User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Haymarket, Edinburgh

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
6A West Maitland Street
Edinburgh
EH12 5DS
Phone: 01312282537

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Nicholsons (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blackthorn _ left this review about Haymarket

A prominent and busy Nicholson’s pub straddling a junction of two roads, it has an unusual semi-circular shape to the outside, although this was not particularly noticeable inside. It looked quite traditional in appearance with it’s black paintwork and gold lettering.

Internally it was also quite traditional in terms of décor, although perhaps in a slightly corporate way as might be expected from a chain, but certainly not objectionably so. The main bar area had a worn wood strip floor, dark maroon paint on the walls and a cream ceiling with a number of black and white photographs and drawing of the locale dotted around the walls. A smaller room to the side was broadly similar in terms of décor, although with carpet on the floor, pale green painted wallpaper as well as some flock wallpaper above the padded bench seating in the window. There was also some sort of mezzanine level at the rear although I did not investigate this.

I had presumably sat in the dining area since someone came to my table to serve me whilst I was perusing the menu. Although he initially seemed friendly and helpful, on enquiring about the cider choice I was told that they had an apple one! The menu offered the usual extensive selection, and I went for the chicken and mushroom pie with mash and seasonal greens, which was actually very good and tasty, although somewhat overshadowed by the large pile of undercooked cavolo nero. There was a long wait for the food, although the waiter was apologetic saying they were very busy.

Beers on tap were Stewarts Freeman, Radical Road Reverse, Columbus Calling, Pandora’s Box and 80/- along with Celtman, Sharp’s Sunset Red and Doom Bar. The “apple” cider transpired to be Mortimer’s Orchard, and they also had the Berry version from the same brewery which perhaps goes some way to explain his explanation. Overall, a decent enough pit stop if in the area.

On 28th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1748 recommendations about 1683 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Haymarket

Surprised to find this "chainy" nicholsons pub in the Good Beer Guide. Much tidied up from a previous visit from around 18 years ago. 12 real ale pumps on, which probably explains it inclusion. Kind of new what to expect.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2D0AhUB

On 11th January 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Haymarket Bar

A Nicholsons house like 99 out of 100 you can not go far wrong in them another good people watching spot when sat out side

On 9th August 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Haymarket Bar

Busy but reasonably large pub located opposite Haymarket station, with plenty of seating each side of the central bar. Also has an upstairs area (not visited). Refurbished since my last visit a couple of years ago, and now branded as a Nicholsons. Furniture and decor more upmarket than before; more corporate, I suppose, but overall an improvement in ambience my opinion. The screens showing sports TV seem to have all gone, and the previous two handpumps on each side of the bar have now expanded to 12 in total. Good selection of real ales, and my pint of Broughton SOS (good value at £2.25) was in good form. Overall, a major improvement.

On 31st January 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Haymarket Bar

A Nicholson's pub located close to haymarket train station. 12 real ale taps serving 10 different beers during my visit. Food served.

On 2nd January 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Haymarket Bar

About 15 years ago when I lived in Dean Village this was a bit of a rough pub. It's been transformed fairly recently into a Nicholsons outlet and given a very good refurbishment. It's a bit corporate as usual with a Nicholsons and all the food is bought in, so I'm afraid the chef is unlikely to be really good, he's someone who can reheat what has been bought and cook frozen chips. We called in on a Wednesday lunchtime and it was quiet as you'd expect. we called in again the same evening prior to eating at the Omar opposite and it was packed. The big plus point is the 12 handpumps on the bar, with only two of them doubled up. I had 3 pints over our two visits and all were in very good nick. It's now well worth a visit, but it is very touristy as it's close to several budget hotels.

On 16th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2854 recommendations about 2775 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Simon Walton left this review about The Haymarket Bar

I visit lots of pubs, but I only post about the best - so if I give the Haymarket 10/10, it's because I believe in the old adage "if you can't say nothing nice, don't say nothin' at all". Twelve hand pulls at the bar and a really good chef down in the kitchen. Hey a neighbour even complained about the air-conditioning ducting (which was installed before the current management took over), so they moved the entire system, and that's a four storey tenement block behind the building. I think they care. Nice people.

On 14th November 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]