User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
York with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Partridge

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
194 High Street
Bromley
BR1 1HE
Phone: 02084647656

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ethelred The Unsteady left this review about Partridge

On a summer's evening, you can sit in the garden, and take in the view of the church. Or, if you prefer, you can look at the large, dark, brick building with no windows, and reflect on the fact that people built that, and wonder why.

I surmise that even after a few pints of Discovery you will still be wondering.

There are worse ways to pass time though, some would say.

On 1st May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 110 recommendations about 108 pubs]


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Partridge

Very inviting Fuller's 'Ale & Pie' house, with the bar housed in a former banking hall and further seating in the Club Room at the front and another (un-named) room at the back. Pleasantly traditional furniture and decor throughout. Good selection of real ales too from the six handpumps: Pride, Oliver's Island, ESB and the seasonal Jack Frost (£3.95) plus Hyde's Nelson and Joule's Old No 6 as guests.

On 8th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4410 recommendations about 4410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


jeff smith left this review about Partridge

I just wanted to submit this this review as i think this pub is fantastic, it is a fullers pub with a good choice of real ales and lagers, great food, a nice beer garden at the rear and really good friendly staff, the food is very good and i recommend a visit

On 31st January 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Partridge

Following the usual Fullers Pie and Ale House format of converting former banks (in this case a branch of NatWest) into smart, spacious pubs, the Partridge is a good example of the chain's mid-ninety's, Greater London work. You enter via an unusual circular lobby area with a decorative marble floor, smart wood panelling and a gold chandelier, before emerging into the main bar with the servery down the right hand side. A nice patterned tile floor runs around the dark wood bar counter, above which a high bar back towers, boasting an integral clock and a series of busts along the top. The rest of the room has wooden floorboards with plush banquettes under the large front windows and high tables and stools in the centre of the room. The walls have been decorated with some small pictures themed around nursery rhymes and there was quite a lot of bunting and other such promotional material relating to the rugby world cup, which detracted somewhat from the pub's look. Appropriately enough, there were a couple of screens showing muted coverage of one of the world cup fixtures whilst a decent funky soundtrack played quietly in the background. There are a couple of other rooms which offer cosier seating options. To the front is something called the Club Room, which is a snug-like space with smart furniture, whilst to the rear there is a semi partitioned space with standard seating options looking out to the patio garden beyond. The overall effect is very pleasing, with a sense of grandeur apparent and a comfortable drinking experience guaranteed. We stopped for a bite to eat here too and found the food pretty good, albeit from the familiar Fullers menu.
Handpulls dispensed Fullers London Pride, ESB, Oliver's Island and HSB plus a couple of guest ales which were Adnams Ghost Ship and Butcombe Haka. I had a pint of the latter, which I found was in reasonably good condition and quite a tasty brew. The staff were very friendly, with the waitressing staff in particular being worthy of a mention.
The centre of Bromley is hardly packed with great pubs, but this is a solid and reliable venue that ticks the right boxes in terms of interesting interior, decent food and ale range and pleasant, comfortable surrounds. Well worth keeping in mind and it also makes a decent header with the Barrel and Horn a couple of doors down.

On 15th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1982 recommendations about 1982 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Partridge

The Partridge is next door the Mascots,i thought the pub looked like an old bank and i was correct after reading Roger Buttons review.
Once inside there is a oblong shaped room with the bar on the right side,the seating is tall tables and chairs and bench seating in bays on the left side,there was a TV showing the England v Italy rugby game.
The pub is a Fullers tied house,there was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Butcombe Rare Breed which went down well,the other beers i noted were Gales HSB,Fullers ESB and London Pride.
The pub was very busy on my Saturday afternoon visit.
I quite liked this pub.

Pub visited 14/2/2015

On 14th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6024 recommendations about 6024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Partridge

This Fullers Pie & Ale House began life in 1928 as the National Provincial (later NatWest) Bank. It was converted to a pub in 1995 and further refurbished in 2005. Whilst not on the grand scale of some of Fullers other Bank conversions, it does make for one of the more interesting pubs in Bromley town centre.

The rotunda entrance lobby complete with murals leads directly into the slightly cavernous old banking hall with its high ceilings, tiled floor and brass chandeliers. The bar has a large impressive bar back with alcoves packed with wine bottles and crowned with busts. The furnishings were mainly a series of small round tall tables along the central floor and a series of divides opposite the bar furnished with Chesterfields. To the left of the entrance as you enter are a couple of small panelled rooms that appear to have been a couple of old interview rooms that have been knocked into one and now labelled the Club Room. To the rear, beyond the bar is an opened up section, possibly the old the Managers offices, with a TV and outside is a small patio area.

There were 5 ales available from the Fullers range – Pride, Discovery, HSB, ESB and the seasonal Red Fox. Prices are typically hefty, one of Fullers less endearing attributes, with my Discovery clocking up at at £3.50. The food was the usual Fullers menu with with basic main courses around £8-9.

As Bromley town centre goes, I found this to be one of the better options and has always been devoid of the society dregs that blight some of the neighbouring pubs.

On 11th October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1237 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Partridge

This pub is unchanged since Roger’s visit last year. It’s got the opulent look that a lot of these bank conversions achieve – an impressive (but I guess new) bar back, and impressively ornate bar counter. I sat in the “Club Room”, which had some impressive prints showing designs of architectural treasures such as The Royal Pavillion at Brighton, along with a portrait of the Prince Regent. All the tables sported a little sprig of flowers.
The usual Fuller’s offerings of London Pride, ESB, Discovery and HSB were available, along with their recently introduced double hopped Wild River. I had the latter which was a decent pint, at the now typical price of £3.70 a pint. The food was consistently priced with the beer – as I recall my sausage and onion baguette was about £6 - £7 with chips. The quality was OK though.
This place is typical of a bank conversion, but is at least as good as others I’ve visited. It doesn’t have the character of a traditional pub as it’s clear what it is, but nonetheless it’s a good place to drop in for a pint and a bite.

On 29th June 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2221 recommendations about 2155 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Partridge

A fairly large Fuller's Ale & Pie house. has one large bar and a couple of small and cosy drinking areas with the whole of the pub covered in wood panelling.Good Fuller's beers on offer all in very good condition

On 26th June 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2040 recommendations about 2020 pubs]