User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Princess of Wales, Blackheath, SE3

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
1a Montpelier Row
SE3
SE3 0RL
Phone: 02088525784

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about Princess of Wales

I didn’t check to see if the Giles Gilbert Scot-designed K6 phone kiosk was in place, but as they’re all listed it was probably still there. Otherwise, this would appear to be a late Georgian pub recently stripped of its CAMRA listing, following remodelling of the interior in November 2022, so if you want to see what it was vaguely like, look at Roger Burton’s photos.
The pub is one of two in Blackheath with a view out over a bleak, eponymous, rain and windswept pitch of grass. The interior has been messed around with – presumably November 2022 – now trendified, with a tiled bar apron, bare boarded floor, occluded glass partitions and Ready Brek colour scheme. The original bar back now features some tubular steel, the attractive cornice the only obvious sign of heritage now that the historic bar back embellishments have been ripped out. Furniture is conventional with some booth-style banquettes, then décor in the form of eclectic prints and ferns, with a rather loud soundtrack featuring the likes of Lou Bega’s Mambo No. 5 or stomping Albion poster boys The Proclaimers. Customers were unsurprisingly local types, many eating, a women seated next to me contributing to the stifling smell of fish ‘n’ chips.
Cask, come my rainy Saturday 9.20pm visit, amounted to Proper Job and Tribute (‘Coming Soon’), then just Doompride and Landlord at an eyewatering £3.25 a half, but in excellent shape, served by a friendly barman.
A bit corporate, this isn’t a brilliant pub, about average for the area, but it’s no match for the superior Hare & Billet across the mud; the prices here are extortionate, presumably to reflect the location and its bleak vista.

On 2nd May 2024 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2009 recommendations about 1975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Princess of Wales

The ale selection in here was pretty good with London Pride, Doom Bar, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Truman's Swift, Reunion Session IPA, and Sadler's Peaky Blinders Black IPA all available. Even with some of the usual suspects present, it's still pretty good. It's not cheap in here though - the average price of our pints was £4.90. The food prices were consistent with the beer prices - the fish & chips is £15.

But the pub itself is something of a winner. The room at the front as you enter has handpumps on the counter, and a magnificent really old (Edwardian says the previous reviewer) bar back on display. But this part of the servery was not being serviced on our Wednesday afternoon visit, and to get served we had to move to the counter in the room on the right that stretches way back to a conservatory area right at the back. It's also worth noting that the Sadler's Peaky Blinders wasn't clipped in the front bar, so even if the front counter is in use it might be worth checking whether there is a different beer around to the right. As well as the long room on the right, there's also a smaller room on the left as you enter.The pub's got an upmarket chintzy drawing room feel to it, with it's fair share of armchairs and sofas, and loads of vases of flowers on the counter. There were also massive (3' high?) wine and champagne style glasses at the end of the bar counter, containg champagne corks and bottle tops for some reason. All very strange, but harmless enough I guess. There was also enough standard bench seating and normal tables to satisfy me.

Although the pub isn't statutorily Listed, the old red Gilbert Scott telephone box outside it is Grade II Listed.

This pub has a delightful location looking out over the heath, with a bit of outside seating at the front. I would be very happy to pay this pub a return visit.

On 25th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Princess of Wales

A large and rather plush upmarket pub in an imposing period building on the edge of the heath, by the pond. You enter through a narrow front bar, which is not always open, past a side room which has a bit of a drawing room feel but is crying out for some more comfortable seating. Admiring the splendid Edwardian bar back, you continue round a corner, past of couple of leather sofas to find the rather long main bar, which is faced by a dark green wall covered in portraits. This extends back to a room with French windows overlooking the large tabled garden area. Seating inside is a mixture of tables and booths. No pub games, although there is an alcove full of board games, and major sporting events are televised. Very dog friendly, with water bowls and treats available throughout the pub. Draught beers were London Pride, Doom Bar and Proper Job, with welcome variation in the form of Sharps Crosshaven, Butcombe Plough On and Hawkshead Pale. Condition was excellent (Cask Marque listed), while various foreign beers are also available. Some of the clientele were a bit up themselves, and this is far from a boozer to bring your mates to, but still a nice pub to visit if in the area.

