User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Rose & Crown, Wimbledon Village, SW19

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
55 High Street
SW19
SW19 5BA
Phone: 02089474713

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Rose & Crown

Central island bar with a traditional interior. 5 real ales on.

On 31st October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2742 recommendations about 2685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Rose & Crown

Despite being largely a boutique hotel, the bar remains very traditionally pub-like. There is an island bar with a stone floor one side and wood the other, with a couple of nice fireplaces and a comfortable feel. The restaurant and hotel area is off to the rear/side. Beers from Young's and well kept.

On 18th December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2269 recommendations about 2217 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Rose and Crown

Number 5 on the Wimbledon 8 and although this was a nice enough place, there's little here to make it last longer in the memory.

Youngs Special. Again. £2.10 per half. Call the monopolies commission, there is price fixing here.

Some photos at my walking blog - http://bit.ly/1Tf0AGO

On 15th May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 697 recommendations about 691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Rose and Crown

An old pub with a central bar surround by several separate drinking/eating areas but I would say with a bias toward food nowadays,having said that there are three handpumps on three separate sides of the bar so a total of nine,being a Youngs pub they were all from the Wells and Youngs Stable and some were repeated. I opted for Youngs Humming Bird and was pleasantly surprised how good it was not being a fan of this brewer in the modern day,I was also slightly taken aback a little at the price tag of £4.04 a pint,I stuck with the one.Not a bad pub but more hotel than boozer.

On 12th July 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1356 recommendations about 1342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Rose and Crown

This is Wimbledon’s oldest pub, dating back to the 1650s. It was originally named the “Sign of the Rose”, with the “Crown” being added after the Restoration of 1660. In the 19th Century it was the regular haunt of literary luminaries such as Thackeray, Swinburne, et al. It has been a Young’s house since 1860, and when I was in there the other day as well as the usual range, they also had on Butcombe Bitter and the rarely seen Ramrod on handpump. I reckon Ramrod is the best ale in the Young’s stable, at a meaty 5.0% ABV. They do food of course, but the menu is not pub grub – snacks and starters are around £6 - £7, and mains around the £10 - £12 mark. However I did spot a small advert on a mantelpiece for sausage rolls (£1.95) and pork pies (£4).
The flooring is a mix of bare boards and flagstones, and furnishings a mix of normal tables, chairs and stools, plus a few armchairs and sofas in a room at the back. Even with the Spartan flagstones it retains a plush feel for some reason – I guess the rich dark colours go a long way toward achieving this. There are some interesting features as well – a pillar cum lamppost in the area to the left of the bar, with the Rose & Crown motif depicted in leaded lights at the top, plus above the fireplace on the left are the 12 plates of Hogarth’s Industrious/Idle Prentice displayed. As the R&C also provides accommodation there are a few signs of a hotel reception around the place, so in no way can this be regarded as the traditional boozer it once was, but there are many worse Young’s pubs around. I’ll no doubt drop in for another pint at some time.

On 16th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Rose and Crown

Historic coaching house in the heart of the village end of Wimbledon, and a now rather well heeled upmarket pub with accommodation attached. It's Youngs as is the norm around here, well kept though, Ordinary Bitter, Special, Winter Warmer and Charles Well's Bombardier on today. Sadly no guests.
Despite its upmarket ambience it was rather pleasing to note on arrival that although the lone barman was busy serving another group, he acknowledged me straightaway with a nod and a "Be with you shortly". Good manners and pleasing as it's rare these days.
The main and original room at the front has a central dark wood polished island bar, stone flagged floor and had a proper real fire going. Some wood panelling and a series of old cartoon drawings about "London Apprentices".
The rear area is more modern, with exposed roof rafters and a wooden floor and a bit of a conservatory feel. A rear outside terrace extends beyond.
Lots of old photos of the locality provide interest, and the rear corridor behind the bar contains a series of old tennis pictures, reflecting the area. The same corridor contains a fruit machine...I'm a 70's starter, doubt it shows any fruit TBH.....at least it is out of the way.
Not a bad pub and good beer, however there is a bit of a feel that you are visiting a posh aunt and sitting on the wrong chair.

On 5th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Rose and Crown

The Rose and Crown is an attractive old pub which proudly displays a blue plaque outside declaring it the Evening Standard Pub of the Year in 1970. A lot has changed since then, not least Youngs moving out of London and modernising most of their boozers internally to the chagrin of some older patrons. This is probably my favourite pub in Wimbledon, and even though its a fair walk away it counts as my local. Three Youngs ales plus Bombardier and Tribute are kept in good condition and the place is always pleasantly busy without being packed out, although I'm told come Tennis season you can barely move. I'm not surprised - its a pretty good drinking hole.

On 16th December 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Rose and Crown

The Rose and Crown is a large and nice looking old pub in what people in these parts call Wimbledon village.
Once inside i went in a very nice plush room that was very comfortable and inviting on a cold day.
This pub is a Youngs tied house and there were three real ales on here i had a drink of Youngs Winter Warmer and this was a very nice drink the other beers were Youngs bitter and Special.
I was quite happy having a drink in here.

Pub visited 14/12/2002

On 14th December 2002 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]