User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Cambridge PuG Crawl, Friday 5th April 2024 with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Chorlton Tap, Manchester

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
531-533 Wilbraham Road
Chorlton cum Hardy
Postal town: Manchester
M21 0UE
Phone: 01618617576

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Chorlton Tap

A couple of shops knocked together on a main road, directly opposite the tram stop.

Brewery tap for the Wander Beyond Brewery. I had their cask bitter (saunter) which was far too cold for cask.
Lots of exotic keg lines on.

No other punters inside on a Saturday afternoon. A couple outside. Food ordering is via an app but after 30mins of no response, I went to check. The internet was down in the Kitchen.

Somehow, a place where the staff outnumber customers manage to cock up their only order. And the app adds a service charge at point of ordering. Possibly by design.

Received an apology and a refund but it left me with a poor experience.

On 28th July 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1323 recommendations about 1309 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Chorlton Tap

The Chorlton Tap is a café style bar with a serving counter on the right wall that faces a coal fireplace. In the front right window is a long wooden table and in the raised area down the left there is a mix of seating from stool to booths. Out the front, adjacent to the busy passing road, is a decked area with covered seating and out the back down a flight of stairs is an enclosed beer garden full of picnic tables. The bar support five handpumps which were drawing Pictish Brewing’s Wakatu and three options from Wander Beyond Brewing, Shadow Puppets, Peak and Black Arches. The fifth pump was unused. There are also craft and premium keg options as well as a few ciders. A fridge to the right of the bar houses craft keg cans. I found the service to be polite, but I struggled to get comfortable so don’t plan on returning.

On 27th May 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5146 recommendations about 5115 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Chorlton Tap

Visited Saturday evening. This was towards the end of a crawl so memories are a bit vague but there were six hand pulls for cask ale, as well as some keg options. I had the Winter Red by Hawkshead which was pretty good. Wi-Fi is available.

On 19th February 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 750 recommendations about 598 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Bar

This place is slightly better inside than it looks from the street. The inside is a bit mix'n'match decor wise though the redeeming feature is the 8 handpumps with 8 different beers. This however is slightly ruined by the rather high prices. Like a lot of places in Chorlton its more bar than pub.

On 14th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3487 recommendations about 3390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Bar

Nice larger cafe bar with large array of real ales, though the quality maybe not quite top notch on my visit. Plenty of pillars break up the space slightly. A drinking den of a cafe.

On 1st March 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1453 recommendations about 1431 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Bar

This is another predictable wooden floored shop conversion. On my visit there was a "Vintage Sale" going on by the entrance which consisted of a blonde woman selling old ragged clothes and a load of other tat. I ignored this and carried on inside which is open plan and fairly unremarkable.
The bar has eight hand pumps of which one was unused. Beers available were Thornbridge Kipling, Castle Rock Harvest Pale, a house beer Chorlton Gold, Dunham Masssey Milk Stout, Magic Rock Magic Spanner and Abbeydale Brimstone. I went for the Thornbridge Kipling which was in very good nick but yet again way too expensive at £3.90 a pint. I had a look at the menu and the food looked reasonable value certainly compared to the beer. What a shame, I doubt that I would ever return.

On 22nd June 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Bar

Large bar that has been broken through from two shops. As you enter tha bar is just to the right and there are a few tables and chairs. To the left up a step is a much larger area with some settles and more tables. The decor seems to have an emphasis on old wood which works very well. There's a small outside terrace which is directly on the very busy Wilbraham Road. Eight handpumps on the bar serving an ever changing range of guests, often including a Marble beer. I had a pint of Acorn Junga IPA which was well kept, although on reflection a bit strong for my first pint at 5%. This bar is quite rightly listed in the CAMRA GBG2013.

On 16th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3206 recommendations about 3117 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Bar

When i went in the Bar it was fairly new to the Chorlton drinking scene,once inside there was a single room that was quite nice and comfortable and there were two real ales on the bar i had a drink of Ruddles County which was quite a nice drink the other beer was Courage Directors.
I was happy enough having a drink in here.
It looks like the Bar has been extended since my visit so it must be doing something right.

Pub visited 10/6/1995

On 10th June 1995 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]