On 30th January 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3353 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Princess of Wales

Overlooking the heath, this is a deceptively large pub with two bar areas. Unfortunately, I didn't realise this on entering, I approached the rather narrow front bar where there were three handpumps offering Pride, Doom Bar and Hop Back Summer Lightning. It wasn't until I had ordered my Summer Lightning that I discovered that the pub extended back considerably to the right beyond the front bar where another area offered additional choices. Not the worst event ever but a chalkboard or some double clips would have been helpful. The second set of pumps had in addition Sambrook's Junction, Liberation IPA from the Channel Islands and Stonehenge Eye Opener.
The front bar has an attractive bar back with the slogans "Champagne, Brandies", "Old Tom", "Cigars", Liqueurs" and such displayed across the top in gold leaf, both bars are in carved dark wood with mirrors. The side bar had a selection of cacti on top in metal pots.
Wooden boarded flooring, mixed seating, the TV on a bulkhead was off while music played. Beyond the side bar is a conservatory, open to the pub, occupied at the time by a substantial and rather screechy hen party which had also spread outside to the rear garden; I kept well clear.
The pub was generally busy and lively not just with the hen party, food is served and seemed popular. Well worth a visit, just remember to wander round and check out all the pumps before choosing if you want a cask ale.

On 23rd June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1708 recommendations about 1681 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Princess of Wales

The Princess of Wales has been standing on the edge of Blackheath since at least the 1830’s when it was also the home of a voluntary Fire Service. The pub’s main claim to fame was in the field of rugby, being the pub where Blackheath Rugby Club, the oldest open rugby club in the world, was founded. It was also used as a dressing room for the first ever England v Wales international played on the adjacent heath in 1881.

Sadly much of the rugby memorabilia that was on display was “lost” during a refurbishment a couple of years ago (I have heard unproven rumours that the builders walked off with it all after a misunderstanding) and the pub’s connections with the sport are now barely noticeable.

The interior consists of a front bar area to the left of which is the small cosy paneled room where the rugby displays were. A cabinet in one corner still houses some hockey memorabilia. This section was probably the most appealing bit of drinking in Blackheath but now seems rather bare and plain with an unused open fireplace and much of the gentlemans club furnishings replaced by more ordinary furniture. The bar area has some ornate column heads and golden leaf trimmings.
Beyond a corner section lies a surprisingly large rear bar that looks quite stylish with large mirrors and chandeliers. A conservatory area has been tacked on at the rear and this leads to an attractive and spacious beer garden with BBQ.

If the beer selection is similar to the nearby Railway, it is because they are owned by the same people). The PoW generally has 4 ales available although the capacity is there for more. London Pride and Doom Bar seem to be the constants with 2 guest beers (Acorn Sorachi Ace IPA and Stonehenge Eye Opener on my latest visit). Quality is usually decent enough but prices are a bit unnerving at £3.50+ for the guest ales. There is a good range of top end lagers and craft beers also available.

The ambience is reasonably civilized although the intrusive piped music can be intrusive can be annoying. The pub seems to meander from being surprisingly good or desperately disappointing and each visit seems to be one or the other. It’s not really clear what group of people it is aimed at and there are aspects that quite appealing and equally offputting though more often the former than the latter.

On 6th December 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1239 recommendations about 1233 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Princess of Wales

I visited on a Saturday night and the place was heaving with the pub and large beer garden being packed out until about 9pm when things started to thin out a bit.
There was a reasonable ale selection and I enjoyed a few well kept pints of London Pride over the course of the evening. The bar staff were pretty efficient considering the melee at the bar and went out of their way to assist me with the distribution of my round to friends scattered round all points of the bar.
I tried the food and thought it was pretty good, although maybe a little too pricy.
The little lounge area at the front has a couple of plaques comemerating the pub's role as a dressing room for one of the first ever rugby internationals, which gives the place a sense of history that otherwise isn't really apparent.
Worth a look, although others have complained about poor service here in the past, which makes me wonder if I just got lucky on my visit.

On 7th July 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3126 recommendations about 3126 pubs]