User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2020 with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Squire Knott, Oldham

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Yorkshire Street
Oldham
OL1 3SL
Phone: 01617854780

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Squire Knott

Popped in this lunch time to see how things have gone since opening as a non-Spoons. First impressions are not great as there is no signage outside, just a blank purple background with no lettering. The two banks of hand pumps still exist at the bar but not a single one was clipped, so am assuming real ale is gone for good. There are reports on Facebook they are no longer doing food, despite the pub's own Facebook page advertising food only a couple of months ago.

Absolutely dead at the time of my visit, a couple of solitary older chaps dotted around the place and one table with a small group of gents.

If you can imagine a post apocalyptic Wetherspoons with no real ale, no food and no customers, it about sums this place up.

On 5th November 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 534 recommendations about 479 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Squire Knott (Lloyds No.1)

This pub is now open under the new owners - no longer a JDW / Lloyds. It's apparently due a refurb this month and it currently feels like it is barely open. It was pretty dead when I visited yesterday lunch time, just a few old guys sat alone looking miserable (plus me of course). The staff seemed to be milling around trying to get familiar with the building, changing light bulbs etc. I assume they are not currently doing food and that's the reason it was dead. When it was a Lloyds the majority of people in there were eating. Would be unfair to rate at the moment as it is clearly in a transitional phase, so I look forward to seeing what the refurb brings. In terms of real ale yesterday there was Madog's Ale by Purple Moose Brewery, plus a couple of the big national brings (I think Greene King IPA and can't remember the other). The Madog was a very average bitter, quite bland.

On 4th January 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 534 recommendations about 479 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Squire Knott (Lloyds No.1)

Due to close after 19th November 2017.


Review from July 2017
---------------------

As I approached this one I noticed the large CBRE For Sale sign on the outside. It transpires that this is one of the latest outlets that they are trying to dispose of. Unlike many Lloyds this one retains the external branding. It's a smaller one with the bar on the right and raised areas away from the bar. On one table near where I sat there was a Daytime Brigade group and another table looked as though they were students.
One bank of five hand pumps had just ciders which were in the fridge anyway. The other had one available soon, Harviestoun Schiehallion, Adnams New Realm IPA, Doom Bore and Ruddles. I went for another festival cider (£2.89) that I hadn't tried.
I get the impression from previous reviews that this one has seen better days and now it's up for sale it will probably get worse.

On 12th November 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Squire Knott (Lloyds No.1)

A small Wethers with possibly the worst selection of cask ales on. Maybe I was unlucky but 5 out of 10 pumps serving cider outside of their cider festival is a bit crap. And I don't mind cider.

On 12th August 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3388 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Squire Knott (Lloyds No.1)

Another visit and another couple of well kept beers tried. Pleasantly busy at around 7:30 on a Friday with a good atmosphere.

15/04/2013
Called in for a couple after the Oldham Beer Festival. Several of the JDW festival beers on the bar which is unusual for a Lloyds and all well kept. Busy and buzzy without being rammed between 7 & 8 on a Saturday. The bouncers had arrived and had started work by the time we left though, so it'll be busy later.

08/06/2011
Called in again whilst on a Friday evening pub crawl of Yorkshire Street. This is one of the better bars along here. A decent selection of real ale again, I had a Titanic Nine Tenths Below. It was still quite quiet at about 7 but was beginning to get going by the time I left. It's a decent pub before the late night youngsters get here.

29/04/10
This pub has been really well refurbished since it's change from a Litten Tree with comfortable seating near the entrance and leather look chairs at the dining tables. Decent range of beer for a Lloyds as well with 2 guests ales alongside the JDW regulars. We were in on a Saturday late afternoon so it probably gets very busy later on. Pretty impressed all round really.

On 22nd April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2862 recommendations about 2782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Hartley Hare left this review about The Squire Knott (Lloyds No.1)

Typical Wetherspoons pub. Good pricing for food and drink, but iffy service at the bar with a long wait the norm. Toilets are going downhill fast with no repairs evident when things get broken/vandalised.

On 3rd April 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 5 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Squire Knott (Lloyds No.1)

The Squire Knot(Lloyds No1) is the better of the 2 Oldham Wetherspoons pubs.Called in one Tuesday lunchtime and found a fair display of cask ales on offer,of which i tried the Thwaites Crowning Touch (4.3abv)which was a quite decent pint.

On 24th February 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2112 recommendations about 2076 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Squire Knott (Lloyds No.1)

Went in a bit later than I planned, and during an England World Cup match being shown on a very large screen (with a DJ during half time) so the atmosphere was pretty boisterous. It was tempting to walk straight back out again, but for a Lloyds No. 1 bar it has an impressive range of handpumps and there was certainly nothing wrong with my pint of Titanic 'All Over' (excellent value at £1.60). Not really my sort of place, but it must be ten times better than its previous incarnation as a Litten Tree.

On 21st June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]