User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with hondo on the Pub Forum

The Robert Gillow, Lancaster City Centre, Lancaster

Pub added by BEN UNSWORTH
64 Market Street
Lancaster
LA1 1HP
Phone: 0152436092

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Jon B left this review about The Robert Gillow

not the best beer although plenty of choice, extremely cramped as others have said, and it lacks any real pub atmosphere. very much aimed at the trendy middle class of Lancaster, often frequented by groups of university academics. there's nothing much terribly wrong with it but it's just a bit tedious.

On 3rd June 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 631 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Robert Gillow

Apparently refurbished last year (not that I noticed much difference – read into that what you will) and seems to have a good turnover of customers. Six ales on, we went for the Battlefield Saxon Gold, Beer Studio Citra and Lancaster Black (the former was ok, the two latter on good form). There’s so many good pubs in Lancaster, this one has done well to establish itself as a ‘should do’. 7.5

August 2010
A fairly new pub (from 2007 - formerly a grocer’s shop) named after a renowned furniture-maker that has been given that text book Victorian ‘look’ on the exterior, though the lovely curved windows are apparently original features. Hydes own the place and you’ll see three of their ales there; they are invariably in good nick but can be pretty bland affairs at the best of times. The interior is smaller than you might expect - long and narrow, with the bar at the far end. Apparently upstairs there is a lounge with sofas. The interior is clean and tidy. Not necessarily one to go out of the way for but worth a visit if crawling the town. Rated 7

On 2nd October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Robert Gillow

Have been in before and enjoyed it. Did so again although on Wednesday afternoon there was only me in. A narrow pub with the bar on the right. Beers listed on the wall which indicated Jaipur was on, but when I asked, it had just gone off. Had Black Hole Milky Way @ 6% ABV which was fine.

On 15th July 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1474 recommendations about 1472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lester Ford left this review about The Robert Gillow

With only enough time to tick just 1 pub in Lancaster between trains I made the short stroll here as it appears in the 2017 GBG.

6 ales available, Ilkley’s Mary Jane was very good and went down a treat. Pretty busy with the evening crowd starting to filter out into the City. The atmosphere was very good with the clientele being slightly older and made up of couples and small groups.

From a flying visit I really liked this place and have earmarked it for a return when hopefully I have more time to enjoy it.

On 19th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Robert Gillow

I found this pub to be pleasant the drinks good. It was a bit cramped though.

On 21st January 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3369 recommendations about 3285 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Robert Gillow

Sorry had a bad visit could not get to the bar for a drink the managers child was doing his home work on the small bar the manageress said she would not be a minute she was on her phone we waited long enough and left nobody else was in Thursday teatime about 5pm

On 21st March 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Robert Gillow

A friendly welcoming pub, which opens at 8am. A good musicians pub this one, were the piano does get used, rather than collecting dust. The Lancaster Blonde had just gone on that morning, so we enjoyed a few more before the station. Another note to add, was they sold fresh oysters and were advertised at the bar. The barmaid was telling us that she has to open them also. An interesting pub, well worth a look.

On 24th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2906 recommendations about 2906 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Robert Gillow

A typical shop conversion, though it went through a period as a restaurant before its present incarnation. Named after the Lancaster half of the furniture makers Waring & Gillow, there are references to the firm in pictures on the walls made from old catalogues and photos. I've got a theory that the eclectic mix of tables, chairs and sofas is also a hint at a theme, but maybe I'm reading too much into that.

The windows are beautifully curved and provide the perfect spot to see or be seen, if you like that kind of thing. The bar is right at the back of the shop, oops pub, with three hand pumps serving Hydes Bitter (though you have to ask for Original) plus their XXXX Strong Ale and a guest from Allgates: Citra, made with the hop which "delivers a massive tropical fruit salad of aromas and could easily fool one into thinking you are drinking tropical fruit juice, ala Um Bongo", according to the Allgates brewery website. Hmmm. I think I'll just have a pint of Original, please.

On 17th February 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2432 recommendations about 2296 pubs]