User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Cross Keys, W6

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
57 Black Lion Lane
W6
W6 9BG
Phone: 02087483541

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Cross Keys

Pleasant enough small back-street Fullers pub but offering nothing special. Only two ales but the Pride was in excellent form (well, let's face it - it didn't have to travel far). Overall I rate it only slightly above average.

On 27th February 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Cross Keys

Excellent Fullers pub, with a friendly 'local' atmosphere. Not much space in the front part of the bar, but if you proceed down the side you will find a rather larger lounge beyond (with unusually light furniture and decor for an otherwise traditional London pub). Small patio at the front and beer garden to rear. Beer-wise, it is only Pride and one other (currently Black Cab stout) from the bank of four handpumps, but the quality is first class. Well worth seeking out.

On 15th December 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Cross Keys

Visited in June 2010

The Cross Keys is a smallish, traditional Fullers pub situated in a residential area between the Great West Road ( A4) and Hammersmith's King Street. It's on the other side of the A4 from the better known Black Lion.

It's a pleasant pub with much light pine wood panelling. A small L shaped bar at the front leads into a larger open area behind and an outside garden with a covered smoking shelter.

The pub has a real community feel and it's evident that much work is done in raising money for charity. A framed print of a magazine article tells us that this is James May's local and he describes it as a proper local "free of the distractions of passing trade". A "Chippy Menu" is offered, which is basically chips with whatever takes your fancy.

On my recent visit, 3 of the 4 pumps were serving London Pride and the other one Seafarers. Perhaps the absence of passing trade means that there's no need to offer a wider range of Fullers beers - eg Chiswick, ESB.

This is a perfectly adequate, if unremarkable, pub in an area where traditional community locals seem to be desperately thin on the ground.

On 18th October 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Keith Oswin left this review about The Cross Keys

Good old pub that does what it says on the tin. Serves a decent pint of Fullers (although I'm personally not a great fan of London Pride) and is friendly with good hearty pub food. Regular local clientele which has to indicate they're getting it right and don't be surprised if you're rubbing shoulders with James 'Top Gear' May or Timothy '007' Dalton.

On 6th September 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 18 recommendations about 18 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Cross Keys

Situated down a quiet but attractive residential street, this Fullers pub is slightly off the beaten track but is worth popping in if passing. It is a bit of a pub of two halves, the traditional style front bar with tiled entrance, patterned windows and bare floors whilst the rear section is a more spacious room with a vaulted roof, paneled walls and large rugs on the bare floors. It seems to have been brightened up a bit since my previous visit and felt a lot lighter than I remembered. Outside is a patio with bench tables and a covered section with a couple of sofas.

My only visits here have been on early evenings when things have been pretty quiet but I don’t get the impression that the customer base is anything other than friendly or welcoming. Service was good although the playful cat will deliver a scything claw when he has decided that he has had enough attention!

Sadly the Fullers beer range isn’t very extensive with 3 pumps showing London Pride and the fourth Gales Seafarers which I opted for. The quality was very good (they are Cask Marque accredited) and at £2.95, quite reasonable for the area. The menu was mainly standard pub grub with main courses around the £8/9 mark.

Events being advertised included Poker nights and quiz evenings and there is a movable Flat Screen TV as well as a Big Screen n the rear bar and darts area in the front bar.

The pub is nothing grand or pretentious but has a certain intrinsic value that other pubs take for granted and with a bigger beer selection would be worth more than a passing glance

On 8th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Cross Keys

This is a Fuller’s pub, but they do not do Chiswick, although the Pride at £2.70 a pint is a pretty good substitute – and it was in good nick. There are a few tables and chairs in the front of the pub, and a fairly large seating area past the bar at the back of the pub. When I was in a jovial bunch of locals seemed to be enjoying a long-running post-prandial session.
All in all this is a pretty comfortable and welcoming pub in a quiet street leading from King St. A real pub - highly recommended

On 1st October 2008 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Cross Keys

This place is nicely tucked away between the A4 and King Street giving it a nice relaxed feel away from all the hustle and bustle. The usual lager suspects are present along with 4 London Pride pumps. I usually drink lager, but opted for the Pride as I thought that it must be good if that is all the pub sells. Very nice. The barman was very friendly and polite and the locals seemed harmless, maybe even friendly.

The pub is not that big, but it is fit for purpose and there is covered and uncovered seating in a reasonably sized beer garden which is to the rear of the pub. With the music at a very nice volume and the dart board tucked around the side of the bar I felt a little aggrieved that this pub wasn't nearer to my work.

On 4th June 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3587 recommendations about 3566 pubs]