User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Dog & Duck, Beverley

Pub added by James Joines
33 Ladygate
Beverley
HU17 8BH
Phone: 01482862419

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about Dog & Duck

This was my first time here in over a decade. I know some people decry the beer policy (the late lamented Aqualung, for one: "a very dull choice of beers") but I got chatting to the licensee and he clearly knows his stuff. I had Black Sheep Bitter to start with, meaning to move on elsewhere, but when he asked me what my plans were in Beverley I told him I was using it as a base to go to see a Leeds Rhinos game in Hull, and would be going to the Empress there for the best-kept John Smiths Cask you can get. He said he thought he kept a pretty good John Smiths himself, so I had a pint of that too. (The others were Landlord and a Great Newsome beer, plus two ciders on the six hand pumps. The Smiths was good, but coming after the Black Sheep it really would have had a job to seem outstanding.)

He said he liked John Smiths himself, and he had only recently started stocking Landlord because he's been told good things about it - I said, yes, if you don't mind paying extra and having to keep it longer before putting it on the bar, which some people don't get. I said Landlord (and probably Tetleys) were the best beers (I'm talking traditional English bitters, obviously) in the 1990s, but that Black Sheep was better than most now, while the other two were shadows of their former selves. Partly because of changes to the beer, partly because publicans weren't looking after it properly. He said he knew about how expensive it was, about 20p or more per pint above his other beers, but the bonus was that he'd acquired a new crowd of Landlord fans who'd heard that he's got it on and didn't like to drink anything else. (I'll bet they've drifted up from the Tiger Inn - see my review there.)

I had a really good time here - great beer, friendly licensee, pleasant surroundings - ok, the juke box got on my nerves playing a stream of Electric Light Orchestra hits, but that's a once in a decade chance. I'll be back.

On 31st July 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2739 recommendations about 2579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Dog & Duck

Opened out but still very pubby with red everywhere, carpet, benches etc. Ok

On 7th June 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Dog & Duck

Obviously once a multi-room Victorian pub now opened out with a sort of dining area to the right and a drinking area to the left. Traditionally furnished and decorated in a reassuring way so basically a classic market town centre pub. It's got the mix of clientele you'd expect and a big screen with racing from York on this occasion. A fairly standard range of UK casks and kegs although the Yakima Chief from Bob's brewing was rather nice .

On 24th June 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2441 recommendations about 2242 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Dog & Duck

This is an old school pub that has been knocked into one and carpeted throughout. It's been more than well described below.
There are six hand pumps but on my visit there was a very dull choice of beers these being Moorhouse White Witch, Copper Dragon Golden Pippin, Black Sheep Bitter, John Smith's Cask, Well's Directors and Taylor's Golden Best. I went for the Golden Pippin (£3.40) which I don't recall trying before and was not surprised to find it a dull bland beer that was admittedly in good condition. If this is a typical beer selection then I wouldn't return here.

On 2nd August 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Dog & Duck

A typical 70's style pub interior with red and silver patterned wallpaper, red velvet curtains, brass wall lamps and maroon coloured velour buttoned banquette seating in the lounge area and carpeted throughout. We went for the Copper Dragon Golden Pippin, which was in good shape. Staff friendly and welcoming and the pub has a laidback relaxed atmosphere.

On 5th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Dog & Duck

Traditional cosy pub, plenty of red in the interior from the carpet via the curtains, seat coverings, and the top and bottom thirds of the walls. Has been knocked through a bit but retains two distinct drinking areas and fairly traditional feel. Most action in the left bar, with TVs switched to the football. Noted the unusual seats wooden seats here, seem to be a Northern thing (see the Grove in Leeds for similar). The right hand room was more loungey and quiet. Very friendly licensee, when it transpired that advertised pies were not available he rustled up something for us and chucked in a pork pie too, and it cost buttons. Six ales; John Smiths, Copper Dragon Golden Pippin (flat), Exmoor Antler (good), Tim Taylor Golden Best (good nick), Black Sheep and Directors. We enjoyed our half hour here.

On 2nd April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Dog and Duck

Neat little pub facing Saturday Market. It's mainly one room with a couple of distinct areas along with a rear snug. Very food led on our Monday lunchtime visit with lots of pensioner offers attracting the older shoppers. Five ales on the bar, none of them very interesting, so I had a pint of Black Sheep for a change, which was in good nick. They do a (very) small CAMRA discount of 10p per pint, which was just as well as the Black Sheep was a rip off £3.40. The service was very haphazard with the bar often unattended. I wasn't very impressed with this place.

On 10th March 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2929 recommendations about 2847 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Dog and Duck

3 real ales on during my visit and food served. Accommodation available.

On 14th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2803 recommendations about 2745 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Dog and Duck

A nice back street pub just off the market square. This pub has been opened out but parts of the original walls separating the rooms still exist to give the feel of separate drinking areas. The Copper Dragon Best was in good condition. Four other ales were available including two from Ringwood brewery.

On 30th August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Dog and Duck

I went in here about 4 months ago and the pub is still the same as it was in 2008,there are 5 handpumps on the bar with some of the beers from micro brewerys i tried Black Sheep and this was a well kept beer.
The pub seems to cater mainly for older people and quite a few of the tables are laid out for diners but drinkers are still made welcome.
The pub is on a narrow side street just off the market place.

On 24th July 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]

Page: 1 2