User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Grapes (JD Wetherspoon), Sutton

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
198 High Street
Sutton
SM1 1NR

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Grapes (JD Wetherspoon)

due to close aug 5th

On 27th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2786 recommendations about 2728 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Grapes (JD Wetherspoon)

One of two Wetherspoon's in Sutton town centre, this one is almost certainly a former Victorian street corner pub. It goes back a long way but is quite narrow internally, much of the seating area is up a couple of steps. The bar is fairly centrally located along the internal side wall, of interest are a couple of short biographies of Jack Warner (Dixon of Dock Green and The Blue Lamp) and HG Wells who seems to have lived everywhere.
Not the greatest of ale selections here, the other JDW in Sutton is better, I had a passable pint of Twickenham Naked Ladies, the only other of interest was Bateman's Yellabelly Gold. Lots of bar proppers in here meaning getting to see the clips and getting served was rather tedious.

On 14th February 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1688 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Grapes (JD Wetherspoon)

Standard Spoons. Longish room with bar to the right. Usual selection of real ales. Reasonable enough place but I prefer the other Spoons nearer to the station.

On 14th January 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Grapes (JD Wetherspoon)

Standard Wetherspoon pub, all dark wood interior. Long bar down right handside. Seating on the left. Always busy at lunch time but seem to have not enough staff on. Anyway, I still like it. Lots of choices of ales on tap. Does have outside seating, but too cold to visit.

On 3rd February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 754 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Grapes (JD Wetherspoon)

A proper corner-pub building (at the front at least) with what looks like a later extension at the back. Nothing very interesting about the partially split-level remodelled interior, but pleasant enough and the staff were attentive at clearing and tables, etc. Beer garden signposted. Fair choice of nine real ales from the two banks of five handpumps, albeit with the most local one - Wimbledon Copper Leaf - also being the most expensive (£2.45).

On 5th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6546 recommendations about 6546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Grapes (JD Wetherspoon)

Visit 02/01/2015

Over a year from my last visit this one seems to have declined further. On this occasion the two GK beers and Doom Bore were all doubled up not leaving much room for anything else. I went for the King Winterland (£2.35) which was a mediocre beer in average condition. It's a nicer interior than the Moon on the Hill up the road but when you're sat near a table of gossiping women straight out of a Monty Python sketch it's not good. It says a lot about the limitations of the GBG selection process that this place is in the 2015 edition. If you're coming to Sutton via the station this one isn't worth the walk down the road and back from the Moon on the Hill.
I've knocked the score down to 5.


Visit 12/12/2013

Almost exactly six months after my previous visit I returned here to find a less inspirting beer selection with two of the handles badged up with Doombore. There were a couple of punters being a bit raucous (and that's coming from me!) in one corner and it was only around 10:30. I tried the WJ King Poacher's Moon (£2.29) and the Triple fff I Can't Remember (£2.60). The WK King beer was a bit tired while the Triple fff beer was superb.

Given the drop in quality and range of the beer I've knocked the score down to 7 but I still prefer this venue to the neighbouring one.




Visit 14/06/2013

This is one of two Spoons in Sutton High Street that are just a five minute walk apart. I can understand this in a beer desert like Romford, but to my knowledge Sutton has never been one. It has always had Young's houses which were OK until they ruined the beer and wrecked the pubs, together with Fuller's which were OK until it reached the point where you needed a loan from Wonga.Com (other payday loan companies are available) to visit one of them.

This one seems to me to be the better of the two Sutton Spoons. It's a long narrow room with windows all the way down which means it avoids being a cave like the usual shop conversion. It also has some fairly ornate light fittings. The selection of Ales on was above average and the Portobello American Pale Ale at £2.29 was top notch. The Jaipur IPA also caught my eye but I only had time for one. This is definitely one of the better Spoons where I get the impression that the current manager is making a real effort.

On 3rd January 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Grapes (JD Wetherspoon)

The Grapes is the usual Wetherspoons affair when it comes to food, drink and décor. I counted ten hand pumps on the bar that stretches up the right hand wall and being in the midst of their beer festival there were plenty of different brews available. There is some seating by the entrance, but the main seating is up the left hand wall and in a raised seating area at the rear. This pub is open from 20:00 until midnight every day and the customary plasma screen is in situ with muted news updates.

I’m struggling to remember my visit here so it obviously wasn’t very memorable, much like most Spoons pubs I suppose.

On 27th March 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3592 recommendations about 3572 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Grapes (JD Wetherspoon)

A much smaller Wetherspoon's than the one up the road.One bar with a back drinking area.A fair range of guest ales.

On 26th June 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]