained nothing that could be described as simple pub grub. I had a steak and onion sandwich – at £8, or £9.50 with a decent portion of fries. This is not usually my sort of pub, but I thought this one was OK, and I actually preferred it to its somewhat downmarket predecessor.

On 20th August 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2573 recommendations about 2491 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Northcote

Been taken over by Geronimo Inns

On 14th July 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]