User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with hondo on the Pub Forum

Codsall Station, Wolverhampton

Pub added by Gerald Scrivens
Chapel Lane
Codsall
Postal town: Wolverhampton
WV8 2EH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Codsall Station

Nicely done conversion of the Grade II-listed station buildings by Holden's. The bar area has seating on two sides, with a separate lounge off to the left and further seating in a conservatory and out on the patio in the other direction. A few additional wooden benches can also be found out front in the forecourt. Three of the brewery's real ales - Bitter, Golden Glow (£3.00) and Special - plus Abbeydale Moonshine and Pimp my Ride from Fixed Wheel as guests.

On 1st July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5968 recommendations about 5968 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Station

A pint of Black Country mild and a cheese & onion cob - paradise, railway porn as well, and in an old station? Ooh better than paradise unless it was Sarah Hughes rather than the excellent Holdens version, then I'd just faint with delight. A couple of curious looks on entering but no hostility probably as I was on my own not in a "thuggish" group of PuG drinkers. We had the same problem with an idiot couple in York as I remember. In the same class as Stalybridge and the Railwaymans at Bridgnorth.

On 15th September 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2208 recommendations about 2053 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Station

This is a lovely conversion of a railway building.

It is shut during the afternoon, unusal these days, but is a nice pub with a patio. The beer, its ok, but as below needs just that little bit more. But go and try it, its unusual, done out well & worth a visit.

On 12th July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Station

A mixed bag this one for me, I did like the fact that it is a converted railway station pub and the interior was very well refurbished in keeping with the railway theme. They also had a choice of five ales across five pumps, three from Holdens and two guest. The real downside here was the local drinkers who took exception to our presence. A few of us took up space near the arched entrance to the side lounge and didn't obstruct locals from passing us by. I did notice some stern looking faces from a few of the locals, who most probably believe they own the place. Beer wise I went for the Sarah Hughes Surprise, which was a good choice on the day. Maybe a visit off peak, might have made for a more pleasurable experience.

On 2nd July 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2955 recommendations about 2955 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Station

A Holdens tied house ,and a proper pub rather than station micro pub.It's very well done with lots of railway ephemera,a multi room layout and a traditional feel.It was certain busy afterwork on a Friday.
At the bar on my trip was Holdens Bitter,Golden Glow (fine),Black Country Special and Dragons Blood with a sole guest of Sarah Hughes Surprise.The only downside here is the tie to Holdens ,fine if you like their rather sweet house style but not over appealing to me.
However it's a good interior and worthy of an hours wait until the next train.Heavily used by the local folk.

On 25th June 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2049 recommendations about 2049 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Station

Pubs that are converted from old railway buildings out in the sticks in my experience are usually good places for a drink. This is no exception and the fact it's a Holden's tied house that is also GBG 2014 listed makes it a "must visit" pub for me. It is situated on the Down platform, although there is no direct access from the pub to the platform. Normally it is just the hourly service between New Street and Shrewsbury that stops here.
Inside there is a small bar area with another small room off it and a corridor leading to a small conservatory styled room and a raised patio. The patio is perfect for train spotters as it overlooks the lines. The whole place is predictably adorned with items of Railway memorabilia.
On the bar were the four Holden's beers, Mild, Bitter, Golden Glow & Special along with two guests Kelham Island Pale Rider and Abbeydale Orange Wheat.
I went for the Mild (£2.50), Bitter (£2.60), Golden Glow (£2.80) and Abbeydale Orange Wheat (£3.00). All were in excellent condition.
I thought this was a classic pub and well worth a day return from Wolverhampton.

On 15th June 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Station

Visited as part of the R.A.T. Beer festival , as pointed out in previous reviews the pub is a conversion of the old station building , there is lots of railway memorabilia dotted around .
Beers were mainly Holdens , Bitter , Mild , Special and Golden Glow and a couple of guests one of which was a very nice exmoor gold.
The main reason for my visit was the beer festival run in conjunction with the Odfellows in Shifnal and Old Fighting Cocks in Oakengates , a Marquee in the old coalyard had around thirty ales mostly from smaller breweries and very good it was .
Realy enjoyed my visit here and will certainly all again

On 8th September 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 775 recommendations about 664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Thorpe left this review about The Station

Love this place and you certainly can't complain about the walk from the station as it is situated in the old station buildings. Holdens mild is usually on offer (look out for the pump hidden in the corner) along with the usual Holdens range and guest beers as mentioned. The food is of good quality; I recommend the gammon but found the curry portions on the small side. Also on offer are great pork pies. If you are waist watching, don't go !!

On 15th September 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 130 recommendations about 126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about The Station

This is a Holden’s pub presented in their usual traditional style. As the name suggests it was once the actual Codsall railway station building, there is still evidence of this in the furnishings and decor which includes many items of steam railway memorabilia. As you enter through the main door there is a small bar straight ahead with only three tables, opposite the bar next to the entrance is a small lounge with an open coal fire, to the left of the bar is a corridor which leads to a conservatory extension with four tables which is very often used for dining. There is a short menu of simple homemade food. The railway line is still active and occasional trains cause fittings in the pub to rattle a little! Which I think adds a bit of unusual character.

Regular Ales are Holden’s Bitter, Mild, Golden Glow, Special and two changing guest beers, one of which is usually from a small brewery in Staffordshire or neighbouring counties and the other from further a field (GBG2010). Please note the Mild is very easy to miss as it’s not on the main bar counter with the other hand pulls, but tucked away on the left with its pump clip turned sideways so it can be seen when stood at the bar.

A brilliant real ale pub and a great example of how to create a traditional pub from a building that has never been a pub before. Generally I have found the beer to be well kept and the pub has won many awards which are displayed above the bar.

On 14th March 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Station

The exterior can be seen in the picture above, just need to add there is a beer patio as well. The interior is open plan; with a smaller lounge, with a nice fireplace and bench seats and GWR carpet; a general bar and a dining area. The decor was plain wall, earthy red, with lots of railway memorabilia as you would expect. It is done out very nicely. I love the place. Sadly there are problems. Beer; apart from tap tosh this place had Holdens bitter, Golden Glow and Special - No MILD (why?) the Special was at best mediocre. Two guests, Fat Cat Brewery's Marmalade Cat and Cannonball Express, however, i didnt try anything else after the Special wasnt that good. The other point was the, at best, functional service from the barman

On 27th August 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]

Page: 1 2