User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Reliance, Leeds

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
76-78 North Street
Leeds
LS2 7PN
Phone: 01132956060

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Reliance

Perhaps more of a café feel to the main corner bar than anything else, helped by the full-height windows on both edges. A door labelled 'Wine Shop' off to one side leads to a lounge (with the bottles actually displayed on shelves on each side of the opening) and a larger dining room can be found up a few steps at the back. Five handpumps on the counter, offering the 'house' (Acorn) Best Bitter (£3.10), two from Sunbeam - Foggy Morning and Winter Special - Roosters Buckeye and a Pure North cider.

On 16th February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Reliance

One room place with bar to rear. Decent selection of ales on offer. Quite full on Saturday afternoon.

On 25th September 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about The Reliance

Called in this bar having not Been in for quite a few years and the place has gone down hill I ordered a pint of Reliance best bitter and bottle of Jupiler beer £6.90 and the beer was in poor condition

On 12th February 2017 - rating: 2
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Reliance

I agree with previous reviewers: "shabby chic", "this is how a modern style bar should be", "good pub, would return here". A pleasant contrast to the more recently established Brunswick, the Reliance has the atmosphere and character that perhaps having a few years under its belt has given it. The building is more impressive, too, which probably helps. The beer is well kept (a Good Beer Guide listing for 2008 - I don't know why it has been dropped) and we enjoyed our visit here.

Date of visit: 23rd November 2015

On 13th January 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2625 recommendations about 2475 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Reliance

We also really liked this modern continental style pub. The staff were welcoming and chatty and the prices in here were reasonable unlike the Belgrave, over the flyover. There were four ales on handpump, two ciders and eight draught keg. We went for the Siren Dinner For Four and the Roosters Wild Mule, both were in good shape. The pub has an impressive wall of exterior windows, up to 12 ft in height and a curved window at the main entrance. Good pub, would return here.

On 10th June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Reliance

Called in here on Saturday night and was impressed with the menu so we ate here. The bar is as OB describes below, so I won't add to it. The Reliance badged beer is definitely Acorn Barnsley Bitter. I asked, they said yes it was, but not to tell anyone, so I haven't :-)) Very good it was too. The food was good as well. I had Wood Pigeon Breast on Red Cabbage and Mutton Shoulder on minted potatoes. The other half had garlic Mushrooms on Brioche and Pork Belly with Sweet Potato. A couple of pints and a couple of red wines and it was just over £40, very good value. All the staff were smart, attentive and efficient. This is how a modern style bar should be!! Pretty impressed all round.

On 31st January 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2848 recommendations about 2769 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Reliance

A modern shabby chic bar on the northern edge of the city centre. The interior is in a cafe style as to some extent is the service. Comprising three rooms, the first square room is where the bar counter is , with a room up a short flight of stair behind that with a food counter and to the right is a narrow sitting room all with bare boards. The furniture is a mix of styles and types ranging from battered sofas and armchairs in the sitting room to low stools via rough kitchen tables and benches. Décor comes from a mix of modern and old art work, some for sale I believe, old photos and some framed pump clips. There are three handpumps, one dedicated to cider, the others having a guest from Salamander and the house beer “Reliance Best Bitter” which is brewed by Acorn of Barnsley and is probably the splendid Barnsley Bitter, it was certainly in good condition here if a little cold. The room itself was also cold probably not helped by the large clear glass windows that make up two walls of the main room, not a day for sitting at the outside tables either. The handpumps are supplemented by a range of decent European keg beers from the higher quality end of the market, there is a fair amount of wine and food and coffee also play an important part here. The punters were a reasonable lunchtime mix of modern metrosexuals, shopping couples and a couple of old blokes although the atmosphere was rather subdued. Not a bad place if you fancy a change from traditional pubs it also has five years of GBG entries behind it.

On 29th December 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]