User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with trainman on the Pub Forum

The Salutation, Hammersmith, W6

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
154 King Street
W6
W6 0QU
Phone: 02087483668

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Salutation

I'd not visited before but was immediately struck by the magnificant blue tile and red brick exterior dating to 1910. Unfortunately the interior didn't live up to the expectations being somewhat dull and ordinary. A Fuller's house, the ales are well kept although the selection limited. The food, I thought, was on the expensive side (the portion of chips accompanying my meal comprised about six thin chips served up in a souvenir china Fuller's mug. They looked a bit lost and sorry for themselves in the mug - I thought at least I'd be able to keep the mug at that inflated price but, sadly, not. All in all not particularly good value, ambience or overall experience.

On 29th March 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Salutation

Decent Fuller's pub, and well worth the walk westwards along King Street away from hideous gyratory system that passes for Hammersmith's town centre. Used to get very crowded and loud after work, with limited furniture at the front to maximise standing room around the bar. However, seems quieter these days and you can usually find somewhere a bit quieter at the back or in the conservatory if you need to. Patio beer garden to rear. Three banks of three handpumps offering Pride, ESB and a seasonal (e.g. Front Row, £3.35).

On 12th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Salutation

Visited in June 2010

Situated along Hammersmith's main drag - King Street - The Salutation is immediately noticeable for its impressive and distinctive Edwardian blue tiled frontage. A notice on the outside tells us that "an old coaching inn has stood on the site since 1750. It was proud then, as it is now, of its traditional beers, travellers fayre and warm welcome". The current building dates back to 1910.

Inside, we find a long spacious single bar that has been opened out from its original incarnation, but retains some original features - mahogany bar back and fittings - and is not unpleasant. A recent refurbishment has not been dramatic, but seems to be indicative of a desire to be more of a bar than a traditional pub. We have a mixture of sofas, high tables and perches and, most unusually, a church pew style arrangement of 6 seats directly facing the TV screen over the bar. Disappointingly, the tiled entrance no longer displays the pictures of the Queen Mother when she visited the fine garden at the back of the pub in 1989.

The bar leads past a small conservatory style area into a largish paved beer garden with seating booths and a BBQ facility. A recent addition here is a table football machine and tournaments are planned. I'm doubtful whether outside is the best place for this table - who wants to hear the inevitable clattering sound whilst relaxing here away from the hustle and bustle of the nearby shops ?.

The Salutation seems to be trying to cover all angles and a postcard sized advertising flyer promotes the pub as offering "Food, Drink, Entertainment, Sports". It's also claiming to be Hammersmith's No 1 sports venue, a claim that I suspect could be legitimately challenged.

On the beer front, the London Pride - £ 3.05p - was in good form and the pub is listed in the 2010 CAMRA Good Beer Guide. Sadly, the long standing landlord, Southampton - supporting Rob, left at the time of the recent refurbishment and it is to be hoped that the excellent beer quality will be maintained by the new management team.

I suppose only time will tell whether this new venture will be a success or not. From my perspective, it's lost something of that pubbiness that it had when Rob was around, but it's still a reasonable place for a pint if passing through.

On 18th October 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Salutation

Despite having undergone a certain amount of refurbishments, the Salutation had always stopped short of being considered trendy or clubbified and still carries the air of the traditional style boozer that it has no doubt been since the current building was built in 1910. Reports of a recent more severe overhaul had me scampering to make sure things ahdn’t been ruined so I was pleased to see that the alluring blue tiled façade with its upper bay windows and ornate sills remained untouched. The changes inside are subtle but noticeable and unfortunately don’t really make any worthwhile enhancements. The tiled entrance provides the first signs of change. Gone are the historical snippets and pictures of the Queen Mum gracing the rear garden. In their place is a series of posters advertising the upcoming live music and quiz nights.

The knocked through interior still has the same spacious and roomy layout but the raised area at the front has now been removed creating a larger area of flat floorspace that makes it all seem a bit bare. The décor and furnishings are similar with the addition of a stuffed deers head and some fancy jumble sale light fittings. Opposite the bar is an interesting but quite impractical raised sectioned pew seat. Large potted plants mingle with the sofas, quiz machines and there are a couple of TVs mainly for sport. The background music that was once barely noticeable is now far more intrusive than I recall from previous visits. There is a good amount of natural light courtesy of a skylight at the rear and a brick lined conservatory area that leads to the paved beer garden with trellises, ivy clad alcoves and built in BBQ. The beer is always of good standard but given the 9 hand pumps, there never seems to be more than 3 ales available (Pride, ESB and Bengal Lancer on my recent visit). Prices are quite good for the area. The Sally does have a reasonably wide appeal but I can’t help feel that it has taken one step further to moving away from its roots and falling more in line with its trendier neighbours. Where the next refurb will take it is anyone’s guess.

On 28th April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Salutation

Met up with a mate in here to watch the football, as very few pubs in the area seemed to have sky. The refurbishment on this place, which appears to be recent, must have cost a fortune, such is the look of the wallpaper, furnishings and lighting. Adequate pint of Chiswick served alongside the usual range plus a guest ale which rather took me by surprise. If I was in the area again I'd probably give it a go but couldn't see myself staying there all that long. The Swan, a nearby Nicholson's pub, looks a better bet for a session on the ale.

On 1st February 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Salutation

Made the effort to go here based solely on judging the book by its cover – in this case a splendid purple Edwardian tiled façade. However the inside doesn’t live up to expectations, it’s a lifeless corporate refurbishment in a desperate attempt to shift it upmarket (pot plants, sofas, overly muted lighting, Bobby Brown on the stereo) – though if so posh why have fruit machines and quizzer? It looks like it once had two bars that have since been knocked through. Despite a multitude of pumps there were three Fullers ales available plus a guest (Osset) which in fairness came out well. All in all, it’s a pretty impersonal experience and I doubt I’ll be heading back in a hurry. If Fullers corporate monkeys had any insight they'd have turned this into a destination ale pub with an interior to match the outside allure.

On 1st February 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Salutation

Before I stepped foot into this place I had visions of a dark and dank beer pit, but I was pleasantly surprised. A skylight illuminates the pub and the doors in the conservatory leading to the ample patio garden let the pub aerate. The adding of the conservatory also makes the pub much larger than one would assume from the front of the building.

The drinks on offer were ESB, Pride, HSB, Discovery and standard lagers. I've read the raving reviews of this pub in the past so I decided to ditch the usual Lager tipple and plumped for a Discovery, which was very nice.

The staff were friendly and with the Sky TV I could imagine sitting in here a lot more if it was local to me.

On 3rd June 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Salutation

It was fairly empty when I dropped in there on a Friday lunchtime the other day. A pretty decent pub by any standards, and definitely the best in the immediate vicinity. Looks like it has retained a lot of its original character in the furnishings and fittings. The service was quick and friendly enough - but it was fairly empty. Food was good, although it was expensive. The only (minor) fault for me was that the Pride was servied at about the right temperature for Discovery, but too cold for Pride. I don't think I would got far out of my way to visit again, but worth a visit if you are in the area.

On 12th September 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]