User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Most seen bands with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

The Old House, Sheffield Central, Sheffield

Pub added by James Joines
113-117 Devonshire Street
Sheffield
S3 7SB
Phone: 01142766002

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Devonshire

My first visit here since its reinvention as the Devonshire. There are now four hand pumps but the beer selection is quite different, with one from True North brewery (just around the corner), two from Dark Star (almost as far away as you can get without dipping your toes in La Manche) and Bradfield Belgian Blue (the winter-only beer from a few miles out of Sheffield). I didn't fancy the Dark Star Creme Brulee, a beer that does exactly what it says on the pump clip without tasting at all like a beer, and went for the True North Pale, not seeing until too late that it was single hopped with Cascade. Should have gone for the Dark Star Hop Head. (I know that's cascade too, but at least it's a tried and trusted brew. True North beers are somewhat variable, and this was no exception.)

The pub is now much smarter than before, with more of a cafe-bar feel to it. This was exemplified by the approach of a waitress as I came in, asking if I was here to eat or just for a drink. After I had taken my beer to a dining table (there is no other sort and they're somewhat regimented) I observed a couple come in and go straight to a table without even looking at the bar - it's that sort of place now. The sound track is ok if you don't mind listening to Space Oddity again. And Dock of the Bay. And Under the Boardwalk. OK, maybe not so good after all.

Some people will no doubt like this new version of the former pub, but my bet is they won't be the same people that used to like it as the Old House.

On 28th January 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Old House

The Old House looks a bit more pub like than other bars on devonshire street.
Once inside there is a square shaped room with the bar facing,the room is divided into two halfs by a wall.
The floor is bare boarded and the seating mainly normal tables and chairs.
There was a good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Ilkley Mary Jane which was a very nice well kept beer,the other beers i noted were Ilkley Joshuar Jane,Bradfield Farmers Blonde,Barnsley bitter and Black Iris.
The pub had a really nice laid back atmosphere.
I quite liked this one.

Pub visited 19/4 2014

On 27th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Old House

Interesting building, there is central entrance porch that opens into a full space twith the bar at the end. Broken by pillar walls there are two side areas.

Finely decorated with a lot of thought into the relaxed decor, it feels homely and relaxing despite the high ceiling. Nice serving glass ware as well.

Altogether the best central pub I visited.

On 17th December 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Old House

We called early doors, so were able to have a good look around. Apart from all the bits and bobs mentioned below, I did manage to see an assortment of cymbals displayed on the wall near the bar. Also, I noticed an extensive menu of Trappist beers on offer. Six ales on the bar, I went for the Springhead Leveller. Staff were friendly and helpful.

On 24th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Old House

Still going strong with an increased number of handpumps, now up to 5. Beer quality is still excellent and it was very busy even on a Wednesday evening. The music is at a low volume during the day and early evening and only gets louder once food service has finished. It does live two different lives depending on the time of day, but I like both of them

12/09/2011
Called in again on Friday to find that this pub appears to have changed the emphasis on who they are catering for. Perhaps they've realised that students don't have any money. At 10 it was full of 30+ somethings and the music was fairly mainstream U2, Elton John etc. The beer was just as good as ever. I'll up it to a 9 now.

29/10/2010
Well Chris this user and Ms CAMRA both love it. It does get very busy and dark in the evenings and we were the oldest people in by about 20 years, but it wasn't a problem. There's a DJ at nights who plays indie rock at sensible volumes so you can still sit and chat. The walls are covered with old album covers and albums both vinyl & CD along with a growing range of pump clips. It sells decent and unusual food too, pork belly stuffed with black pudding served with prunes & apricots anyone? Fresh flowers on the tables during the day & large candles at night. During the day it serves a much more varied age of clientele. The students still like it but so do their mums & dads I suspect. The house beer is Abbeydale Moonshine and they were also serving Kelham Islands 45 rpm & Pale Rider. All three were in excellent condition as well. The other half says the wine is good and it's a newcomer to the GBG 2011. What's not to like? We called in 3 times during 2 days. I would say it's a 9 by day and a 7 by night for us oldies, so 8 it is then :-))

On 12th December 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2819 recommendations about 2742 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Old House

This is a spacious, modern bar which seems to specialise in bottled beers, as well as offering reasonably priced homemade food. You enter through a glass entrance corridor which affords glimpses into the pub itself. The bar is opposite the entrance along the back wall with a large empty space in front ideal for vertical drinking. There are seating areas either side of the entrance corridor, both of which have wooden floors and standard table and chair arrangements, with just the one raised banquette to the left of the bar. The left hand side of the pub has a nice fireplace and the walls have been decorated with a number of old metallic beer advertisements and a large mural depicting a scene from prohibition era America. The other side has an exposed brick wall covered with some small pictures and a number of fans. An old record player is also on display and the bar area has a lot of old LP covers stuck on the beams as well as the records themselves lining the walls up the staircase. The clientele were mostly students and I suspect that is a key target market for the pub, although a number of them appeared to be there with their parents and there is nothing to suggest that the pub won’t appeal to a wider range of people.
Four handpulls offered a selection of Kelham Island Pride of Sheffield, Bradfield Farmers Stout, Brew Co First Born and Phoenix Spotland Gold. The First Born was well kept and all beers are listed on a large blackboard near the door which also details the keg range. A great many bottles are available as well, with a comprehensive bottle menu available to help you make your choice.
Whilst not a traditional pub by any stretch of the imagination, this is still somewhere that will appeal to a wide range of people and would be a good choice to take friends who perhaps aren’t into real ale.

On 5th May 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2425 recommendations about 2425 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Old House

I've never felt really comfortable here, because there's always music at a fairly high volume, which for me makes it hard to follow a conversation if I'm with more than one or two people. On the other hand, it isn't somewhere I'd really want to sit and drink a pint while doing the Guardian crossword.

That said, it's not a bad place, with its strange collection of LP sleeves, and indeed the vinyl discs themselves, adorning the walls. A selection of five ales on offerwhen I was here last week, but as so often in Sheffield these days it's only really aimed at the pale and hoppy end of the spectrum: Abbeydale Transformation, Moonshine and Epiphany, Kelham Island Pride of Sheffield, with Bradfield Farmers Stout for our malt-loving friends.

On 17th January 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Old House

The Old House is an exceedingly trendy, dimly lit bar that most users, I am sure, will loath. It is expensive, and attracts a young crowd and I really like it. There's usually Landlord and a couple of local ales on (e.g. Moonshine) as well as an array of the more high-end lagers. Because of its size it gets busy rather quickly, but it is still worth a look and the pick of Division Street.

On 12th June 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]