User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
To Close or Not To Close? with Spinko on the Pub Forum

King's Head, Huddersfield

Pub added by James Joines
Huddersfield Railway Station, St. Georges Square
Huddersfield
HD1 1JF
Phone: 01484511058

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about King's Head

This pub was the main meet up point for our recent PuG crawl of Huddersfield, although a hardy few had already been in the Cherry Tree first. I didn't really take to this pub at all. Yes, it's got a great range of ales, but it just feels unfinished and not very comfortable. Even with two large groups in it felt empty. I'd call in again to see what beers were on but it would then be JAQPTIO. :-))

On 7th December 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2855 recommendations about 2776 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Kings Head (Station Tavern)

Very different from the Head of Steam at the other end of the grand station building, this is a basic pub with an emphasis on just one thing - beer. Not been in for over nine years, with no direct access from the platform anymore, and the main room has now been fully opened out into one large space that felt very 'unfilled' by the plain wooden furniture (or, indeed, other customers) when I arrived. However, this open arrangement now allows you to see the interesting tile-work and other original features to full effect. With snow coming down outside, the two log fires were very welcome as I was waiting for others to arrive. Great range of real ales from a total of ten handpumps: a pair from both Timothy Taylor and Naylor's (including NYB, £2.70), and one each from Bradfield, Magic Rock, Pictish, Saltaire, Empire and Vocation. Also had the Abbeydale Hop Smash on the keg taps.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6090 recommendations about 6090 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Kings Head (Station Tavern)

Of the two Craft and Cask pubs resident in the former waiting rooms of the fabulous Grade I listed Huddersfield Railway station, this one in the East Wing is still probably second behind the Head of Steam when it comes to pub character. But it certainly isn’t in terms of beer choice and quality and on an absolutely foul Friday lunchtime with horizontal sleet cutting you in half as you approached across St George Square it was a wonderful refuge for the first pint of the day.
The single bar set up with its high ceiling and limited pub memorabilia doesn’t have the character of the Head of Steam, but with the open fires roaring away and all 10 hand pumps in operation it was a very pleasant place to be.
As well as the regular beers of Bradfield Farmers Blonde, Magic Rock Ringmaster and Timothy Taylor Landlord and Golden Best, Pictish Opal, Saltaire Elderflower Blonde, Naylors NYB and Velvet, Empire Forbidden and Vocation Divide and Conquer were being dispensed on the other six.
It would have been rude to not try the North Yorkshire Bitter, but the Naylors Velvet Mild was on great form as well. For us also it would have been very tempting to just stay here and go through the pumps, if we hadn’t had another nine venues on the list to visit whilst in town.

On 24th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Kings Head (Station Tavern)

Previous visits to Huddersfield had left me with the impression that of the two pubs in the station buildings this was the one with the slightly rough feel but good beer, while the Head of Steam was more comfortable and well presented, while being a little less adventurous as regards the beer choice. A refurbishment, including a different bar layout, has now made this my firm favourite. With ten beers, laid out in groups of two threes and a four (see my photos), there's no need to explore the rest of Huddersfield - just do the pub crawl right here! (My Timothy Taylor Dark Mild was only £1.35 for half, almost the cheapest beer of my visit to Huddersfield.)

Date of visit: 23rd September 2016

On 14th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Kings Head (Station Tavern)

I have to agree, the high ceiling does make this place noisy, but have been coming in here for years and prefer it to the Head of Steam, which always seems full of the younger population. The beer choice is constantly good, so it gets an 8.

On 15th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Kings Head (Station Tavern)

I only had time for a flying visit here but managed to note that it's a large single room with a tiled floor. It does have rather poor acoustics with the voices reverberating around the room.
I didn't have time to note the beers but had a pint of Magic Rock Dark Arts (£3.40) which was first class.
There seems to be a discussion as to which is the better of the two by the station. To me the point is that there are two great pubs that are not a rip-off like in London either side of the station entrance. This one has the poor acoustics while the other one was rather busy. I would always visit both and hope to do so again!

On 13th June 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Kings Head (Station Tavern)

To the left side as you exit the station and similar in looks, exterior wise, to the Head Of Steam. The interior is a lot more basic than its near neighbour, though there was work being done to the place on this visit. A single square room that due to the high ceiling makes everything seem louder than is. There may well be another room as some doors were locked so I don't know what was beyond. 10 handpumps in 3 banks on the bar. A blackboard tells you what's on. All handpumps were in use with beers from Timothy Taylor, Bradfield, Magic Rock, Empire, Naylor's, Abbeydale, Pictish and Small World. I liked it but like Mr Winfield below I preferred the other place.

On 5th May 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3388 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Kings Head (Station Tavern)

The Kings Head is to the right side of Huddersfields train station.
Once inside there is a large single oblong shaped room which has a wood floor and a very high ceiling,the seating is bench type and small stools.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Boggart Dark Mild which was a very nice drink,the other beers noted were Bradfield farmers Blonde,Magic Rock Ringmaster,Taylor Landlord,there were a few more beers i failed to note.
The pub was very busy on my late Saturday afternoon visit.
I did'nt really take to this place,probably due to the very high ceiling,i prefer a more cosy and comfortable pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 27/2/2016

On 9th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Kings Head (Station Tavern)

the pub refurb is nearly finished looking very good high ceilings ornate and best of all the beer is spot on cheers

On 1st March 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Kings Head (Station Tavern)

Called in on a Tuesday lunchtime and the pub is still in exactly the same state as the previous reviewers state,including the supports with the yellow and black tape,and basically was in a bit of a mess.There was a few local characters spread around the pub and found the cask beer spot on.

On 30th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2106 recommendations about 2070 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3