User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

The Commercial, Herne Hill, SE24

Pub added by Philip Carter
212 Railton Road
SE24
SE24 0JT
Phone: 02077338783

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Castle (Mitchells & Butlers)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Commercial

A handsome looking pub that faces you immediately when exiting the station. The front lounge was nicely decorated and still retained a 1930's fireplace over on the left hand wall. The dining area was towards the rear of the pub and was decorated in white. Four pumps with three beers on, TT Landlord, Doombar and Redemption Trinity.

On 29th March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Commercial

Located directly opposite the railway station, with quite an attractive façade featuring a striking decorative band along the frontage. Retains two rooms, both rather dark, and one more of a lounge, but the bar on the other side has been extended to create a lighter dining area. Four handpumps on the counter, with Doom Bar, Ghost Ship and Proper Job (£4.55) available when I called in.

On 1st January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Commercial

Good busy community pub with decent beers on.Quite foodie based but felt comfortable.Trumans -zephyr,(good)Sharps -atlantic,Longman -apa and Doom.

On 21st October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Commercial

Nice enough place. can get very busy. For a large pub, it has a small gents toilet. 2 standing, 1 seated. Powerful hand dryer is over the sink, proximity activated so it the tap is running and the dryer comes on, it splashed the water everywhere. Had a Fullers ale on, can't remember the name, but it was only 4.0 and costs £4.55 a pint. The choice of food is good, but the type is very small, take a magnifying glass is you want to eat there.

On 14th July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Commercial

An open two bar place with a modern feel, some contemporary and cool music was playing in the background,the decor being a mix of white painted wood panel and exposed brick. Four hand pumps with three on, T.T Landlord ,Adnams Ghostship and Purity Mad Goose which was ok. Not a bad pub of its type.

On 9th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1325 recommendations about 1311 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Commercial

This pub had on Doom Bar, Cotleigh Uncle Sam, Rooster's Fort Smith, and Thwaites Wainwright (£4.20 a pint). This is very much a gastropub now. Main course are from £10 (for the beefburger - menu doesn't say with chips), to £14.50 for the 21-day aged bit of steak. Puds are £5.50. Par for the course I suppose.

This was once a CAMRA Regional Inventory pub, but sadly it no longer qualifies. I would guess that's because they've given it the gastropub look, having painted all the original wall panelling grey, apart from the wall on the right where they've ripped the panelling off to reveal the brickwork underneath. But some original stuff is still present, including a fair bit of wood panelling even it is painted grey, the original bar counter is still there although it's clear some of it has been resited at some point, and some of the original wood and glazed screening between the two rooms is still in place.

There are more than enough sofas in here; only one tall table/tall stools that I could see, and a few banquettes and normal tables and chairs. Not too bad I suppose. The room on the right has the inevitable exposed brick wall (where the panelling has been removed), and all the ceilings are painted light grey to match the walls. The room on the left seems to have bagged most of the sofas. But it was doing a good trade on Saturday lunchtime with almost everybody in there dining. It's clearly a thriving pub, and even though it's not the sort of "pubby" pub that I prefer, good luck to them I say. Having said that, I can't condone the cavalier way that they've treated the original features.

On 4th March 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Commercial

Last time I visited The Commercial was in the late 80s when it was a traditional pub retaining the two room format. It has changed considerably over the passage of time, the island bar remains but it is blanked off on one side now with service just on the left side of what is now a knocked through pub. The right hand side has the feel of a dining area as does the rear portion of the elongated left side of the pub. There is some exposed brickwork and plenty of wood panelling which unfortunately has been overpainted in gastro greenish grey in areas while a section towards the rear has had some form of Japanese style mural painted onto it featuring some wildfowl. Wooden flooring, mixed seating, various large paper lampshades reminiscent of Habitat cast-offs, small posies of flowers on the tables and large white candles in glass jars on the window cills. Paper menus on the tables list the bar menu and the fixed price version, £10/13 for 2/3 courses.
Leaded windows, some with the trademark Charrington's banding, this leaded glass design repeated along a section of the bar back where a large gong is suspended, presumably for calling time/last orders. At the end of the bar a faux chalkboard lists the bottled beer menu. Four handpumps, Doom Bar, Peerless All American £4.10!), Titanic Cappuccino and the remaining one with the clip turned around. Considering the price of the Peerless brew, a bottle of Duvel or Chimay looks decent value at £4.45 for an 8%er.
There was a TV on the far end wall, switched off at the time while music played at a background level.
The pub certainly now has pretensions, possibly aiming for the gastro market although I didn't see anybody eating. I think I prefer the pub as I recall it, a regular local's pub which always used to seem busy and lively.

On 25th May 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Commercial

This place was very busy on my recent week night visit, but I wasn't overly impressed and would only visit again if waiting for a train from the station across the road.

There was a selection of premium lagers along with Pride, Bombardier and Adnams German Kolsch and there was another ale but this was off. The barmaid was very friendly, but the clientele were of the ilk that knows not how to wait in turn or keep their conversations to themselves.

I spotted a plasma screen that was off and I saw no advertisements for Sky, which didn't surprise me as this doesn't seem the sort of place that sports fans would congregate. I did however spot a man in his fifties wearing ultra tight clothes and a burgundy beret, something I hope that I never see again.

This is the only pub I have been into in this area, but there must be better about.

On 15th November 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Commercial

Is it under new management? Certainly the commitment to a variety of decent real ale from other than boring mainstream offerings seems to have vanished, causing me to do the same without imbibing recently.

20 August 2008
'85-'89 were our years of almost permanent residence; darts & camaraderie being the main draw in those days. Long since changed shape and added a decent selection of changing beers, usually veering a little from mainstream but seldom, if ever, featuring micros. The beers are usually well kept so it was most disappointing to hear of a friend's experience with bad pints & even worse staff attitude to changing them - I thought the current mgr was enthusiastic about his ales, so I doubt he'd be happy to read about his staff arguing with (ahem) experienced drinkers about beer which was clearly 'wrong'. Sad to hear the damning verdict, let's hope it causes the Commercial to review standards & improve quality.

28 April 2007
The only place in Herne Hill (or Tulse Hill or West Norwood for that matter) for decent real ale. Four handpumps change on rotation and are well kept. The range isn't too radical but the mainstreams are supplemented with some decent alternatives such as Timothy Taylors, Brains SA etc, also Addlestones cider and some weissbiers. Used to drink in here late80s when I first moved south so I regret the loss of the lovely wood panelling and 50% of the old horseshoe bar but the place still retains some charm & is now busy in the evenings so the conversion is evidently a success, no doubt aided by its location directly outside HH train station. Food & wine menus pretty much the same as the Greyhound in Dulwich. Good pub.

On 20th August 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Commercial

Large pub opposite Herne Hill station. Food served all day. Real ale availble, but I can't remember which ones.

On 10th August 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]