User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Gate Inn, Nottingham

Pub added by BEN UNSWORTH
Main Street
Awsworth
Postal town: Nottingham
NG16 2RN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Gate Inn

Heritage pub in a somewhat strange location on the former Main Street between Awsworth and Kimberley now severed for vehicular traffic by the A610 dual carriageway. The multi-room interior has been remodelled and refurbished several times but retains some character (although it's much lighter inside than I expected). Also has a front seating terrace and rear patio beer garden. With a total of seven handpumps (including two in the small entranceway counter), there was an excellent choice of real ales in different styles plus a cider. Eschewing one of the three Welbeck Abbey beers, I risked the Bradfield Plum Bitter (£3.55) which was in great condition and thankfully not too fruity.

On 6th April 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7021 recommendations about 7021 pubs]


Steve of N21 left this review about Gate Inn

Although sitting on what laughingly is called Main Street the approach to this pub is not very promising at all as this dead end road soon turns into something resembling a mini industrial estate and if I hadn’t been aware that it has been the winner of several local CAMRA branch awards over the last few years I could have easily driven straight past it.
As mentioned below the Gate Inn re-opened in December 2010 as a free house after being sold by Green King and has since then established itself as a quality real ale outlet.
Internally it is a collection of four rooms including a lounge, a snug and one called The Forty Arches room, which might have been a reference to the nearby Bennerley railway Viaduct. But we decided to park ourselves in the main bar room, with its beer chalk board and serving hatch out to the interconnecting corridor.
Alongside Rosie Pigs cloudy rhubarb cider there were six local real ales on in the shape of Welbeck Abbey Cavendish and Portland Black stout, Abbeydale Moonshine, Shipstones Original, Blue Monkey Infinity and Falstaf Delboy. Between us we tried four of them and they were all in very good nick.
As well as having a shooting range / skittles alley at the back of the pub, which was being well utilised by the locals on our visit, the pub is also home to the Black Pigs Morris Men, who were practicing on the front terrace whilst we were there. The Black pigs are more towards the gothic horror end of the Morris men tradition and it was quite spooky to see a painted Death mask face appear at regular intervals at the serving hatch ordering sustenance.
The landlord and landlady were very welcoming and clearly running a good community pub, and long may it continue.

On 22nd August 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1816 recommendations about 1754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Gate Inn

The Gate in Awsworth is a standalone pub down what turns Into a small country lane linking thevillage with Kimberley about a mile up the Road. Now an indipendant free house after the owners bought the pub off a disinterested Green King following the takeover of Hardy and Hansons the Gate has flourished ever since. The pub is segregated into several different rooms with the main bar being on the left hand side as you enter. There has been a huge investment in the pub in the years following the departure of Greene king and thz pub has been refurbished throughout to a high standard. The decor is actually a lot more modern with hard woon flooring and light colours than you might expect, OK in warm sunny weather but something I could imagine might be a bit att odds in the winter. The landlady was wery nice and turned the sound on the TV when she saw we were interested in the six nations and delivered a good run through of the ales available without prompt when she saw us inspecting the pumps. My Burton Bridge bitter (£3.30) was top class and probably the best kept pint of the day with the six other choices comprising of Acorn Brewery's drop kick and Steel cow , welbeck kaise, Bradfield farmers stout, stancill 6 nations, and Home Ales little John a very good mix of styles and strengths. Overall I was very impressed with the pub and the ale was top notch. Definitly worth a visit if around the Kimberly area

On 5th April 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 455 recommendations about 455 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Gate Inn

The Gate Inn is a three storey bare brick built pub that is situated away from the main road.
Once inside this is a proper old pub that has got a few different rooms with a smallish bar and lounge,the pub used to be a Kimberley tied house and had two real ales on the bar with Kimberley bitter being a decent drink the other beer was Kimberley mild.
After GK took over Kimberley brewery and their pubs the Gate gradually got neglected and GK sold it off and the future looked grim for this pub.
The good news is that the pub has had a new lease of life and it now has 6 real ales on the bar from smaller breweries.

Pub first visited 13/10/1982

Photo taken 31/10/2008

On 8th April 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]