User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with london calling on the Pub Forum

Bridge Hotel, Newcastle Central, Newcastle Upon Tyne

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Castle Garth
Newcastle Upon Tyne
NE1 1RQ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Bridge Hotel

close to pub perfection, a stunning interior of several areas sectioned off with wood panelling. 9 ales on , had a fine pint of White Rat. basically a must visit if in Newcastle- i must make it back for a Monday folk club session at some point - it’s the pub that once inspired Luke Kelly after all.

On 11th March 2020 - rating: 10
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Bridge Hotel

Blessed with a pleasant location next to the castle and high level bridge, overlooking the Tyne, this is a smart pub from the Fitzgerald chain. You enter through a lovely glazed tiled porch with some modern 'Fitzgerald' panes in the windows. The main bar area sees a dark wood servery along the left hand wall with a marble counter and a beautiful part tiled, part mirrored bar back. The front windows have some brilliant stained glass inserts at the top, each depicting an image of a ship, sailing boat or other such slice of riverside life, and they looked especially good with the late afternoon sun lighting them up. Opposite the bar there is a partially screened side room which has been fitted with lovely dark wood panels, a fine stained glass riverside scene and a good deal of comfortable lounge-style seating. A TV in here and others in the bar area and to the rear were showing muted live football coverage. The rear part of the room is split level and has a mix of standard and tub chairs complimenting sturdy banquettes. The space is carpeted and has a library to one side full of dusty old books either side of a display cabinet and underneath a shelf displaying some spectacular items of glassware. The rear windows have their own stained glass inserts, this time depicting scenes of local industry. Some stairs at the rear lead down to a small rear patio garden, sheltered from the sun and offering restricted views of the river.
The Fitzgerald chain seem to be able to offer a wide ale selection whilst maintaining high standards in beer quality and this winning formula continued here. Options on the handpulls were Sharps Doom Bar, Errant Tusk, North Riding Chinook APA, Hog's Back Citra, Brinkburn Street Pursuit of Hoppiness, Bad Co Satisfaction, Anarchy Blonde Star and Three Kings Castle, with two pumps unused. This was supplemented by a good keg range mixing well known brands with some interesting small batch brews. My pint of the Pursuit of Hoppiness was excellent and certainly hoppy enough to live up to its name.
This is another winner from one of my favourite pub chains. I found it very easy to relax here and was content to settle down for a long session, but unfortunately needed to move off after just the one pint. A real highlight in a city full of great pubs and one I've earmarked for a return visit.

On 18th September 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Bridge Hotel

Lovely historic building just tucked under the side of the Get Carter bridge. Carved dark wood abounds inside, as well as stained and leaded glass, plush bench seating and lovely ceiling cornices. A couple of darker seating areas as you enter, bar beyond here to left leading to a lighter raised rear area with views of the old city wall, though sadly the Tyne Bridge is obscured by trees. Apparently there’s a rear beer terrace for views but I didn’t spot it. The muted TV showing chart music was somewhat out of place whilst another was showing Sky Sports News. Live music advertised. Eleven ales at the bar, my Three kings Supermac was in good shape. The manager was friendly and more than happy to let a wally like me take photos of the inside. Probably my favourite pub crawled in central Newcastle that day, an absolute must-visit.

On 6th July 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


very wellinformed left this review about Bridge Hotel

Fab unpretentious pub with excellent views of the High Level and Tyne bridges. I sat outside quaffing a delightful pint of Salopian Lemon Dream enjoying the sun, (yes it does come out occasionally in Newcastle) pretending to work. Great way to skive off !!

On 29th September 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 30 recommendations about 19 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Bridge Hotel

The Bridge has been opened out since my regular visits over 25 years ago however the layout still has the feel of a few different areas. Carpeted, mostly regular style tables and chairs but with a couple of high tables in the bar area, the pub has an attractive dark wood bar, windows are leaded with stained glass top lights depicting local scenes, bridges, the castle etc. There are bookshelves in a recess, decor includes old plans and drawings of the building, stone jars, a nice painting of the pub on the stairs to the terrace and also some unusual iron sculptures. There is a large feature fireplace with a mirror over in the area opposite the bar.
The pub is perched high above the River Tyne and affords some excellent views, particularly from the stone walled outside terrace.
The bar is continuous along the back wall and sports nine handpumps. Deuchers is served from a font, the handpulled beers were Hadrian and Border High Level Bitter, Black Sheep Bitter, plus guests Salopian Lemon Dream, SWB Shackled, Hop Back Crop Circle, Castle Rock Black Gold and three from Magic Rock, Rapture, Curious and Highwire. I tried three halves in here and all were spot on.
There is a TV for sport, meals are served, although I didn't see a menu but the Sunday roasts looked good and popular.
A welcome revisit after a long time, hopefully I won't leave it so long again.

On 4th September 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Bridge Hotel

Another superb pub with a bar full of real ales deserving its place in the 2010 Good Beer Guide. Enjoyed Yorkshire Dales Nappa Scar and Mallinsons Emley Moor Mild. One of the better pubs with different seating areas.
Above was in March 2010, and we have been back a couple of times when in the area as it is one where you can be sure of a variety of decent real ales. We enjoyed beers from George n Porter brewery and an excellent Voodoo Chilli Stout from Brew Company. Food was good here too. In the 2012 Good Beer Guide.

On 29th August 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Bridge Hotel

Excellent city centre pub with up to 10 real ales.

On 21st December 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2756 recommendations about 2699 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Bridge Hotel

One of the Fitzgerald group, very large comfortable pub and jolly atmosphere. Very smart inside and well worth my visit. If you take a left out the Crown Posada, you will come across some sandstone steps, bit of a climb to the top of the bridge take a left and pub is facing you. Excellent view of the Tyne Bridge and the quayside.
Reals ales, there are 3 regs and 7 guest. Had to try them all, Elland Brewery Lockkeeper, Keswick Thirst Pitch, Cumberland Corby Ale, Winster Valley Old School, Brentwood Gold, Elgoods Thin Ice, Arran Fireside and Moordue IPA. Will defo return.

On 20th April 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Bridge Hotel

Superb pub set high up next to the bridge. ALways make a visit here when in Newcastle. I am sure I have seen them serving Sunday lunches in here.

On 20th August 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Bridge Hotel

Superb historic beer house, by end of High Level Bridge. Lots of woodwork, stained glass etc, but the range of 10 or so handpumps (plus similar number of keg taps) is most impressive. Has live music some nights.

On 24th June 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2270 recommendations about 2217 pubs]

Page: 1 2