User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
My reasons for removing a photo that I posted. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Scarsdale Tavern, Kensington, W8

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
23A Edwardes Square
W8
W8 6HE
Phone: 02079371811

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Robin Baldwin left this review about The Scarsdale Tavern

I used to really enjoy going to this pub, possibly twice a week, for a few evening beers. it is one of London's most upmarket! The beer to some may be expensive, but average with central London overheads. I have had some good evenings, and enjoyed the hospitality. My only criticism, is that they were rather conservative, in terms of behaviour. I could understand if drunkenness became too aggressive, but on some occasions, felt people were refused service for trivial reasons. I can remember a group of students who were quietly singing a song in Russian, when this occurred. However, am I being pedantic about a pub in London, well worth visiting? Thanks...

On 7th May 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 7 recommendations about 7 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Scarsdale Tavern

No ESB on today, I'm afraid. And a standard point deduction for pouring a pint when I clearly asked for a half. The descriptions below cannot be added upon.

On 12th October 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Scarsdale Tavern

A pleasant Fullers pub well described by Tris below,beers on were Pride ,ESB,Seafarers and Harveys Sussex Best. Its a nice pub but the beer range doesn't excite.

On 12th August 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1889 recommendations about 1862 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Scarsdale Tavern

The Scarsdale Arms, now Tavern, is a mid-Victorian pub situated in a very attractive location overlooking Edwardes Square. Out front it's quite simple, but there's a lovely verdant beer patio. You enter through an attractive cast/wrought iron porch with lantern at the centre of etched picture windows which inside, are topped with ruched curtains. The interior is quite eclectic with some walls resembling rather grand sitting rooms with paintings topped with brass picture lights, there's some dark wood panelling, bare brick painted white, charming screens with coloured stained glass and some original green banded Charrington's leaded lights. The rear is geared more towards dining, but up front you can eat where you want. To the rear there's also a tiny open kitchen; food here is more 'posh' pub grub than real gastro fayre. Furniture is a mixture of traditional styles with some settles to the windows and lighting comes courtesy of chandeliers and lanterns which illuminate a plethora of knick-knacks. Unfortunately, they allow you to see the ugly aircon vents which look more at home in an office.
Friendly staff serving: Harvey's Sussex Best, Fuller's London Pride, Gayle's Seafarer and Oliver's Island Golden Ale at £4.40 a pint which is in keeping with the area and was fine.
This was a first in here for us and we'd definitely return. Along with The Elephant & Castle, I think that this is W8's best pub but I've deducted points for the two TVs churning out the footie.

On 28th June 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2010 recommendations about 1976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Scarsdale Tavern

A small tidy gastropub in Kensington’s residential backstreets, which has the feel of a village pub in some respects despite its location. There is an attractive terrace at the front adorned with foliage, and a single u-shaped bar inside on the ground floor. It is predominantly laid to table for diners, though there is a little standing room in the centre. There is a small dining room at the back adjacent to the Lilliputian kitchenette. The pub clock is branded Moet et Chandon, and there is a selection of Champagne bottles (still full, I noted) as decoration on a shelf. The clientele was mixed, local families, a few revellers and an old bloke with a beard for whom shower gel was a mystery. On the walls were framed oil paintings where you would normally expect laminated Guinness posters. Four ales on draft, three from Fullers and a guest, Adnams Ghostship. The beer quality was average, which was a shame, but I’d still be happy to drop in for a swift pint when passing as it’s a comfortable place to spend time.

On 22nd June 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3302 recommendations about 3267 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Scarsdale Tavern

Attractive Fullers pub, with plenty of flowers and vegetation around the small front patio. Inside, it has very traditional furniture and decor and the right hand side of the compact 'U'-shaped layout is set aside for dining. Efficient bar staff and a relaxed post-work atmosphere. Four real ales on hand pump: Pride, Seafarers, the seasonal Front Row (fine but expensive at £3.85) and Harveys as a guest.

On 17th September 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 8159 recommendations about 8159 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about The Scarsdale Tavern

Fullers pub, slightly hidden by the density of the foliage along this street. We went in hoping to watch football on TV but alas no Sky Sports (After trudging the streets I rued the demise of the Kensington Arms). It was fairly busy at 8.00pm on a Tuesday but without being too full, although a fair number of people were sat on the benches at the front. On handpull there was George Gale Spring Sprinter, Butcombe Bitter (in good condition but I'm not used to paying £3.85 per pint) and London Pride. It wasn't the only pub I went in during this evening and they are all pleasant enough albeit very similar in nature. I'd happily pop in again for a pint next time I'm in this neck of the woods.

On 18th May 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Scarsdale Tavern

This is a deceptively large Fuller's pub set down a leafy side road off Kensington High Street. Its location may explain the up market feel of the place which is laid out in classic gastro-pub style. In fact the entire right hand side of the pub was set up for people to eat, leaving just the small section in front of the bar for those who wanted a drink. As such I found myself stepping outside and enjoying the views across Edwardes Square from the tidy front patio which appeared to be very popular with post-work drinkers.
Four ales were on at the bar, Fuller's London Pride and ESB, Gale's Seafarers and a guest, in this case Titanic Triple Screw which I tried and found in good shape. The two barmen were very friendly and seemed to be coping well with a constant stream of punters at the bar.
I didn't have great expectations for this place given that I was going there just to drink, but I found the location, staff and ambiance all very pleasant and would consider a return, perhaps for a meal.

On 7th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3126 recommendations about 3126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Scarsdale Tavern

I too rather like this pub, even though it has, like so many pubs in this area, gone down the gastrofication route. The foliage outside gives it a cared for appearance. I noticed that the tables at the back on the right that were not occupied by diners were still set for diners, so this must be the main dining area. In addition, the food-centric ethos is also evidenced by the small chalkboard sign on the bar advertising for sale their “Marinated olives and garlic bread”. There’s a rather attractive half screen in front of the dining area, containing three leaded light panels, each with a distinctive bird motif in the centre. This did not look like a modern reproduction to me, although the etched glass in the front windows did. No pub in this area is going to be cheap, and the Scarsdale is no exception. I didn’t make a detailed note of the menu prices, but they weren’t cheap although the food that I saw a couple of punters (sorry, that would be “diners” in this part of the world!) tucking into looked very good. The Batemans XB weighed in at £3.45 a pint, and the Seafarers at £3.15. Nonetheless, as long as you can avoid the busiest times, this is as reasonable a pub as there is in this area to drop into for a pint.

On 21st March 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Scarsdale Tavern

A solid looking building in an elegant square, you wouldn't know how close you are to busy Kensington High Street. The single room wraps around the central bar. Rather foody, with the main servery to the rear right on entering, but not so much that popping in for a drink is awkward. Most diners were based in the servery area. Wood floors, generally standard tables in 4s or smaller circular ones in 2s. Large front windows with the lower portion etched and frosted and decorative drapes above. Old champagne bottles on the window cill and along a high shelf. I liked the ceiling with its interesting timber detailing not so much as fake beams but more like a herringbone pattern. The outside has good floral displays, even at this time of year, and a few seats at metal tables. A couple of TVs on high were showing Sky Sports News but muted.
The pub is Fullers branded but there were other ales on offer, the selection was Pride, Gales Seafarers, Adnams Bitter and Batemans XB. Not a bad spot, and seeing other pubs locally have gone fully down the gastro route including ripping the guts out of places, worthy of support.

On 20th March 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1708 recommendations about 1681 pubs]

Page: 1 2