User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 2nd August 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon), Greenwich, SE10

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Cutty Sark Station, 210 Creek Road
SE10
SE10 9RB
Phone: 02082692000

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lester Ford left this review about The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon)

A Friday lunchtime visit while in the area, having not visited here for over a year.

I had heard that in recent years this 'spoons had gone down hill a bit & on this visit I can certainly agree, the staff were okay and the ale was kept fine but the clientele was a bit, how do I say low class!

Half busy with punters eating and drinking in equal measures. On the bar are 10 hand pumps with 8 different ales with 3 of them being from the real ale festival that was on during my visit. My pint of Bagby Brewing Co’s Back Garden @ 4.0% was very good.

I only stayed for as long as it took me to drink my ale, this place is fine for a quick lunchtime pint but not sure I'll be rushing back for a longer visit or after dark!

On 4th May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a standard 'spoons, housed in what looks like a relatively new build site, and handily placed for the Greenwich Tourist attractions. All the usual furnishings are crammed here, and it's like every other 'spoons that you've been in. There is some additional seating upstairs, but it was closed off when we visited on Wednesday lunchtime. There were a half dozen guest ales on, which to be honest is what I expect in a 'spoons.

On 27th September 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon)

2 floor spoons( didn't visit upstairs) with an open plan but yet quite dark interior. Usual deals and selections.

On 1st May 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon)

Modern glass-fronted building, with a reasonable amount of patio seating out front under the arcade. The interior is standard 'spoons stuff, with the difficult-to-notice first-floor bar being the better bet if the downstairs is crowded. Lack of staff and poor service has always been an issue here, and my latest visit was no exception. A total of seven real ales available from ten handpumps in the main bar and another five upstairs, including a so-so pint of the usually good Stiff Upper Lip from By The Horns (£2.55 on a Monday, but usually £2.75). Sadly, no improvement from one of my least favoured JDW outlets.

On 29th September 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6073 recommendations about 6073 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon)

The Gate Clock is an open plan featureless Spoons with a bar that stretches along the rear wall. Standard draught is available and I noted the presence of Hobgoblin, Bateman’s Black and White, Abbot, Young’s Special, Broadside, Doom Bar, Ruddles, Orkney Brewery’s Dark Island and Old Rosie cider on cask. The Publican was also available, which seems to be some sort of collaboration between Adnams and the American brewer Societe.

Even though busy on Wednesday afternoon there was no atmosphere and I found it to be thoroughly depressing.

On 6th June 2014 - rating: 3
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a wholly uninspiring Spoons next door to the Legoland Railway Cutty Sark Station. It's a modern place with a low ceiling and the usual mix of high and low tables and chairs.
I turned up here today at around 10:30 and the place was well busy with various people having meals.
Despite the 10 handpumps the beer selection was very poor and the prices were high for a Spoons outside of Central London.
The ten pumps were taken up with 2 Ciders (1 turned around), GK Ruddles and Abbot, Adnam's Broadside, Doombar, Bateman's Rosey Nosey, London Pride, Young's Special and Hobgoblin. There is a bar upstairs that I didn't look into.
If it wasn't for the fact that the Rosey Nosey (£2.70) was in excellent condition I think that this would have ranked as the worst Spoons I've been to this year. I certainly wouldn't return here, but to be honest I see little point in returning to the tourist trap that Greenwich is.

On 30th November 2013 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a decent sized Wetherspoons pub next to the Greenwich DLR station and close to Greenwich Market. The pub has a split level ground floor with the bar running the length of the back wall. A raised seating area takes up the front right corner of the room and there is ample additional seating available in the extended left hand side where a number of Greenwich themed artworks hang on the walls. The seating is generally very comfortable, with lots of padded chairs and just a handful of high tables and stools in the area directly opposite the bar. The front of the pub has floor to ceiling windows, but surprisingly little natural light seems to get in, thanks in part to a shading effect created by an overhang which covers the walkway outside. Upstairs there is a simple rectangular room with a second bar and some TV screens showing the afternoon’s Six Nations Rugby match.
On the bar I noted ten hand pumps offering six guest ales, two ‘Spoons regular ales and a couple of ciders. I had an interminably long wait to get served, but was eventually able to get hold of a pint of Saltaire Cascade (£2.55) which went down nicely. The staff, although slow, did seem to be getting a lot of unnecessary grief from some of the less salubrious customers, who they dealt with in a professional manner.
This isn’t a great Wetherspoons and certainly doesn’t have much of a pubby feel to it, but I thought it redeemed itself in a few areas, especially the decent ale selection. With no real stand-out pub in Greenwich, this place is worth a look now and again.

On 10th March 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon)

A fairly soulless standard beer and food by numbers Wetherspoons outlet almost next door to the Cutty Sark DLR station entrance.
Fairly bright interior, due to its corner location and significant amount of exterior glass and there is an additional upstairs area, which was not open at the time of my early lunchtime visit.
Shut your eyes and you could be in any one of the formulaic bar offerings, but if you want to catch breakfast and a pint or spend some time whilst waiting for someone to emerge from the station, then it qualifies as being fit for purpose.
Mainly because there are 10 ale hand pumps on the bar in two groups of five, and the majority were dispensing decent regional brewery beers rather than the usual OSH and Abbott house ales. These included Wolf Brewery Whistle, Hildon Scullion Irish Ale and three from the Windsor & Eton brewery including Guardsman, which was a well served pint.
So no complaints on the beer front, just expect to share your drinking experience with NASA astronauts practicing to get used to an environment with no atmosphere.

On 29th March 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon)

This modern glass fronted Wetherspoons stands on the site of previous pub called the Ship and takes its current name from the clock on the gates of the nearby Royal Observatory, the centerpiece of world time.
The interior is spread over 2 floors with the trademark Wetherspoon blandness apparent throughout. The large open ground floor has a slight raised area at the front and a few wood and steel pillars breaking up the sight lines but overall it is generally a rather featureless interior that hardly deserves more than a passing glance.There isn’t much in the way of local displays which is surprising given the amount of history and number of personalities associated with Greenwich. There is however a 1937 photo of the previous pub which will be of interest to pub historians.

It wasn’t unit my third or fourth visit that I realized there was an upstairs bar accessed by the staircase to the right of the main bar that I had always assumed led to nowhere more adventurous than the toilets. The upstairs has its own bar and a couple of flat screen TVs but again, there isn’t really much beyond the formulaic nature of ‘Spoons. There is also some outside seating under the buildings front overhang but it’s hardly relaxing with the busy traffic trundling past.

Beer wise there are 15 hand pumps (10 downstairs and 5 upstairs) but my most recent visits have seen the usual stock supplemented by numerous Adnams beers (presumably some recent local tie up) with just the occasional more interesting option. I wouldn’t normally mention food as everyone knows what to expect but I have to say that I rarely have meals as bad as I have encountered here on my last couple of visits with dishes regularly served up stone cold.

Like most ‘Spoons, the Gate Clock meets its not too stretching goals but in an area with several more interesting options for a pint, it doesn’t exactly come across as an essential visit even on a pub crawl.

On 10th February 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Gate Clock (JD Wetherspoon)

Fairly large Wetherspoon's on two levels.Has a fairly good selection of real ales. Can get packed with tourists and students. A few doors away from Cutty Sark DLR station and at the heart of Maritime Greenwich.

On 30th September 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]