User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Old & New with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Hollins Mill, Sowerby Bridge

Pub added by BEN UNSWORTH
Hollins Mill Lane
Sowerby Bridge
HX6 2QG

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Works

Unexpectedly closed 24th October 2016, this was pasted on their Facebook page,
"Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances we will be closing for the foreseeable future. Any queries or question, please contact 01274 800 380. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and hopefully see you all soon!!"

On 30th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Works

A large one room pub with a rear snug and a function room upstairs. This space was formerly a joiners workshop producing tables and chairs. There was a large chandelier in the main room, made from empty beer bottles and appropriately named the chandebeer. Their beer line up was three regulars from Timothy Taylor and six changing guests. We went for the Slaters Top Totty and their Works Bitter, which was brewed by Phoenix.

On 8th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Works

The Works looks like it has been converted from an old factory building.
Once inside there is a decent sized irregular shaped room with the bar facing,the room is bare boarded,the seating normal tables and chairs and wood bench seats.
There was a good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Taylor Golden Best,which went down very well,the other beers i noted were Taylor Landlord,Taylor Boltmaker,Salamander Crouch Lizard and one more i cannot read the notes of.
The pub was very busy on my late Saturday afternoon visit with a good mixed bunch in.
I quite liked this pub.

Pub visited 29/8/2015

On 29th August 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Works

I wasn't as impressed with this place as others have been. The open plan design of the pub makes it rather noisy. On the bar were several Timothy Taylor beers, Greenfield Bag O' Jack (according to the Perfect Pint site Greenfield brewery is in Oldham Yorkshire!), Rooster's Wild Mule, Brewster's Decadence, A beer from Salamander brewery, Durham Brewery White Crystal and a house beer called Works Wonders. I'm not sure if they are being ironic with the house beer name or if they are completely unaware that there was once a rubbish keg beer called Double Diamond that utilised the advertising jingle "A Double Diamond Works Wonders". I went for the Bag O' Jack (£3.30) which it transpired had reached the end and what I tasted had gone sour, so I changed it for the Brewster's Decadence (£3.10) which was in decent nick. This place is more expensive than nearby opposition and quite honestly I see no justification for it.

On 18th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Works

A little further down Hollins Mill Lane,the building is well described by other reviewers.The interior is large and airy,with the very high ceiling and wooden floor causing noise to reverberate around leading to less atmosphere than at the other two excellent real ale venues nearby.However no complaints about the ale choice from 10 handpumps with four TT beers,namely Landlord,Boltmaker,Golden Best and Dark Mild,together with Acorn Sur Votre Velo,Saltaire Elderflower Blonde,Goose Eye Chinook,Oldershaws Heavenly Blonde and a house The Works Wonder brewed by Phoenix.
The crew sampled widely from this list and found all pints in top condition.There is a lot going on here,comedy,acoustic nights,a quiz and food until 8pm,so this inclusive pub is used by a wide cross section of the community,everyone and anyone is welcome.The rear library room may be the best place if you want a quiet existence but otherwise join in.
I will be back,and this is another real ale venue well worth a visit.

On 18th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Works

We've called in several times since my last review, the last time being Thusday last week. Top notch beer and a friendly atmosphere means that we always call in here when in Sowerby Bridge.

29/07/2010
Converted old workshop with some nice touches in the decoration including a large mural on one wall. There's one large room and a much smaller room at the back of the pub. 12 handpumps serving Timothy Taylors on three alongside five changing guests yesterday. I had a pint of Kelham Island Captain which wasn't really to my taste but it was well kept. It can get very full in here at weekends but it's a great place to go for a decent pint.

On 28th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2847 recommendations about 2768 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Works

A large ex-industrial building, a joinery I believe, with a long L shaped counter holding 12 pulls, six of which were doubled up and one with a draught cider. The beers were mainly from micros and there were also a couple of keg taps. There's a function room at the back with leather walls and a second one upstairs on the mezzanine floor. The decor is modern light wood and stripped back brickwork, not bad but a little of the canteen atmosphere about the place.

On 1st April 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The Works

The Works is a large open plan pub with a marked industrial feel, which is hardly surprising as it was converted, in 2005, from a joiner’s workshop. Exposed beams, bare floorboards and brick walls dominate the space and all add to its slightly quirky, but enjoyable, atmosphere. Seating is pleasingly based on solid ‘old school’ tables and chairs, plus a scattering of leather sofas, without which no modern drinking space seems to be complete. There is a stove opposite the bar, various bits of breweriana dotted about and a sizeable balcony area which is used for various music and comedy nights.

The large L-shaped bar houses twelve pulls, of which two sets of three are given over to Timothy Taylor’s Landlord, Golden Best and Best Bitter, leaving room for six guest ales. The two I tried – Blue Monkey ‘Marmoset’ and Captain Cook ‘Black Porter’ were both in excellent nick. Service from the staff was pleasant enough, if slightly on the cool side. Food features highly, is of a good standard and represents excellent value for money. I ordered a ‘doorstep’ roast chicken sandwich, which was delicious and although I consider myself a bit of a trencherman, it nearly defeated me. The accompanying side-salad would have passed for a main in some places. Our visit was on a Saturday afternoon and the atmosphere was very relaxed, undoubtedly helped by the airy, spacious feel of the place

Overall, I really liked it here and would definitely call again when next in the town.

On 25th April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 358 recommendations about 343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Keith Taggart left this review about The Works

I think the previous reviewer must have been in the wrong pub! The works is an excellent pub and has won commendations for the quality of the conversion from workshop to pub. There are approx 12 hand pumps always serving at least 3 Taylor's beers and rotating guests which are carefully chosen based on quality rather than what the big Nationals are dumping cheap to get rid of. The food is perhaps limited in range but of excellent quality and value. Well worth a visit. Open all trading hours and I believe early for breakfast on Sundays.

On 15th August 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 22 recommendations about 22 pubs]