User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

J.J. Moon's (JD Wetherspoon), Ruislip

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
12 Victoria Road
Ruislip
HA4 0AA

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about J.J. Moon's (JD Wetherspoon)

This Spoons is right opposite the Metropolitan line station which was very handy. The pub was very busy on our Saturday afternoon visit, with all the adults supping in the main front room and a noisy, raised back section section for families with children. I found the pub to be knocked about and is in desperate need of a refurb, even the front entrance looks really tatty with broken tiles on the step in. Two banks of six handpumps, I decided on the Daleside Yorkshire Rascal, which was too lively for the handpump, so the nice young barmaid took the trouble to fill it up for us in the cellar, which was well worth the effort and was only £2.25 a pint.

On 25th June 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Delboy 20 left this review about J.J. Moon's (JD Wetherspoon)

Decent sized Spoons with at least a dozen ales on. I couldn't see them all as it was packed with football fans heading to Wembley on the tube. I went for Vale brewery Gravitas and a beer from Cotleigh brewery. Both were fine. Very handy for the tube right opposite.

On 2nd June 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about J. J. Moons (JD Wetherspoon)

A very busy 'Spoons in a former Woolworths shop, quite noisy and noisome, well described below. Two mute gaming machines and a very loud TV showing football. Twelve ales on draft from Rooster, Blindman, Jaipur, Acorn, Oakham, Fullers, Doombar, GK and Ruddles, plus 4 boxed ciders behind the bar. I had a pint of Icarus which didn't go down well – it had a hint of vinegar about it – maybe it had overheated like its eponymous aviator. I'm not sure the GBG entry is deserved, and I don't see my rushing back.

On 18th August 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about J. J. Moons (JD Wetherspoon)

Right opposite Ruislip Manor Underground station this is a medium sized and fairly comfortable Wetherspoon's. At the time the London Real Ale festival was on and there was a good selection of real ales on and all that I tried were in good form. Friendly staff.

On 2nd March 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about J. J. Moons (JD Wetherspoon)

This one is handy as it is right in front of you as you leave Ruislip Manor tube.

It is GBG (2013) listed and has twelve handpumps. However, given the number of them the ale selection was not that brilliant with some allocated to two ciders, Well's Special, Well's Directors and Old Speckled Hen. There was nothing from local brewers.

I went for the Woodforde Nelson's (or was it Admiral's?) Revenge at £2.45. It was OK but to me wasn't GBG quality.

Maybe I came here on an off day.

On 10th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about J. J. Moons (JD Wetherspoon)

Standard-issue 'spoons, comprising a split-level layout separated by what looks like a former pulpit. Typical furniture and decor with some a number of side booths. Some patio seating out front. 12 handpumps, all on, with adecent choice of uusual suspects, 'guests' (e.g. Roosters Yankee at £2.15, and in good form) and draught ciders. Handy for Ruislip Manor tube.

On 1st October 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about J. J. Moons (JD Wetherspoon)

This quite formulaic Wetherspoons was converted from an old Woolworths store in 1990. Some would argue that Woolworths probably had more character but few would suggest that there are many better places in the immediate area to go.

The interior is pretty much ‘Spoons by numbers with the bar down the left hand side, a few booths opposite and the usual décor. There was a decent selection of guests among the 10 hand pumps alongside all the usual features. The pub was quite busy for a Tuesday night albeit nearby Wealdstone FC were playing one of their biggest games for years so that may have accounted for much of it. There is some seating in a roped off section of pavement out the front which is undoubtedly mainly the haunt of the smokers.

All in all, a does what it says on the tin place, perhaps slightly better than normal but with a greatly enhanced reputation courtesy of the lack of competition.

On 23rd February 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about J. J. Moons (JD Wetherspoon)

This is an above average Wetherspoons with around ten or so hand pumps serving up staple Spoons ale alongside various guest beers. I was served by a friendly member of staff who pulled a decent pint of Guinness at a very pleasing price.

It was busy in here on Saturday night and although the crowd was younger than you would find at lunchtime I didn’t spot any trouble and in fact there was quite a good atmosphere. I would pop back in if passing.

On 17th April 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]