User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Kings Head, Llandudno

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Old Road
Llandudno
LL30 2NB

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about The Kings Head

Handy for the Great Orme tramway but a bit of an uphill hike from the town, this is billed as "Llandudno's oldest" but is nonetheless quite a nice pub with lots of nooks and crannies. The beer range is still not wonderful, with IPA, Abbot and a brew from Old Mill, but otherwise worth a visit.

On 17th March 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Delboy 20 left this review about The Kings Head

Attractive pub right by the Great Orme tram station. Hobgoblin, IPA and Abbots available when I called. The Hobgoblin was fine. I like the pub but I would have preferred a better choice of beers.

On 1st January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1086 recommendations about 1043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Kings Head

Cask Marque.

Llandudno's Oldest Pub.

At the tram terminus - so catering for thirsty Great Orme goers. Packed then empty in the space of 30 mins. Sign on the Gents loos, stating strictly no women.

Beer was mainly from Greene King - with a Sharps Sea Fury in good condition.

On 30th July 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Kings Head

Up the hill from the town, bit of a quirky strange place, needs a little bit of though and this could be a great pub

On 27th January 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Kings Head

This former Ind Coope house is set on the hill right next to the Great Orme tramway as it starts the ascent to the summit.
Inside it's a single split level area due to the steep ground it was built on. The front area has a stone floor and the back area is carpeted. It claims to be the oldest Inn in Llandudno pre-dating its emergence as a popular seaside resort in Victorian times.
The bar has five hand pumps which on my vist had GK IPA & Abbot, St Austell Spring Fever and Titanic Plum Porter. The Abbot was doubled up. With only two options worth trying the Plum Porter (£3.65) saved the day here. Being next door to the Tramway makes this a rather touristy venue so I wasn't overly impressed.

On 21st April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Kings Head

This is a proper traditional pub situated on the lower slopes of The Great Orme just outside Llandudno centre. The bottom terminus of the tramway is just beneath the large outdoor seating area to the front. Naturally the interior has a lot of tramway related photographs and anecdotes including a newspaper article of a serious accident in the 1930's. Claiming to be the oldest pub in Llandudno dating from the late 1700s and obviously once a maze of small rooms, nowadays the pub has a central bar with the room winding around stepping up and down as the local terrain dictates, dark wood panelling, predominantly red decor and low ceilings which together make for a cosy welcoming feel. There is a real fire too but not lit and certainly not needed on a welcome warm and sunny mid October day. As well as the tram related decor there are pictures and photographs of the Llandudno area and bottles and jugs on shelves. The pub has a more formal restaurant area up some steps to the rear, but meals can also be taken in the bar. The food is typical pub fare, not unreasonably priced, and comes in good sized portions. Daily specials are on a board in the lower area.
The beers were GK IPA and Abbot, regulars I understand although the pub isn't Greene King branded, Black Sheep Bitter and Wychwood Hobgoblin. Full measures served even with sparklered pumps without prompting, but I did feel a little unlucky on the guest beer front as I understand they do have less mainstream beers on as a rule, including local stuff. Still, it is a GBG 2012 entry, and the beer was well served and kept. Probably the best pub visited on our recent weekend trip.

On 16th October 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Kings Head

Still a good pub but we did not enjoy it as much this year seemed a bit clicky with the regulars not just the welsh there seems to be a bit of an in crowd this year would not move an inch at the bar when you went to get served that sort of thing

On 2nd August 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Kings Head

Visited September 2009

Traditionally furnished, comfortable wood-panelled split level pub located close to the lower terminus of the Great Orme Tramway, which is visible from the outside seats at the front of the pub.

Although it's a single bar, there are distinct areas. Low ceilings, subdued lighting and burgundy wallpaper help create a warm cosy atmosphere. It retains etched windows and has a mixture of carpeting and flagstoned flooring. It's supposed to be the oldest pub in Llandudno - 300 years plus.

In the raised part of the pub was a flat screen TV but, pleasingly, despite it being Champions League fixtures night, it remained switched off.

There's a separate restaurant at the back and food may also be ordered at the bar. As well as attracting holidaymakers, it seems, based on my visit, to have a regular crowd of locals, which is always a good sign.

"Llandudno Enthusiasts" ( whoever they are ) have voted this pub as The Best Pub in Town 2007, as evidenced bythe framed certificate at the bar. I was tempted, as I often am in this type of situation, to ask to be directed towards the pub with the current award, but decided against it.

Beers on during my visit were Greene King IPA, Abbott ( which appeared to be regular ) , plus 2 guests, Triple FFF Alton Pride - a rare sighting this - and Skinners Heligan Honey. The Triple FFF Alton Pride - served in a Courage Directors branded glass - was in good nick. A friendly local told me that they had had Mordue IPA on several days earlier. Despite the regular Greene King beers, I didn't see anything to indicate it was a GK pub.

The pub is a GBG regular.

I quite liked this pub. If I have one complaint, it is that they were desperately slow in clearing away the dirty plates and glasses on my visit.

If you're in Llandudno, I recommend you try and make time to call in.

On 14th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Kings Head

Going back to Llandudno this JULY and will call in to the Kings head had some good times there last year but we had the wheather that week they call summer.

Sat out side for a few meals the food is good as well as the beer most people were friendly and easy to get talking to what more do you want on holiday

On 23rd June 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Kings Head

Handily placed at the bottom of the Great Orme tramway right by the station. Trams pass the pub on the way down so it no doubts get some trade this way, it did mine. It has a bright modern exterior but the interior is very olde worlde with lots of dark wood panelling, decorative glass, an inglenook style fireplace and low lighting. The effect is completed by a number of old photos, adverts and knick-knacks. The pub is split into a number of separate areas on different levels and it's good to go exploring. Smoking area at the back and there are also some tables out the front where you can watch the trams arriving and departing. Greene King beers but there were two guest pumps, albeit at the lower end strength wise, FFF Altons Pride and Hobsons Mild. Well worth a visit, especially if you've just been up the Orme.

On 25th September 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]

Page: 1 2