User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Seven Stars, Stourbridge

Pub added by david johnston
22 Brook Road
Oldswinford
Postal town: Stourbridge
DY8 1NQ
Phone: 01384396643

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about Seven Stars

This pub ticked all the boxes for me, a heritage pub serving over 20 ales. We spent some time in here on our Monday afternoon visit, admiring the interior and the excellent restoration work. We also enjoyed a good few beers and had a splendid lunch. We tried the BG Sips, Salopian Chameleon, plus some Black Country Ales and a few others from the extensive range on offer. Staff in here were excellent - very welcoming and chatty. This is definitely a destination pub and easy to reach from Birmingham City Centre, as it's just a short walk down the hill from Stourbridge Junction Station. A must do.

On 30th March 2020 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Will Larter left this review about Seven Stars

I lost count of the number of hand pumps, though I reckon there were 12 beers on - this soon became 11 when the beer that I bought proved to be undrinkable. The lad behind the bar was quick to exchange it for something else and the pump clip on the offending beer was turned around. Better still would have been not to sell it to me in the first place. This is the danger of having too many beers for the amount of real ale-drinking custom coming through the doors. While I was just as keen as previous reviewers when I heard that this heritage pub was reopening, I did have a little thought at the back of my mind about whether the Black Country Ales model would suit a pub in this location. I hope this was just a blip.

On 17th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Aqualung . left this review about Seven Stars

Black Country Ales latest venture is certainly an ambitious one as it does hot meals and accommodation in addition to the usual beer and bar snacks. It's a long building with a shallow and wide public bar at the front right and a plusher lounge bar to the left. Behind the Public bar counter is a roomy snug with a dart board. This can also be accessed by a door in the main entrance. There's a patio to the rear of the Lounge bar and a few parking spaces at the front.
Across the 25 hand pumps on the two bar counters I noted two Sharps beers, Worthington, four Black Country Ales doubled, two from Kinver, two from Salopian, a 4Ts beer, a Beowulf beer, Oakham JHB, Loddon Razzle Dazzle, Hanlon's Port Stout, three ciders and a couple unused. I tried the 4Ts Busman's Pale (£3.40), Kinver Crystal (£3.50), Kinver Noble & Salopian The Bends (£3.70) all of which were excellent. I also ate here which was good quality and very reasonably priced apart from JDWs and their imitators. My only minor criticism is that you can only order and consume hot meals in the lounge, hardly the end of the world and I'm sure there's a good reason for it.
I thought this place was excellent and you don't have to be a follower of historic interiors to enjoy it. It gets a strong 9.

On 11th February 2020 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Seven Stars

What a relief to see this notable heritage pub open again, and in the generally reliable hands of Black Country Ales too. The two main bars, separated by a central servery with a landmark bar-back, retain a wealth of other heritage features (including many splendid Mitchells & Butlers etched windows and some fine decorative tiling, as do the compact central lobby and the separate (if more modern) restaurant on the other side of the entrance. With 15 real ales and ciders available from the numerous handpumps, the choice is remarkable, although I ended up going for the Chain Ale (£3.40), one of five of the owning brewery's own beers on offer).

On 30th December 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Seven Stars

Looks like The Seven Stars (known locally as "The Rot Hole") is being taken on by the Black Country Ales chain. The future looks a lot brighter than it did!!

On 23rd June 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1086 recommendations about 1043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Seven Stars

Perfectly position opposite the entrance to Stourbridge Junction Station. Central bar, with rooms either side. Very well done out inside. Four real ales on and I had the eponymous Seven Stars. Not sure which brewery it is from - no doubt something else, rebranded. Decent pint. Would come back again. Some photos at my walking blog - http://bit.ly/1KpxJXR

On 16th August 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Seven Stars

A Victorian pub that has always been closed on our visits to Stourbridge - until now. In plain brick, with red paintwork, etched windows and railway style valencing, the pub is like two bay-windowed cottages next door to each other, with a small frontal gable. There is a side patio area. I think there is a third room, with a serving bar, but I only really saw the two. These were front and back rooms served by a central island bar. The decor is grey, wood panel and wallpapers of buildings. There is etched glass and coloured internal glass, with bell pushes on the rear seating - all of which gives some pedigree to the pub. There are TVs, showing sport and there was no music. The service was friendly and it was well populated with locals. Beer; usual tap stuff with Deuchar's, Theakston's XB and 7 Star's Bitter on handpull - I had the & Starts which was familiar, but I failed to note who brewed it - it was kept well enough. Not the most stunning array of real ales but worth a visit for the pub if nothing else.

On 5th June 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Anonymous User left this review about Seven Stars

This abandoned pub still has its stained glass M&B windows, splendid mahognay bar and Minton wall tiles, but sadly the pub has declined dramatically in the last decade. The star awards are made due to its heritage more than anything else. The pub is now closed - yet again! (April 2009).

Note the sign board along the rooftop! I came across this picture of almost 90 years ago in the Stourbridge library.

On 17th April 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 0 recommendations about 0 pubs]