User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
2019 AUTUMN PUG Crawl with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Picture Palace, Ponders End, Enfield

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Lincoln Road
Enfield
EN3 4AQ
Phone: 02083449690

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Picture Palace (JD Wetherspoon)

Reported to be closing on Saturday (07/05/2016) and opening under new owners Hawthorn Leisure on 12/05/2016.

Review October 2013

I've been going here on and off since it opened in 2001. As you would guess from the name it was originally a small cinema. It's been a GBG regular for many years now but there is no competition round here at all.

There are 10 pumps of which around half or more were devoted to Festival Ales. I went for the Wadworth Abita Restoration Pale Ale which was in good nick at £2.29.

On 4th May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2125 recommendations about 2120 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Picture Palace (JD Wetherspoon)

This former cinema is not very impressive from the outside,but the interior is better.In the foyer there is a quiet area with a coal affect fireplace and a few tables and chairs.The former stalls area has been completely stripped out but you do get a fine view of the ornate ceiling plasterwork and the high level circular windows.The screen is now a mural featuring Chaplin and Laurel& Hardy while there is a lobby to the left with a few tables on the way to the loos.Down one side there are small seating booths while the rest of the furniture is standard issue 'spoons pine table and chairs.The open plan means that the inane chatter from the all day drinkers does reverberate around and on my afternoon visit the clientele was classic 'spoons ,mainly pensioners and others with time on their hands , many well oiled but behaving.
This has been a GBG stalwart for years,there are limited real ale options in the area and it is worth the long walk from Ponders End Lock for boaters.The ten handpumps had Ruddles Best and Abbott doubled up,a single cider (Olde Rosie) and guests in the shape of Brewsters Aromantica,Adnams Broadside,Truman's Runner and a very decent Bellville Northcote Blonde with the final pump having an interesting Oatmeal Stout from the festival selection "available soon",aaargh.
Much better ale options than my last visit however,this pub is worth a trip and is by far the best option in Ponders End from what I could see.

On 24th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1928 recommendations about 1928 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Picture Palace (JD Wetherspoon)

I've been to several dances here back in the day, when it was the Howard Hall, but it is now one of the blander 'spoons with absolutely no atmosphere at all. Its only saving grace, as pointed out below, is that it is about the only place between Waltham Cross and Edmonton you can get a decent ale - for that I bump my rating to 'average'.

On 13th July 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Picture Palace (JD Wetherspoon)

A oasis of real beer in the desert of Londen's north-eastern outer suburbs. Not that much to look at from the outside, but inside the conversion has been done pretty well with some sensible lighting drawing the eye to the interesting architectural features and giving the main bar area a comfortable feel (although the former lobby and another space of to one side have a more spartan atmosphere). Ten handpumps, with the usual suspects and two"available soon" but my pint of Winter Warmer from the relatively local Brentwood Brewing Company was excellent value at just £1.95. The barman was pretty efficient too, so overall this must be one of the best pubs in the whole area.

On 20th February 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5468 recommendations about 5468 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Picture Palace (JD Wetherspoon)

A former cinema (hence the name) and then dance hall known as Howard Hall that was converted into a 'spoons in 2001.
It's actually a strange place and has more the feeling of a library being in the most a large square area laid to uniform tables , with the bar area some distance away from the tables.
But for somewhere to get a decent pint and decent grub amongst all the fast food chicken shacks of the Hertford Road then it isn't too bad.
And as I remember with fondness going to the Howard Hall for non-alcoholic pre-teen discos when it was a Dance Hall , it scores as another historic building that Wetherspoons has saved from the wrecking ball by turning it into a pub.
Does tend to get busy at the weekend with the Ponders End youth.

On 9th February 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1599 recommendations about 1549 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Picture Palace

For a wetherspoon's not a bad pub.A fair sized single bar with a side drinking/eating area.A fair range of real ales on and not a sign of "coming soon".

On 12th January 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2038 recommendations about 2019 pubs]