User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with london calling on the Pub Forum

Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1), Shrewsbury Central, Shrewsbury

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Lower Claremont Bank
Shrewsbury
SY1 1RT
Phone: 01743239080

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1)

Run-of-the-mill Lloyds No 1 located under a gym in a plain curved building. Plain, semi-modern furniture and decor in the various seating / dining areas around the slightly awkward arrangement of two separate bar counters. Modest selection of real ales from the six handpumps, with the Belhaven Barn Dancer festival beer (£1.05, half) catching the eye.

On 20th October 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5968 recommendations about 5968 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1)

Very disappointing, I thought. Choice of eight hand pumps and the strongest was 4.2% ABV. I had looked at this place for a good half minute before realising it was a Lloyds. It looked more like a hospital reception to me.

On 14th May 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1620 recommendations about 1618 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1)

I must agree with Mr Aqualung in that this is a hideous looking place from the outside. Its not great internally either but its not as bad as expected. The descriptions are elsewhere.

On 4th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3380 recommendations about 3297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1)

It,s a posh spoons nothing specile take it or leave it would not go out of our way for it but would call in if passing

On 1st November 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 122 recommendations about 122 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1)

This place looked like a real abomination from the outside but was OK inside. On my Wednesday evening visit I got a beer from the lighter area and settled in the dark area. I use these terms as I entered this place via the back door so left and right just confuse the issue. The main light bar has two sets of five hand pumps and the darker side bar has seven. There are duplicate beers but this is the sum total as I saw it, two ciders, GK IPA (£1.65), Salopian Dead Drop had gone off, Woods Shropshire Lad and Sheer Folly, Milestone Classic Dark Mild, Elgood's Cambridge IPA and Purity UBU. I went for the Wood's Sheer Folly (£2.35) which was in fine condition.
They had muzak playing and while I was sitting in the darker area a barmaid started stacking tables and chairs, presumably indicating that all hell was going to be unleashed later on. I have to say I preferred the more traditional one over the road to this place but they had a better beer selection here.

On 18th June 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1)

Very modern Spoons which at first glance looks like Gordon Britass's workplace, in what felt like a slightly out of the way location compared to the usual. As mentioned in the all-encompassing review below, this is the site of a former nightclub which has been used rather effectively inside to create two completely different bar areas; the right is dark with two plush raised ends and the (in my opinion) much nicer area is to the left which takes advantage of the vast plate glass windows to have a light and airy feel. Though the seating and general arrangements are the usual Spoons-by-numbers so don’t get overly excited. A decent set of ales on – my first choice of a US collaborative ale was probably end of barrel but still tasted fine. My companions Salopian Gold was top-notch. Unprompted tasters were offered by the friendly tattooed barmaid. In a nod to its branding as a Lloyds No1, music was playing which I have to admit finding a little disconcerting in a JDW! So an above average Wetherspoon and on this evidence a much better choice than the Shrewsbury Hotel.

On 25th April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1)

This spacious Lloyd’s Bar, which opened back in 2008 in a former bar/nightclub, has a two bar layout which, rather unusually for a Wetherspoons, provides two very different drinking areas. As you enter through the main front doors, you find yourself in a bit of a no man’s land, with bars just about visible to left and right. The left hand side of the pub has large windows along the front and back walls, making it very light in the daytime and as such, this side was by far the most popular on my Sunday afternoon visit. Fabric tub chairs and sofas are arranged across a split level space which uses some large book cases as partitioning, in order to effectively break up what is otherwise a large open space. A rear door here leads out to a small patio area. The right hand side of the pub was, by contrast, very dark thanks to minimal windows and a mix of dark paintwork and wallpaper throughout. The servery is on the rear wall and has a small raised platform to the left of it with a few seats in a rather pleasant little corner. Opposite the bar there are high tables and stools which make way for a lot of tub chairs and sofas, whilst standard tables and chairs fill up the front section of the room, creating a good mix of seating options as you might expect. There is a DJ booth at one end of the room, which suggests this side of the pub gets a bit livelier in the evenings, whilst music played in the background over some muted TV screens showing rolling news coverage.
I lost count of the number of hand pumps between the two bars, but there were at least five or six guest ales available from the recent ‘Spoons festival. I tried the American Amber from one of the guest overseas brewers and thought it was in good shape.
This is a good example of a Lloyd’s Bar and although there’s not much of interest beyond the beer, it was at least nice and tidy and a comfortable spot to relax over a pint. With so many excellent pubs around Shrewsbury, I’m not sure this merits more than a passing visit, but at least I got as far as ordering a pint here, which is more than can be said for the woeful other Wetherspoons just down the road.

On 18th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2402 recommendations about 2402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1)

Still a decent JDW. We had breakfast here both days we were in Shrewsbury and it was served by quick and efficient staff. Called in for a beer on Wednesday night and there was a good selection of the JDW Festival beers on the bar and the two I had were in good nick. Tried to call in on Thursday but there was a massive queue of kids waiting to get in. So it's well worth a vist during the day or midweek, but I wouldn't bother on a weekend night (starting Thursday).

31/05/2009
Very smart Lloyds No 1 bar, lots of comfy seating and alcoves. Has two bars, with several handpumps on each, although both bars had the same beers. I tried a pint of Shropshire Lad which was a little hazy, by the end of the pint (when it was too late to take it back) the slightly off taste was getting worse so I left some of it (bit of a first there). Nice enough pub, but the beer quality was definitely questionable. I'll give it another chance in a week or two.

On 3rd May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2807 recommendations about 2730 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1)

This is a very well run Lloyds and is well worth a look in. Seven ales on offer on our visit, went for the Woods Parish Bitter. Well staffed with good service. Slightly posher than your regular Spoons

On 22nd July 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2955 recommendations about 2955 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Montgomery's Tower (Lloyds No 1)

A large modern Lloyds No1 in a Deco style building. There are two counters at different ends of the building, only the left hand end was open on my lunchtime visit. The furniture is a mix of high and normal height tables and chairs. The right hand end has 7 pulls with the usual plus a number of local micros and the usual keggy stuff on a couple of T Bars. I had three members of staff trying to serve me which must been a first but the tables were cleared quick and nobody waited too long. The beer was cold even by JDW standards but once it warmed up the quality was fine. Week day trade was a number of young mums, pensioners and local six formers, although I hasten to add IDs were being checked. There are another two sets of five pulls in the other bar and the toilets are upstairs. All in all it’s pretty well run and the beer’s OK.

On 16th September 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2208 recommendations about 2053 pubs]

Page: 1 2