User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Richard I, Greenwich, SE10

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
52-54 Royal Hill
SE10
SE10 8RT

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Richard I

This Youngs pubco building has a pleasing exterior with two curved glass bay windows,and a few benches outside.Clearly two building cobbled together ,the thin bar seperates two front rooms,which have traditional wooden furniture.However further back in the building on the right side is a seating area of booths and banquettes which then opens into a large conservatory housing a dining area with table service and glass doors onto a good sized beer garden.It has a Tardis effect,surprising given the small frontage.
The bar supports 5 handpumps,but the two best options on my trip (Southwark Bankside and Belleville Thames Surfer ) had available soon stickers which I really hate,if it's not available I dont want to know "what I may have won ".That left CW Youngs Bitter and Special together with Truman Lazarus (reasonable ) as the ale options.There are a few craft keg options including Beavertown Neck Oil.We all ate here and the food was well cooked from a decent looking menu with a slight premium price but this is Greenwich after all.
A superior ale line up would justify a higher score,but it's one of the better pubs in the area.

On 3rd September 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Richard I

The Richard I is currently closed, but will re-open next month (July), promising a superb drinking and eating experiance. Being right next door to the Grenwich Union, I thought that the two might be merging, but that is not the case. No idea if it will remain a Youngs establishment.

On 27th May 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Richard I

Named after the famous Richard The Lionheart, this pub seems to be unchanged since the previous reviewer's visit last March, so there's little to add. From the outside you can see that it's two houses knocked together. Being a Young's pub I was not surprised to see Young's Bitter on (£3.54 a pint and in superb condition), but this one also had on Winter Warmer and "Royal Hill" which is another Young's branded ale. This is the second pub I've been in recently where a Young's ale has been presented as a "house" ale - a trend maybe? The guest was Hop Stuff Pale Ale. Obviously as a Young's pub it's a bit upmarket, with the menu items reflecting that. Main courses are around £10 a pop, with a selection of homemade pies - including "pheasant, smoked bacon and cider" (£11) and "wild rabbit and cider".

The Public Bar is less salubrious than its Saloon Bar neighbour, being traditionally bare-boarded and with more basic furnishings. Despite its upmarket feel, it's still a real pub, and is certainly worth a visit if in Greenwich.

On 4th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Richard I

Somewhat off the beaten track, but not too difficult to reach, the Richard I is a nice, homely traditional two-room pub, literally next door to the Greenwich Union. The pub is still known to locals as the Tolly, in reference to the pub’s former owners, the Tollemache and Cobbold Brewery, even though Young’s have been running the place since 1974. I entered into the Saloon Bar on the right hand side of the pub. The room is carpeted with an etched glass ‘Saloon Bar’ door, banquette seating at the front and back of the room and standard table and chair seating elsewhere. A TV on the back wall was showing the aftermath of a Six Nations fixture and the walls were lined with lots of pictures of the pub including a great many of pub beanos old and new. You can pass through a connecting corridor behind the servery, which has a book swap and various CAMRA magazines in it, in order to reach the public bar. This room also has its own etched glass door, but is notably smaller than the Saloon, with room for one banquette and a drinking ledge with high stools. The room is popular with the locals and was packed on my Saturday night visit. To the rear there is a well kept, decent sized garden.
Three Young’s ales – Ordinary, Special and London Gold – were supplemented by Purity Pure Gold and London Fields Shoreditch Triangle IPA (£4.00). The latter, it would appear, is available on rotation alongside London Fields Love Not War and Hackney Hopster. A decent keg range included Kozel, Camden Hells Lager and Camden Gentleman’s Wit. I tried the Shoreditch Triangle IPA and thought it was an excellent pint, kept in top condition.
I only popped in here as it happened to be next door to the Greenwich Union, but funnily enough, I think this turned out to be the better pub. I’d definitely consider a return visit and I think the two pubs create an interesting and worthwhile double header.

On 15th March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2471 recommendations about 2471 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Richard I

Thankfully, this traditional pub has avoided the worst type of refurbishment from the Youngs makeover team. It comprises two rooms, one in each of two adjacent buildings in an attractive terrace in a quiet part of town. The larger bar leads to a decent-sized patio beer garden which is a very pleasant spot on a sunny day. Four well-kept real ales on handpump - Ordinary (reasonably priced at £2.90), London Gold, Special and Waggledance. Overall, really rather good.

On 9th July 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about Richard I

With an ever dwindling number of traditional pub interiors why do Youngs feel the need to exacerbate the problem? See also, Duke of Devonshire (Balham) & Dog & Bull (Croydon). At least here the ‘makeover' has been largely restricted to furnishings, with a ludicrous low-table & pouffe set-up to rear of right hand bar (could picture plastic gangstas with their feet up here) and chunky modern stools next to drinking shelf opposite bar in left hand side facing ugly uncomfortable-looking high wall mounted leatherette banquette serving tall but tiny shiny wood tables, quite horrible, thank goodness bits of character such as the curved window seating remain intact. My notes started off mentioning a decent looking garden but questioned why there were no umbrellas to provide shade from the sun – well, when the heavens opened 30mins later it wasn't the sun that the sodden garden refugees were trying to escape, hahaha! Our indoors table was suddenly very much at a premium and a joker had to be played while the thunder rumbled past. Ordinary, Special, Waggledance, Bombardier, sad reflection of the times (& area) but £8.55 for three pints was the cheapest round of the day, and the Bombardier was well kept.

On 28th June 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Richard I

Fairly large 2 bar pub in a very nice part of Greenwich which is away from the tourist traps. This an old fashioned traditional pub the likes of which are dying out fast. Nice secluded beer garden. Youngs/Wells real ales on offer

On 30th September 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Richard I

Warm, homely and friendly. Two bars, garden to the rear and some patio tables at the front. Youngs, Ordinary, Special and Waggledance plus Wells Bombardier. Ordinary competitive at £2.52. Food menu on the board well priced too between £6-£7. Opera music playing in the background yesterday, all very relaxing and generally a pleasant place.

On 25th October 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Richard I

An enjoyable Youngs outlet, clean and welcoming, with a big beer garden and good selection of their bottled wares. Two bars inside, serving a decent range of cask and bottled beer at sensible prices. Tidy.

On 12th September 2006 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]