User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Stan Laurel, Ulverston

31 The Ellers
Ulverston
LA12 0AA
Phone: 01229582814

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Stan Laurel

The Stan Laurel has not fully re-opened since lockdown. It is only currently open for diners and for take-outs.

We elected to eat here, so that I could visit. Meals were fairly ordinary, but they did still have a couple of ales on - Ulverston Celebration Ale & Thwaite's Wainwright.

The pub is much larger than I expected, with 3 rooms. The room you enter into was empty and could easily have held a dozen or so drinkers with social distancing. I'm sure the pub will re-open for drinkers soon.

On 4th August 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 378 recommendations about 378 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Stan Laurel

This is an irregular shaped pub with patio area. The pub has been freshley repainted in white - i managed a photo before the signs went back-up. The pub was called the Britannia, but was renamed and remodelled back in 1976. The interior has a few rooms. The main room has the serving bar in front, and is in white artex and beam ceiling and walls. This room is mainly for dining (although there is a smaller dining room too - which i didn't see), and has a fakey stone fireplace with chopped wood, as well as copious amounts of Laurel and Hardy pictures and memorabilia, pump clips and a few brasses. The other room is a bar, and we had to eat in here as it was so full - the food was decent. This room, also in white with Stan pictures, has a pool table and dart board. There is a TV in the bar, which wasn't on and there was general music at an OK level. The service was fine and the clientele very mixed, between tourists and locals. Beer; usual tap stuff with Derwent MILD, Cross Bay Halo, Ulverston's My Home Town, Northumberland's Fog on the Tyne, Twaites Original and Lytham Blonde - all i tried were decent. We popped back here a few times during the week - i could stay here a good while!

On 10th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Stan Laurel

A very nice back street low ceiling timber beamed pub with plenty of Laurel and Hardy stuff around the place. Food is very good which means it does get busy at weekends but the good range of ales including one or two local Ulverston Brewery (many of their ales having Stan and Laurel names) have been available on each of our annual visits here. Well worth adding to aub crawl when in town.

On 7th December 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Stan Laurel

Originally the Britannia,and i think changed it's name in 1976 and later was extended to the cottages next door.There are 3 rooms downstairs and 3 upstairs for B+B so for any avid Laurel and Hardy buff this is just the ticket and it is only a stones throw away from Stan Laurel's birthplace in Argyle Street.Called in one Sunday at the crack of noon and as expected was greeted with the bar area and the walls adorned with Laurel and Hardy bric a brac and memorabilia.There was a fine array of real ales,and i opted for the Keswick Brewing Co Thirst Ascent (4.O abv)and was slightly disappointed but i put it down to being the first pint of the day.

On 19th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2115 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Stan Laurel

Thwaites Original plus 5 changing Casl Ales (always one from Ulverston).
Food offering
B&B.

On 25th February 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Stan Laurel

Things must have improved a lot here since our visit in 1989.
I dont like themed pubs at the best of times but the pub was there to be done so we went in,once inside we went into a largish room that seemed qiute bare,there were lots of tables and chairs dotted about the place.
We got in this pub quite late on a Saturday night and the pub was almost empty and to make things worse there were no real ales on the bar,this used to be an S&N house and there were only keg beers on i had a drink of Youngers bitter and this was a pretty bad drink.

Pub visited 15/4/1989

Photo taken 16/4/1989

On 15th April 1989 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]